We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Campground for visiting area attractions” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaibab Camper Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaibab Camper Village
Weimar, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Campground for visiting area attractions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September so we could visit the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The Forest Road into the campground is packed gravel, a little rough, but not terrible. Just go slow. The thing that makes this a good campground is, of course, the electric, water, and sewer hookups. There are pay showers, but we did not need them. The surrounding forest is beautiful and the campground was quiet which makes it a winner in my book. I used the laundry and it was very clean and neat. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is about 40 miles away-a scenic drive. The Rim itself is great with fewer people than the South Rim attracts. We were also able to visit Zion Natl. Park for a day for some great hiking. It was only about an hour and a half away. Kaibab is the only full hookup campground in the area, so if that is what is important to you, you won't be disappointed with this campground. Some of the sites were tight and we had to level the trailer. No big deal. Just bring leveling blocks with you. Our trailer is only 22 feet so there wasn't a big issue with maneuverability, and we saw some huge motorhomes also. The site spacing was ok. Some of the sites have no campfire rings so you better ask if yours does when making reservations.
We weren't there that much but when we were the campground was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri_WeimarTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    15
    12
    12
See reviews for
38
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

On camping hiking trip and weather turned cold fast. On short notice called around Jacob lake for a cabin. Best price at $85 and available. Basic cabin with 2queens and shower and bath. Not located in nicest area of camp but did have horse paddock in back. Really happy to have some heat not prepared for 19 degrees in a tent. Nice people. Stayed a second night instead of staying in long reserved north rim national park campsite. Not sure many people know of this one lone cabin at camper village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend in a 28 foot Airstream. Site was tight getting into. Full hook-ups were nice.
Shower facilities were $2.25 a shower and not worth it.
Overall the campground is dated with few renovations. No pavement - packed gravel. Sites weren't level requiring leveling pads. I felt pretty packed in at our site with little room for the trailer, truck and small picnic table. The National Forest campground across the street looked much nicer. But...no hook-ups. I'll probably give that one a try next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanAndBenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a 31 foot travel trailer. The pull-through spots are a little tight, not level, and I stuck out over the park road while hooked up. Now the good--the staff is very nice and helpful. Ed showed us to our spot and helped us get in place. The forest is absolutely beautiful, and the park is nice and quiet and clean. We may try to come back here for a longer stay next year.

Room Tip: The back-in spaces on top of the hill look a little more level and wider.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jnlswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited here with our group of 19 and had a ball. Yes, the toilets are like port-a-pottys but that is because water is scarce at the site. The toilets are cleaned meticulously and emptied every day. They have showers ($2.25 for 5 min) there is no indicator or timer that lets you know when it will stop so you have to be fast! Additional minutes are available for purchase. Although we didn't use them, a laundry facility is also available. In addition, a gift shop on-site has almost everything from fire wood and propane to RV supplies and a book-lending library! We brought tents and had a roaring campfire every night. The group tent site has plenty of room for us all. The only drawback was some logging that was going on near us that began around 6am every morning. What is usually such a quiet serene place was a jarring wake-up for us Tuesday through Friday. Saturday was quiet again and was a slice if paradise! Definitely worth your money if you don't mind a little rustic living.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayceesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Got out of the car to the rustling of the huge Ponderosa pines, the lovely scent of the pines, plus cool weather. All were so welcome after travelling from Tombstone AZ (100 degrees). This campground is just lovely and the mgt is kind,cheerful, & helpful. Ice is only $2.30/bag when they could easily charge 5, cause you just gotta have it when your icemaker quits. Laundry facilities are very clean & both of our big loads got dry in one dryer cycle. Horsback trail rides are very close, too. We can't wiat to return. The north rim of the Grand Canyon is certainly worth the trouble to get to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GENNY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We only stayed one night at Kaibab Camper Village, but my sweet memories of waking up with the pines out my window will remain forever. Admittedly, it was a challenge to back the rig up between the towering pines, but what a view. There's nothing like being so close to the National Forest. The staff was friendly. They took reservations ahead. The site was reasonable compared to the other prices during our two week grand tour. We used the bathroom and shower in our rig so we formed no opinions on the pay showers, chemical toilets and laundry. Cool shade on a grand tour are hard to come by. I wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaibab Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaibab Camper Village

Property: Kaibab Camper Village
Address: 1 mile SW of Jacob Lake Inn off Hwy 67, on Forest Road 461, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaibab Camper Village is the only campground (private or public) near the North Rim of Grand Canyon that has RV hookups. A quiet, family owned campground with many tall, beautiful Ponderosa pine trees, it is a pleasant mixture of shade and Arizona sunshine at an elevation of about 7,900 feet. The North Rim is about 42 miles south, via State Route 64. Kanab, Utah is 37 miles to the northwest. Kaibab National Forest land surrounds the campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaibab Camper Village Hotel Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing