We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, rustic staging post.”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, rustic staging post.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route from Grand Canyon, South Rim, to Zion. North Rim was not yet open, but opens 15th May when I think the Inn will get very busy. For us, it was a comfortable, friendly one night stay. We ate excellent burgers around a high counter surrounded by friendly locals and holiday makers in transit, like us. Very well suited our purpose. Desk and kitchen close about 8pm so don't get there too late.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Jacob Lake Inn. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    761
    357
    183
    102
See reviews for
512
904
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at Jacobs lake for one night. The first room that we were put in(53 I think) was right out of a horror movie. They did move us into the newer building and the room was much better but not great. The main restaurant was closed(still off season but it would have been nice to at least sit in there so I could have a conversation with my family) but the counter was open. The food was horrible. The staff was overall very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMunno970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We understand that some of our rooms are very old, but we do our best to keep them clean and comfortable. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the food. Most of our guests tell us that the food is excellent. We do apologize for that and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

SLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were thrilled on our way to Phoenix to find that Jacob Lake was open in a beautiful spot and would take dogs. Apparently, the place they sent dog people was way out back with a relatively nice room and we loved the beauty of the late afternoon.

Car stuck in the unplowed snow - the next morning walking out the door the ice that had formed in front of the door - still there - both old broads slipped on the ice - one ending with black eye bloodied nose,cheek and wrenched arm - why when we were possibly the only guests more workers than the number of rooms let - and looking at people their grandparents age - didn't someone throw the ice melting (which they did after the entire episode.

Next - not Inn's fault - we were locked out of the room at 6:30 when we were working on the car - we waited until 7:30 in the car after findingand using a shovel on the inn's porch. Then - one elder stayed in the car while the other walked to the restaurant knocked on the door and was ignored by the whole staff - all we wanted was a key and ask someone to help us get out of the 25 degree weather - but NO, the staff absolutely refused entry - again, knowing we were in our 70's. When their policy only opened the Inn at promptly 8 - we meanwhile trying to stay warm in the car - the younger of the two with her cut face and wrenched arm went to the desk and told them about the falls, standing at the Inn seeing people inside who would not open the door even though we were probably one of the few travelers staying the night and OLD....This is the worst part - how could ignore an old woman in her pajamas and coat knocking on the door - We were responsible for the car being stuck and being locked out, but the insensitive reaponse to people their grandparent's age could have actually been deadly for those not made of tough old skin. I loved all of the whole idea of staying at Jacob's in - I'm from SLC - but was horrified by the careless attitude to two old travelers in BIG trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DFK40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We thank you for staying with us at Jacob Lake Inn and we appreciate your comments. We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had. We hope we can make it up to you if you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The best part of our visit was a relaxing massage from a talented masage therapist. The bad of the visit was waking in the morning to find that there was no water (the main broke during the night?). The ugly of the visit was that the road to the North Rim is closed during the winter. In general, this is NOT a fancy resort, but it was comfortable and the people were very friendly. We went for a walk through the forest, and it was beautiful. If you are up for an adventure, this might be a place to consider!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulEugeneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the broken water line and we are sorry that you weren't able to see the North Rim. We are, however, glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in room 202, possible the best room of the resort, with a beautiful view, balcony, some good beds and a 60 minutes drive to the north rim. There is no lake, the inn is surrounded by beautiful trees. The forest around the resort had many wildlife. Breakfast was really nice and cozy around the counter. Our room had no microwave, fridge, and coffee facilities, internet was very very slow. The rate (june) was more than 150 dollar, so its a bit overpriced. Would go back for sure, but only if we could book the same room. Motel and cabins looked poor. Service was nice, room was clean to. Tasty cookies and ice cream in the shop ! The road to the north rim is a nice drive, there is a gas station near the inn.

Room Tip: room 202 in the newer building, topfloor has got a nice balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We thank you for staying with us at Jacob Lake Inn and we appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and eating in our restaurant. We hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in one of the Jacob Lake "cabins" (actually a sort of duplex unit) during a quick one-day run down to the North Rim in between visiting Bryce Canyon and Zion. I would have preferred to stay at the North Rim itself simply because of the drive, but since this was a relatively last-minute decision nothing was available there.

I heard from a couple of people online less than encouraging things about the Jacob Lake property, so I had some idea what it would be like. On the plus side, we had no trouble getting checked in or finding our cabin, even though it was a couple of hours after dark.

The cabin itself was.....well, different. The floor in each room (two bedrooms with a bathroom in between) slanted noticeably in a different direction. The doors to the bathroom each had large (couple of inches) gaps at the bottom. The furniture was straight from the 50s and 60s and had multiple scars and cigarette burns. The beds were sort of lumpy but not really uncomfortable, with thin blankets and worn comforters. There was a strong smell in the room when we first opened it, a combination of cleaning supplies and I'm not sure what else (mustiness, really), so we kept the door open for a half hour before going to sleep to air it out. More than anything the room reminded me of sitting in my grandparents' kitchen with the mud/utility room right alongside back in the early 70s when I was little.

The bathroom was the most "unique" of all. It was VERY narrow, so that if I was standing and facing the toilet I had to be careful not to move or I bumped into the walls with my shoulders. The shower (no tub) was just as narrow, really just a dark open space in the wall opposite the toilet. With just a one-night stay we had no real reason to take a shower (we could just wait until we reached the motel near Zion the next day), which was a good thing because I don't think I would have allowed my daughters to take one even if they had been willing. It was frankly over the line into the "gross" side.

Overall it was fine for what we needed, which was simply a place to crash and sleep for a few hours in between destinations. For that purpose it served with no problem, but I would have had a hard time seeing us staying there for multiple nights--it simply wasn't clean or comfortable enough for that. For multiple nights it would have been like camping indoors, and if I'm going to do that I would just pitch the tent in the first place--certainly done that enough times.

Positives for the room(s) would include the size--neither room would very spacious on its own, but the two rooms together would give a decent amount of space as well as a way to get away from each other for a bit of privacy. Each of the two rooms had an exterior door with a small porch sort of area, complete with a couple of chairs. This would be a plus if you were staying longer, but didn't matter at all to us since all we were doing was sleeping there.

It would be nice if there were more options in the region--the only other choice seems to be the Kaibab Lodge. I haven't stayed there, but from the reviews online it seems to be a somewhat similar sort of operation, with similar issues. Some increased competition would undoubtedly cause the owners of these places to do some updating, but as things stand they apparently don't have the incentive.

We did eat breakfast the next morning in the restaurant here, which was okay. The food was decent if not remarkable--everyone was happy enough with what they had (I did get a chuckle from my plate of pancakes--the top two were fine, while the bottom one was thin and on the crunchy side--obviously hidden down there, although I don't mind crispy pancake edges so I didn't really care). The service was adequate although a little on the slow side. My mother and my daughters each spent some time browsing in the gift shop while we were waiting for the food. The shop had a large selection of t-shirts (we bought a couple) and touristy types of trinkets and jewelry.

Overall, we looked back on our night's stay here in bemusement. Would I stay there again? Probably, under the same circumstances--only wanting a single night's sleep and with nothing available at the North Rim lodge. If you are the sort of person who isn't terribly picky about the accommodations and only expecting a night's sleep you should be fine. If you consider yourself to have "high standards" regarding amenities and cleanliness, then think twice, especially for more than a single night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Public Relations Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback. We know that some of our rooms are very old, but we do try to keep them as clean and comfortable as possible. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would definitely stay here again and perhaps the next time would explore the walking trails around the area. It'a a quiet, pleasant place to enjoy nature. The Inn offers a friendly dining experience and sells yummy cookies!

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice - motel or cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Manager at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Jacob Lake Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here and the cookies. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
0.0 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
239 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
111.7 mi away
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant & Inn
Hopi Cultural Center Restaurant ...
#1 of 1 in Kykotsmovi Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing