We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place in town”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only place in town”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room was overpriced and the website does not fairly represent the level of the facilities. We stayed in the "motel" category rooms. The carpet was stained; you couldn't sit facing forward on the toilet because the shower wall was in the way; the shower ceiling was "stained". The "home style" meals in the restaurant were very good.

Room Tip: The hotel section looks very nice but the website does not do a very good job in representing this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPSTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    761
    357
    183
    102
See reviews for
512
904
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I really loved staying here. The cabin itself was cute and cosy. I would not stay here because of the room itself because it did have a slight damp feeling to the carpet, the bed was not super comfy and the toilet seemed to rock on it's base but that said, I cannot wait until I can return to this area and stay again because it is a beautiful area and the food was fantastic.
The restaurant and counter staff were brilliant. The meals were plentiful and had a nice home-cooked feel. Loved the Breakfast Burrito especially.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kaibab Forest and North Rim and the surrounding red rock desert are spectacular. We are glad you liked our food and especially the outstanding young people who served you. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fortunate to find accommodation here without a reservation after a day at Bryce Canyon. Stayed in a tiny old cabin with rustic furniture... no television, no phone, no internet at a price of more than $100. There is a newer hotel available on the property but I'm sure you need to book ahead. Highlight was an informative presentation on Navajo history and weaving. Don't miss this!
Restaurant food was good and the cookies from the bakery were the best I've ever tasted! There is a large gift shop and gas station on the premises but no amenities like swimming pool or fitness centre. I think most people are so exhausted from their visits to Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, or the Grand Canyon that they are content with a hearty meal and a comfortable bed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book ahead for a room in the new hotel unless you really want the rustic old cabin experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We appreciate your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and cookies. and hope you will come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in cabin no. 30. We were very pleased with accomodations, very decent for the price. Lovely view and able to enjoy the fresh air out of our patio. Restaurant and store employees were very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and would recomend this place to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Pick the stand alone cabins, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your cabin. They really give a true outdoor experience and a chance to see the forest and wildlife. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

No way to sugar coat a bed bug experience. Great location, nice surroundings, helpful front desk, full refund, these are not adequate compensation for a traumatic parasite infestation. Our advice is to steer clear.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardinalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
This response is not meant to dispute the review. But one of the things that is hard for me about Trip Advisor is that someone can get mad because, even though you clearly stated your refund policy, they want an exception, and if they don't get it, they write a bad review and you have no way of disputing it. Bed bugs are an epidemic right now. There have been many stories about them on the national news and in national magazines. The Plaza Hotel had bed bugs. They are not the result of poor housekeeping, they are usually brought into a hotel by guests in their luggage or on their clothing. When we discovered the problem we immediately refunded this guests money, completely fumigated theirs and the adjoining rooms, discarded and replaced the mattresses and headboards, and treated the furnishings, carpet and drapery with heat and steam. We did not rent the room for a week and treated it several times. Jacob Lake Inn is situated at 7,925 feet in elevation and bedbugs are not native to this place. They were brought here by a guest. There have been no further problems and we are watching the situation carefully. If you are concerned about these pests, do not stay in any hotels because chances are that, at this point in time, the property has had problems with bedbugs. We take our responsibility to our guests seriously and it is disturbing to me that one person can post a review that is supposed to completely condemn a property. We often have guests who try to get discounts dishonestly, but we certainly don't assume that every guest is trying to get away with something. We have taken every possible measure to contain and solve the problem, and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

Clinton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I, and my brother were highly anticipating this 2 day stop on our trip and we were not disappointed. We had a room in the new hotel, in the back, and it's just like all the other places we had for 8 days, but being here was more enjoyable. Eating at the counter was so nice that we never tried the "Dining Room" and the food is the same anyway. The store has many nice things and I chose to buy what I wanted there, rather then at the N. Rim. The cookies are not to be missed. If I had a do over, I'd pick a cabin for a real experience. We totally enjoyed our stay and the drive to the North Rim was a beautiful 47 miles.
"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrown931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Please come and stay with us again! Staying in a cabin is a trip back in time- very quiet and isolated. The cabins are much more rustic than the newer hotel rooms, but you are right, they have more, well, the word character comes to mind. We are glad you enjoyed the food and we try to have outstanding young people on staff. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tn.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

no room phone, no TV in room, very good restaurant in building, Wi-Fi only worked for me in 2 story white lodge building, good staff and friendly waiters, stayed there during government shutdown but still enjoyed north rim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volsfanFranklin_Tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We so appreciate your review. The Kaibab Forest is a glorious place, especially in the Fall, and we are always glad to hear that people love it as much as we do. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
239 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
111.7 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing