We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the place”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
alaska
1 review
“enjoyed the place”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Even though we stayed only 1 night we really enjoyed the location. Front desk staff very friendly. The cabin we stayed in was really nice, rustic but nice and clean.
we skipped the breakfast as it was taking for ever to have a table! But beeing so close from the North Rim Park entrance we wait to be there to have breakfast facing the Grand Canyon.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small breakfast area...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofthetundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    761
    357
    183
    102
See reviews for
512
904
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Great, ponderosa pine forest setting at 8000 feet; cute, cozy, modernized, neat as a pin cabin ....plus, a really good comfort food restaurant staffed by friendy college kids. What's not to like? Oh yeah, very reasonable rates too.

  • Liked — Needed a good overnight stop six hours N of Phoenix on the way to Montana
  • Disliked — It ain't broke; don't fix it.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Jacob Inn is in a great location. Easy access to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and right on the crossroad that leads to St. George Utah. A bit crowded even in early June: can't imagine what it's like in the height of July.

Good restaurant and very friendly staff. Convenience store was a little understocked but the gift shop had an amazing selection of rugs, blankets, piantings, and other Native American crafts as well as other souveniers.

It had a nice playground for the kids and the grounds were easy to walk around. The parking spaces could be better marked. The room had a good sized patio with a table and chairs but there wasn't much of a view other than the parking lot.

For the price and the location, it was an excellent pit stop for a Grand Canyon journey.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Crowded lobby (restaurant, gift shop, store) area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEeducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We had a very nice stay here. we stayed in the new motel, second floor. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Only disadvantage was that we could hear the TV of our neighbours, but that is nearly unavoidable in hotels or motels. The location was very beaituful, in the forest. Breakfast and dinner was good too. Staff was friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location in forest
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2008

My family was looking for a place to stay on our visit to the Grand Canyon North Rim. I found Jacob Lake Inn online and wasn't sure what to expect from the few pictures posted on their website. I wasn't expecting a whole lot, and was therefore very impressed by what we got. Our room was very nice sized with two Queen beds, sitting area, and ample space. On the other hand the bathroom was very cramped, with just a shower stall, toilet and a rather large hot water heater taking up this very small bath. (The vanity was in the main room, outside the bath.) The room was very clean and it was comfortable enough for our 4 adults and child age 5. Oh yeah, that shower stall drain was "slow" and there wasn't a threshhold between the stall and the bath, so by the time you finished your shower, the bathroom flooded. A rolled up towel layed across the opening helped fix that.

The services at the Inn were beyond my expectations as well, but considering you are 50 miles from anywhere, it makes sense they would have a convenience store, gift shop, gas station, and restaurant all in one place. As for value, I guess the rooms and food at the restaurant were a little higher than expected. But then again, it is a tourist area and so I guess the prices are in line with what one may expect to be charged; however, I do wish that breakfast would have been included with the room. We did find that the Gift Shop prices on Handmade Indian Crafts and Jewelry were very reasonable.

Other items to note if you plan to stay here: they stated that a deposit was required to reserve the room and that only the first night would be charged to the credit card. However, I was charged for both nights up front. Not a big deal to us, but you might want to be aware.

Overall the Jacob Lake Inn was a very nice lodge in a very beautiful setting. The food at the restaurant was great, and the staff were very friendly. I would definitely recommend the place to anyone!

  • Liked — The setting in the Kaibab Forest
  • Disliked — The tiny bathroom!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keithcarole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

All the necessary amenities offered in a quality, clean manner and located in a scenic setting. Conveniently situated for a trip to the North Rim. Screaming fast wireless internet if you need to touch base outside the area. And the restaurant and gift shop are great too. We'd definitely recommend the JLI.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AzureFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Quiet place to launch a great trip to the North Rim. It's basic, but quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank d_modern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
239 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
111.7 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing