We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacob Lake Inn - Little Retreat Outside of North Rim Grand Canyon”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
No. California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jacob Lake Inn - Little Retreat Outside of North Rim Grand Canyon”
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Unfortunately, we could only get one night at the North Rim Grand Canyon Lodge, so we stayed at Jacob Lake for the second night. Jacob Lake is about 45 minutes drive from North Rim, but we stayed there on our way to Bryce. Good option.

Stayed in the newer hotel, which was very modern and comfortable. The grounds were pleasant and reminded us of being at camp a bit.

Dining room was a bit slow due to "computer" issues, but the breakfast counter the next morning was great. Very friendly waiter who gave us some good tips for our trip to Zion.

I'd definitely recommend Jacob Inn, esp. the newer hotel accomodations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Slow service at restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    743
    345
    179
    100
See reviews for
493
888
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting the North Rim. We were quite surprised to find this Inn (with restaurant, bakery and gift shop) in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our only complaints were that the walls were thin and service was slow in the restaurant. We would stay at jacob Lake Inn again. The cookies are spectacular!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank barbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2008

we stayed 2 nights at the Jacob Lake Inn while we visited the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The staff was very nice during check-in and also during our stay. The room was fine for our family and we really enjoyed the property and restaurant. We were about 45 minutes from the park, and the drive was beautiful and easy. My family and I would recommend the Inn for anyone traveling to the Grand Canyon.

  • Liked — Location to the Grand Canyon and also the Lodge was great.
  • Disliked — Bathroom was small and smelly
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Considering that this is the Grand Canyon, the place is pretty good for the price. You can expect it to take about an hour to get from the Inn to the North Rim - more if you are going during a busy time and will have to wait in line at the entrance. The room I stayed in (the cheapest one, with one bed) was very very small - to the point that it was a little difficult to maneuver around with two people and two backpacks. My biggest complaint would be the sink, which required you to hold the tap on - which made it very difficult to use for washing your face, filling water bottles, etc. Other than that the room was fine - the heater works wonderfully - which is important at the north rim!
One of the best things about the place is the restaurant, which is reasonably priced and relatively good when compared to other lodge restaurants around major national parks.
Overall - pretty good for the money.

  • Liked — The restaurant and the heater
  • Disliked — The annoying sink
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZZZsababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

After the disappointment of finding we were too late for the Grand Canyon Lodge, Jacob Lake Inn was a really pleasant surprise. The rooms were very simple, but clean and tidy. However what makes Jacob Lake Inn is the main lodge where there is a cute 60's style diner that served a great brekkie to start the day and the small restaurant that served one of the best meals of the whole holiday. The gift shop alse supplied one of my favourite souvenirs of the 3 week trip. Although a fair few miles from the North Rim itself, the drive there is simple and quiet and a good road for driving back in the dark after watching the beautiful sun set over the Grand Canyon only to return to the bar at the diner at Jacob Lake Inn for hot chocolate and homemade pie. What could be better?!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank AmandaA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2008

The food and the service in the restaurant and gift shop was excellent. The motel accomodations were barely adequate. The supply of hot water was limited and the faucets hard to adjust. The toilet had little leg room when seated. The rooms for the price we were paying were very small and there was no air conditioning in our room.

  • Liked — The friendly, neat , helpful, and clean restaurant and gift shop staff.
  • Disliked — The room was small and the bathroom was totally inadequate.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Jacob Lake Inn was a pleasant place to stay. We had a rustic cabin room that met our needs just fine. Even though it was old, it was very clean and neat. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but we've had worse. The staff was friendly and breakfast was great. It was a bit of a drive to the North Rim but doable to catch the setting sun at the canyon. If you intend to eat dinner in the dining room at the Lodge at Grand Canyon, be sure to call waaaaay ahead for reservations or you will have to settle for food from the snack bar which was not all that great. Do try to be back at the Inn before total darkness as the deer were more abundant at dusk and a few ran across the road in front of us. We returned to the North Rim the next day and recommend that you drive to all the vistas and see more than just what's at the Lodge. All in all, for the brief time we spent at Jacob Lake Inn, we were satisfied with the value.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado_Bess_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing