We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After a long day of driving on our way home to Phoenix from Idaho this was a marvelous last night of vacation! The room was clean and comfortable with an amazing view from our small balcony. Spent a considerable amount of time enjoying the fresh mountain air!

We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food - the Dutch Oven Pork was amazing. The chef obviously knows his/her way around preparing a quality meal which pleases the palate and the eye! The staff throughout our stay were exceptionally friendly and competent. Loved the playground and just walking around the Inn....nice touches throughout.

The Spider Woman talk we attended in the evening was very informative and left us with great insight into the Navajo people and their culture....an expected bonus to our stay!

We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Splurge for the balcony...sleeping with the window open and fresh air was amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Jacob Lake. We hope that you will recommend us to your friends and we can't wait for your next visit. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    756
    356
    183
    102
See reviews for
509
901
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

1. The room
Imagine a small hotel room. Now divide that room in half. This was the size of our "cabin". My favourite part was the attached, poorly built, ensuite. The toilet is worse than an airplane toilet. When you sit, your knees hit the door, and the door bangs open. Charming isn't it....The tiles are so filthy you will want to wear flip flops in the shower. Not to mention the distinct smell of urine in there. Mould, water damage, tiles/glue peeling back. Surprisingly, I overheard a young girl in the restaurant say they spend months simply cleaning the place for the busy season commences. Obviously cleaning and maintenance standards are particularly low.

When you wake up in the evening, you disturb the person in the "cabin" next to you. Sound transmits from the squeeky, uneven floors through the questionable partition.

It is the most basic of rooms. Sleeping in a swag out in the bush would have been cleaner and far more enjoyable.

2. The service
Obviously we were greatly unimpressed with our room. We had the first night booked, and on arrival, before seeing our room, we foolishly booked the second night. Upon entering our room, we both simultaneously decided we would not stay the second night. Proceeded to reception, asked to cancel the second night we had "just" booked & paid for. Immaturely told by young reception staff, we could cancel but they won't return us our moneys. After the first night, we decided we couldn't bear another night, and left.

I should also add, before we checked out, we went to visit the Grand Canyon. On our return, our bed had been stripped (but sheets/quilt left lying on the bed) and our cabin door was left wide open, with no staff around. Very poor security, so don't leave things in your room.

3. The restaurant
The restaurant provides simple American fare, overpriced for what it is, but you probably won't find food closer-by, unless you go to the Grand Canyon lodge. Again service was incredibly slow, and despite having three other wait staff around doing menial tasks, neither of those three could cease their tasks, use their initiative, and simply clear our table and provide us with our cheque. Not that hard.

Overall I do not recommend this property. We were highly dissatisfied with our room and the service from the 'young' staff. I would recommend trying to book in advance, a cabin at the Grand Canyon Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TD191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your negative experience at Jacob Lake Inn. I know that some of our rooms are quite old, but I assure you that we do the best we can to keep them clean and functional. We have a 48 hour cancelation policy which is a more relaxed than other hotels in the area which have a 72 our policy. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't like the restaurant. Most of our customers say that the food is excellent. Thank you very much for your comments and I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good spot to stay for canyon North rim. Has a mixture of small cabins and lodge with motel style rooms. Good value, comfortable room, restaurant good value, very friendly staff. No tea making facilities but tea/coffee available from 06.30 in shop. Great breakfast at counter, chef needs to learn that scrambled eggs are different from omelet. Shop has good merchandise but much is not local, - made in China!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Jacob Inn. We hope to see you the net time you come to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Please let your friends know about us and thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is staffed by young students that are housed on the premises. We had a mix up over whether they were going to seat us in the dining room after 8pm, but eventually it all worked out. The Inn is in the woods and is the closest place to stay when visiting the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The room was large and had a nice balcony. However, the air conditioner was not working and we were only staying one night, so I didn't say anything to the staff. It was a cool night, so I opened the window and the room stayed cool. The lodge was very charming and the Inn provides free small ice bags for guests to use in their ice chests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Jacob Lake Inn. We're sorry to hear about the air conditioner, and we wish you would have told us about it so we could have fixed the problem. Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope that you will tell your friends about us and that you will visit us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Inn is staffed mostly by Mormon college students, and it's year after year the same kids or kids that were reccomended for the job. If you are expecting a hotel staff like you would find at a Vegas hotel you are mistaken. However it has a charm that's hard to beat. Due to weather it's only open during summer months, if you remember as a kid going to the mountains with you parents this is like that. It's family run, the college kids are refreshingly wonderful, fun to chat with and really love their summer job. Ya, there can be long waits and a funky charm, but you are on vacation. Give them a break. Like are you there for an important meeting in the morning? No. Relax, enjoy the place, the people, staff, food and throw back to when you were a kid. The best rooms are in the two story motel, but the old cabins have a charm about them.

Room Tip: The two story motel offers the best rooms but at a higher price. The cabins are fun, but your wife w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGenral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Jacob Lake Inn. Thanks for understanding us. We hope that you will visit us in the future. And please tell your friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had to stay in one of the rooms connected to the dining and store area because we had a small dog with us. The room was not clean, the bathroom so old and really not usable except for as needed. We were totally disappointed in this place. We were meeting relatives who stayed in the two story motel and had a room, with TV, a hairdryer, decent bathroom and beds. No one should have to use these substandard rooms and pay at the same rate as the motel/inn. There was a family from Europe in our section and I kept wondering what they thought of their impression of the U S .
The restaurant was fine and we ate there 3 times, so no complaints. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
These rooms need to be remodeled and I am sure that you could find 3 or 4 rooms dedicated for pets that would not be substandard. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at Jacob Lake Inn. We were somewhat surprised at your dissatisfaction with the room. The rooms that your relatives stayed in are newer and have more amenities, but they are not the same price. We reserve these older rooms for people with pets because of potential damage and allergies. We are, however, pleased to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed two night here and enjoyed our room and the staff were great. We stayed in the newest addition on the top floor (room 204). We ate at the on site restaurant and the food was good. Unfortunately on our 2nd night we had a group that arrived around 8:00pm that slammed their doors for 45 min, ran up and down the halls, and spoke as loud as possible. The walls here are thin and the doors do slam shut but most people with manners figure this out quickly and take care to be courteous to others. I did speak with the front desk the following morning and asked them to leave a message with the group to make them aware of their behavior that effects others. Also the bathroom floor is in desperate need of repair. Loose tiles that need to be re- grouted. It is a accident waiting to happen. I guess for the price I expected better than that. But the room was very clean and we felt safe staying here.

Room Tip: If staying in the newest addition ask for a 2nd room that faces the woods and not the parking lot. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinlight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Jacob Lake Inn. We apologize for the behavior of the other guests in your building. Thank you very much for your comments, we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
234 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
0.0 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing