We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful drives”

Kaibab National Forest
Book In Advance
More Info
$243.99*
and up
25-minute Grand Canyon Dancer Helicopter Tour from Tusayan, Arizona
More Info
$276.99*
and up
45-minute Helicopter Flight Over the Grand Canyon from Tusayan, Arizona
More Info
$258.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Helicopter Flights with Optional Jeep Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Parkland consisting of more than 1.5 million acres that border the north and south rims of Grand Canyon National Park.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful drives”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Ponderosa pines, meadows and Blue Spruce are beautiful. Along the road to Cape Royal there are areas of wild flower meadows. Enchanting! The drive to the North Rim has forest area and large open meadows sometimes with deer visible near the forest line. The Arizona Trail is a short walk thru the forest to an overview (and longer hike) of the Saddle Back Mountain area. Just amazing. Peaceful, quiet places to be. Not alot of people unless you want to be with more of them. I heatily recommend this beautiful portion of Az for the cliffs, trees, flowers, and dignified beauty ( cliffs, flowers, animals, coolness).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    22
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“switzerland like meadows”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

saw wildlife , scenic vistas makes for an excellent drive, if you aint seen the north rim you aint seen grand canyon peirod! the kaibab froest makes the approach seem more dramatic

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Northieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kaibab Kool”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great hiking around and down into the North Rim of the Grand Canyon in Arizona. Views are incredible, smell of pine wonderful and friendly people eager to smile and share experiences.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jstking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rustic Camping Experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We camped for three days on Fire Point on the North Rim...you need 4wd and lots of clearance to reach this spot, so I wouldn't bring an rv. Tent camping was great, but unfortunately because of the dry conditions we couldn't have a campfire (sigh). We could see the canyon from our tent, and only saw 2 other families the whole time we were there. No trash service (and needless to say, no bathroom), so everything has to be packed back out. Be sure to get a trails map, as it's easy to get lost (and you won't see many other people on these remote trails). There's a convenience store on Hwy 67, and from there it's almost an hour on road 22 (then other offshooting trails) to the points on the rim of the Grand Canyon. If you want to get away from it all...this is your spot!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stingerjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kaibab Camper Village”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed one night in late June and we were squished between two inconsiderate campers...one sprawled his vehicles out over the small area we are all suppose to share, the other plugged into power and then fired up his generator...until my hubby asked management to have them shut it down...which they did promptly.
The sad thing is the campground is set in a beautiful area and this could be a wonderful summer destination. Great wildlife everywhere, just outside the park.

Helpful?
Thank mrsmacd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaibab National Forest also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Kaibab National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing