We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacob Lake Cafe”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jacob Lake Cafe”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What might just as easily been an unforgettable stop along the road, turned out to be a great surprise. Don't know anything about the Inn, but the Café was great. Friendly, helpful efficient service, healthy food options, reasonable prices. Little food/sundry shop (attached) carried basic essentials. Perfect pit-stop location between Grand Canyon North Rim and the Zion/Bryce area of Utah. Would definitely stop by there again if in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FloridaAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    761
    357
    183
    102
See reviews for
512
904
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just the worst ever stay and meal ever in the USA. Room tiny, awful bathroom, everything tatty and cheap, noisy heater you could not turn off. Meal was terrible, steak ordered medium rare was well done and arrived before our stater was finished. No apology. We sensibly decided to get breakfast elsewhere. How this get excellent reviews I do not know. Someone heeds to get a grip on staff and the kitchen and reduce the price of the cabins by half.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tupu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry that you had a bad experience here at Jacob Lake Inn. While we try to make everyone's stay pleasant, sometimes things go wrong. We try to make the character of the cabins clear on our website. They are rustic. If your steak was not cooked to your satisfaction we would have been glad to replace it. Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

Winter Park, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel (newest building) for two nights. The property is very rustic but clean. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our balcony every evening after a day of hiking. Staff was so friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to the North Rim. We normally rather stay in more updated places but we knew we were going to be in the middle of no where and made our plans at the last minute. The over all experience was wonderful and very very relaxing. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: If your not into rustic I would stay in the hotel. The rooms are also very quiet! Pay extra and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Jacob Lake Inn. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can scarcely believe the whiners who are panning this place! It is advertised as rustic, and really, what would you expect from a kink in the road miles from anywhere. They don't even have water; they have to import it by truck. The "lake" is a pond at best due to the extreme climatic conditions. We had cheerful service in spite of the place being full of very disappointed travelers trying to visit the (closed) Grand Canyon. I'm sure that it was very trying for the staff to deal with people who had planned their trips four or five years in advance and travelled halfway around the globe. The food in the dining room was not haute cuisine, but fresh and well prepared standard fare served with a smile and friendly small talk. Breakfast at the counter was similarly satisfying, and the baked goods that we took on the road with us were world-class. I was thrilled that there was no TV; it forced us to actually read books and converse. I say if you want the comforts of home, just stay home!

Room Tip: If you have expectations of typical motel accomodations, stay in the newer building. We stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 881John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind words. As you say, we make no bones about the cabins being rustic. This is an independently owned business, and when we can, believe me we will start replacing them, In the meanwhile, they are clean and can be a fun way to get away from the world. We are so glad you were able to get into the spirit of things here and have a good time. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were supposed to be staying at the Grand Canyon's North Rim Lodge, but the park was closed by the manufactured "crisis" in the US Congress. We were fortunate to get last minute reservations at Jacob Lake instead. We stayed in the new building which was comfortable, spacious, clean, and warm. We also ate three meals: breakfast and lunch were quite good, dinner was edible. The Kaibab National Forest is beautiful in fall. We drove around on forest roads and even got some canyon views. We made the best of our situation by having this cozy place to stay with a real woodsy feel to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you could salvage something from the catastrophe the shut down has been for all of us. We hope you will come and stay with us again and see all the points of the Grand Canyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Unfortunately we were recommended to this Inn by friends. This was by far the worst place we have EVER stayed in. We were in cabin number 3 on Monday night October 1st, 2013. We arrived around 7:00 p.m. (5 hours before the government shut down the Grand Canyon) and had planned two days there to visit the Grand Canyon.

The cabin was smaller than a cruise ship cabin housing a full bed, a Barbie sink (in the bedroom), a wall heater (space hog), windows that did not open and a bathroom only big enough for a stool and small shower. You could not close the bathroom door to use the facilities without turning sideways and putting your feet in the shower.

The cabin was split in half so of course you could hear EVERY word the people in the other half of the cabin were saying and vice versa. The floor was so slanted that we decided it was so that the shower would drain and not get the stool all wet. We had to sleep down hill and all night keep repositioning ourselves as we kept sliding into the wall. The pillows on the bed were as flat as pancakes with nothing else available. And of course no phone or television. Camping outside would have been a better alternative if we had had some gear.

Breakfast the next morning at the inn was the most tasteless meal ever created. A total waste of good money.

The icing on the cake was the insult of having to pay $97.00 to endure the torture of this inn and that does not count the price of the meal. We would have gladly gone somewhere else but there was nothing available in the area.

Room Tip: They may have nicer rooms or cabins but we could not say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We certainly regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Jacob Lake Inn. We are very up front about the fact that the cabins are rustic and we know that some of them are quite small. We try to be clear about the nature of these rooms on our website and when you check in. Still, we do not want anyone to have a bad experience and apologize for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This one is a hard one to rate. First of all, the service area was very good. The staff are mainly college students who are friendly and helpful. Check in was excellent. We weren't happy with our little cabin room, and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a motel room ($120 room for $97). The 4-unit cabins are tiny, couldn't even close the bathroom door without knocking into the handle for the closet. The motel was larger, but needs a serious upgrade! There was a table and 2 chairs, but the table was so wobbly we couldn't use it without expecting a disaster. There's nothing in the shower to put your soap and shampoo on, had to use the toilet seat. The beds were comfortable. For the business this place gets because it's the only game in town (location location location), they should spend money on their accommodations. They could get higher ratings if they did that, since we enjoyed the service area. There's a bakery and kitchen and we found the food excellent. We ate at the counter, since the main dining room did not offer vegetarian food except for one cheese dish, but the counter did (great vegetable soup, portabello burger) and they honored my request for baked potato instead of fries. We bought food for our day trip, and the sandwiches were good. They don't provide even coffee for breakfast, it costs over $2. Gas was $4.10/gal, much more than what we paid elsewhere. Again, we loved the friendly staff (most of them) and you can buy anything you need here, but they need to invest in upgrading their accommodations.

Room Tip: We had room 51 in the motel. Two queens, comfortable, but the table needs to be replaced for safety...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wangsneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and service. We will attend to the table in the room you rented. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
239 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
111.7 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing