We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place to stay”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This inn is an isolated location, given that, it was very peaceful. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable. When we checked in the receptionist was friendly and informative, she guided us to the the best vantage points of the canyon. The restaurant wasn't overpriced the food was basic but good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Well said. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Jacob Lake for 3 nights recently. The cereal breakfast was wonderful and I felt no desire to try anything else. The evening menu was a bit limited. We ate in for two nights but needed a change on the third evening. We also enjoyed a very informative talk from the owner on Navajo history. We amended our booking at short notice and they were able to accommodate us, albeit one night cabin and two nights in the hotel. We did not feel the hotel took advantage of its monopoly position and all staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

You're right! We try very hard to be fair. There is never a thought of monopoly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our trip to Jacob Inn on our September vacation was just what we expected on our 2 week adventure from California to see the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, and parts of Arizona, Utah and beyond. We stayed in one of the cabins, which were rustic but just the mix of adventure we were looking for after the many motels we stayed in along the way. Although the room and quarters were small, it was a cabin built that dated back to 1923 and you have to accept that this is a moment still frozen in time. No cell service or wi fi.............I we didn't expect that in the mountains, that's not what we needed. The staff was great, the food the best on our vacation, especially the bakery good, first class. Very rewarding experience and a trip back in time to what it was like in 1923.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

First Class Rustic! I like that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I only stayed for one night in one of the cabins recently with three friends and we all enjoyed our stay very much! We explored the canyon all afternoon and stayed at the lodge for sunset then returned to Jacob Lake in time to catch dinner before the grill closed at 8:30 PM. The girl working the counter was awesome. She took time explaining the food and what was good and told us a little about the Inn. Another review said the fries were not good, but ours were great (skin on and cooked just right). The chicken sandwiches were tasty too and like other posters have stated, the cookies from the bakery are "out of this world"! Great place to stay

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rustic cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank direwolf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanks! Come again, the cookies will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Now, I will start this review by saying that my experience is probably atypical and was the result of a series of unfortunate events. That said, I still feel compelled to write it because despite their unwillingness to give us even a partial refund when we were unable to stay there, the Inn emailed me urging me to review my stay on Tripadvisor. Such solicitation felt like salt in the wounds. We did the rim2rim2rim run in the grand canyon and my partner had a severe case of dehydration when we finished the run 1 hour later than we expected. As an EMT, he understood that he needed to go to the hospital. With no cell service, we hussled to the Jacob Lake Inn where I attempted to simultaneously cancel the reservation and get directions to the nearest hospital. Their office was already close for the evening (945pm?) but a helpful young man (house cleaning?) gave us instructions. When I called the next day I asked if we could even have a partial refund, seeing as how we tried to cancel, did not use the reservation, and now had hospital bills to content with. They were surprisingly unempathic and unhelpful and indicated this was not a possibility. I tend to support local / small businesses when possible because you're more likely to have a human interaction. This was the exact opposite experience. I might as well have been talking to someone in a different country. Their website touts them as family-owned and operated, giving you the impression that they might excel in terms of hospitality. When we were at their door, with no cell service, hospital bound, they didn't even let us in or offer up the use of a phone. In a land of strangers and unfamiliarity, Jacob Lake Inn did not make us feel welcome or amongst friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MTmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

It is almost impossible to have a perfect refund policy. We do the best we can, and if you knew all the circumstances, hopefully it would make sense. We try to be fair given all the demands for refunds that we get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We did not want to stay at Jacob Lake Inn, having read some other less than positive reviews, but there was no space in the Grand Canyon national park accommodation, and there is simply nowhere else to stay in the area except Jacob Lake Inn. So, reluctantly we booked, hoping that they would be better than their reviews. They were not. The cabin we were given smelled really unpleasantly mouldy, and felt damp. The dinner we ordered was badly cooked (awful French fries in the USA - surely not!). We needed to send an urgent email, but there is no wifi or email available, and I do not mean in the room, I mean anywhere! The whole place appears to be run by college students working part time who are very nice, but not surprisingly are not too concerned about queries or problems. I should not have been surprised but in the morning I was in a line of people waiting for reception to open so we could check out - at way past the official opening time. What are the owners doing with the money they are taking in? They are certainly not ploughing any of it back into the inn. This was our only poor accommodation experience in two months of travelling in the USA. Travellers to the area must hope that a good homely motel opens up next door - Jacobs Lake Inn would collapse very quickly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

The owners are working right along with the students. Just ask for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent five nights at the Jacob Lake Inn earlier this month, staying in the newer hotel at the rear of the property. We had no complaints about the room other than the stall shower being rather small and the lack of an adjustable stream shower head. The room was clean, it was very quiet at night, the bed was comfortable with decent pillows, and our little balcony looking out over the "nature area" was a pleasant bonus feature. One of our primary activities on this trip was birding, and we were thrilled to see so much bird activity in the trees around the Inn, including their designated "Nature Trail" with a wonderful water feature and gazebo.

Since the Inn is one of a very few choices if you want to stay in this area, they could probably get away with poor service. But on the contrary, the staff in the restaurant and gift shop went out of their way to welcome us and have some nice conversations during our stay. The food is great and they really do have some delicious cookies in the bakery -- the ones everyone raved about were zucchini and lemon. We loved them too.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel facing the parking lot. It was fine, but if we went back agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimSmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you! We are friendly because we really like our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing