We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and cozy”
Review of Jacob Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jacob Lake B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and cozy”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

While I was a little disappointed that our group of 6 was not able to stay in the North Rim (by the way, we tried to reserve rooms there 6 months in advance) I was slightly hesitant to reserve our group's rooms here. However, we needed to get back to the South Rim the next day, so being that we were already 40 miles on our next day's journey, that provided relief. Upon driving into the Inn, it reminded me of camping with the rustic looking cabins. My husband and I stayed in a cabin with a king sized bed near the restaurant, so if you want to be closer to the 'action' :) I would recommend that option. Our room had no A/C, but we were able to open the windows which provided a nice, cool breeze for the night. The shower floor was slightly slanted (as well as the cabin, it seemed), but provided the basic service of hot, clean water to clean up. It seemed a little dark in the room and there were not many options to plug in electronic devices to charge, but we made due. It was, however, very nice being able to unplug from the rest of the world for about 24 hours, as there is no phone or wireless service (at least for at&t subscribers). The bakery on site has delicious baked goods (try the chocolate parfait cookie!) and the bar/pub type foods (sandwiches/burgers) are much better than the dinner offered at night. My husband wasn't too impressed with his $26 steak, and that was AFTER hiking 20+ miles for the day and anything sounded good to him to eat. The customer service is superb and the college students working there provided a nice, friendly smile and warm conversation. All in all, just know you're going to an inn basically in the middle of nowhere and be prepared for no high end amenities. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were able to smell the bacon frying in the morning with our windows open! Ask for a cabin close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcliles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We'll look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    743
    345
    179
    100
See reviews for
493
888
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

rooms were small but served the purpose. nice area for morning walk wonderful staff. showers had good pressure and plenty of hot water. it was quiet and people were friendly lots of bluebirds and squirrels. beautiful scenery on the way to grand canyon and lake powell. we will return. cabins are pet friendly for a mere $10 a night. we stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: if you rent a cabin get the 2 queen beds as the rooms are alittle bigger and there's a counter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We appreciate your stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Jacob Lake Inn To be closer to the North Rim and it was well worth the stay. We stayed in the older motel part which is pet friendly and the rooms were as expected. The rooms were small but clean; the only drawback was the tiny shower. We never missed not having a TV or phone reception and actually was nice to be "quiet" for a time.
The inn is very quaint, picturesque and reminds me of a bygone era. The food was good and plentiful, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The gift shop was well stocked and I enjoyed shopping there. The bakery was delicious. In short, I would stay there again. Thanks, Jacob Lake Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
You're welcome. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I directly witnessed an encounter between a member of our party and the owner where a reasonable business problem of low dollar value was discussed. The owners response was unnecessarily rude, unprofessional, and unbusinesslike. As a result he lost several hundred dollars of potential revenue from our group, a poor business decision on his part. Our group will never stay there again. I would like to point out thatthat in spite of the owners rudeness the staff service was very good and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red_Cr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
As I stated in a previous response, I don't condone rudeness. It is interesting, however, that during that same week, two other customers broke items in our store. They both immediately came up and paid for the items. If I were in your store and broke an item, I would expect to pay for it no matter how small.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There aren't a lot of choice if you are going to the North Rim, but we had a very pleasant experience at Jacob Lake Inn. Our room was nice, the food was good (loved the cookies and the ice cream!) and it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The drive to the canyon took about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
The most limiting factor of our business is the remoteness. We have to provide everything for ourselves. It means that we don't have all the modern things in all our rooms like TVs, refrigerators, etc. We improve as fast as we can afford and we try to give the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Much like another reviewer, my wife & I were keen to visit the North Rim but couldn't get in at the Lodge there and didn't want to have to travel long distances after a long day in the Park. So we booked a Log Cabin for 1 night.

In truth, and to my wifes relief, it was better than we expected! Cosy, but comfortable and warm. Sure the decor and fittings are a bit long in tooth but it added to the atmosphere and at the end of the day you have to remember that you are a long way from anywhere more upmarket! The only thing that did concern us about the cabin was the rather old gas heater. A certificate that it had been recently serviced and/or a carbon monoxide alarm in the room would have reassured us. We left the bathroom window open all night to be on the safe side.

We took dinner in the restaurant. The staff were welcoming, but could have been slicker. The food was quite good however.

I had read an earlier review suggesting that, for speed, breakfast was best taken at the diner counter rather than in the restaurant. All we can say is that the counter service was very, very, slow. It took about 45 mins for 2 pancakes and 2 over-easy eggs with toast to turn up - and this was around 9am when you might have thought the rush was over! A couple nearby waited over an hour and claimed other customers who had come in after them got served before them. This all suggests that the kitchen is either short-handed or needs to up its game on the service front. But, again, the food when it came was fine.

All in all, a quaint sort of place that serves a useful niche for travellers to the North Rim. If you remember that you're in the middle of nowhere you'll be happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caveman1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I have travelled extensively for years, both domestically and internationally, and this is without a doubt the worst place we've ever stayed. It should be condemned. The only reason this place exists is because it has no competition, which also explains their high rates. We were in the "motel." There was no TV, no telephone, no hairdryer. There were bugs in the sink. The furniture and rug were old and dirty. We left as soon as we woke up! We wouldn't have stayed there but we left the North Rim of the Grand Canyon late and there was no other place to stay. Our advice: keep driving.

Room Tip: The cabins didn't look any better than the "motel," but I don't know about the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmettotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobLakeFamily, Owner at Jacob Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
All I can say is that your response is atypical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacob Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Lake Inn

Property: Jacob Lake Inn
Address: US 89A & AZ Hwy 67, at State Route 67, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jacob Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Jacob Lake Hotel Jacob Lake
Jacob Lake Inn Jacob Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing