We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, good location, but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“clean, good location, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the motel on our trip to Grand Canyon. The room and bathroom were clean, but very small. There is no fridge, tv or microvawe in the room. You can get ice for your cooler at the reception.The staff was polite and helpful, but the motel should not cost more then 50$-59$, 130$ is really too much for this standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Our prices are in line with the area and the difficulty of operating a seasonal business. We are required to stay open all year but only have income May-October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    742
    342
    179
    100
See reviews for
492
884
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in the hotel section for 2 nights when visiting the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The hotel part of the Inn is quite new and we had a lovely quiet room with a balcony overlooking the trees. We would recommend this section of the inn if you want peace and quiet. The restaurant was good and the bakery things excellent. All in all, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

For my part, I fell in love with the clever layout and craftsmanship of the cabins. Who knew that surplus paint on bark board could look so good? Each bed having its own exit door was both visually engaging and highly practical, and I know all three of us used the chair.
All the best,

Room Tip: Good value but pretty basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights visiting the North Rim and surrounding area in the day. The food was great and the lodging in the hotel was good, enjoying a balcony with a forested view and relaxing atmosphere. Accompanied in the evening by a fabulous speaker John Rich who enhanced our experience with his vast knowledge of Navajo culture and history. Be careful the cookies can be addictive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverTom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you! The cookies are addictive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We used the Inn as our base to launch a rim to rim day hike of the Grand Canyon. We stayed in the hotel at the facility and it was very comfortable and clean and we were well rested before our hike. The best thing about the Inn are the people who work there. Everyone was very nice and friendly and we had lots of smiles. The bakery and cafe were great and reasonably priced considering how far you are away from everything. We look forward to going back again. Deer are all over the place so don't get spooked!

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel... if you are looking for a more modern option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaxmanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived here about 7pm as it was getting dark, having spent the first part of the day visiting the Grand Canyon South Rim and then driving through the most amazing ever-changing landscapes......Check in took only a couple of minutes and then we made our way to our cabin. Had already discovered that restaurant food service finished early (and bar food even earlier) so picked up a few bottles of chilled Grand Canyon Brewery beer from the onsite shop and left them in the car to cool down further (got down to about 2oC overnight - being at 8,000ft). Ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a really good meal. Service throughout our stay was also unfailingly polite. The relatively short drive from Jacob Lake to the North Rim (although blighted in parts by previous forest fires) was absolutely beautiful - with the Aspen trees already turning from gold to orange & red. Although it is unlikely that we will return (having now "done" the Grand Canyon from both sides), we would have no hesitation in recommending Jacob Lake Inn as an ideal place to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Never say never. The Grand Canyon has a way of bringing you back! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Jacob Lake Inn was a surprise. For anyone doing a one day hike rim to rim, this is an excellent location. The Transcanyon shuttle from the south rim will drop you off at the Inn. Matt, one of the owners will drive you to the trail head any time day or night. Amazingly, he drove me to the trail head at 2:30 in the morning. I enjoyed the fact also, that it was not part of a chain and the staff was wonderful

Room Tip: I thought the cabins were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
That was one of the funnest middle of the night drives I've ever had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacob Lake
24.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Ranch & Outfitters
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing