We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skywalks pitfalls. DW from the UK”

Grand Canyon Skywalk
Book In Advance
More Info
$499.99*
and up
Skip the Line: Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk among the clouds at the Grand Canyon Skywalk. See breath taking sights and experience the Grand Canyon like never before. Located at Eagle Point where the natural rock formation of an Eagle is prominently in view for all to see. This glass, horseshoe-shaped bridge enables visitors to walk beyond the canyon walls at Grand Canyon West, suspending them 4,000 feet above the riverbed and providing an unparalleled view of this natural wonder. Guests can purchase hot lunches, cold drinks, and snacks while visiting. Located on the Hualapai Reservation, the Skywalk is located at Eagle Point at Grand Canyon West. Visitors can enjoy the Native American Village, Traditional Bird Dancers every day and breath taking views.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Skywalks pitfalls. DW from the UK”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

If you decide to visit the Skywalk at the Grand Canyon be prepared to expect poor organization. I would strongly recommend taking enough food with you for the trip if you can as I cannot advise taking the food on offer at the Skywalk restaurant. You do however get good views and a different experience on the Skywalk it's self.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,369
    820
    505
    390
    710
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I'm always surprised when people go to Vegas and don't bother to visit the Grand Canyon. It's a day trip to one of the most amazing places on earth. We booked through a ticket agent to go to the South Rim with Gray Line Tours. The agent didn't tell us that we wouldn't be back til 10pm and that the temperatures would be in the 40s. So, when we got to the Gray Line depot to board the buses, we decided (along with scores of others who'd also been misinformed) to switch to the West Rim Tour with Skywalk. The bus journey was reasonably short - less than 3 hours, and we stopped at Hoover Dam. The Canyon itself is spectacular, you MUST see it. The Skywalk was fun and we got a great group picture taken there - cost $30. The West Rim is owned by an Indian tribe and is still under development. There are some Native Indian dancers and a small replica ranch to visit, but it's nothing much to look at. The best views are at Guano Point, so leave plenty of time for that. Next time, we'll hire a car and drive up the South Rim. But for day-trippers who want a Grand Canyon experience - and back on The Strip for 6pm - go for the West Rim trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip...”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a shot 80 miles from Vegas on some fairly simple roads. I am sure does not match with the Canyon village on the east (not been there) but they are going to massive lengths to make this a great destination. They have some work to do yet, your support is needed and will go a long way to creating a western edge tour worth others time.

We did not do the skywalk... the extra fee was just too much... if it was a $10 more i think we would have done it.

The customer experience was breathless. Great culture, ownership of actions, engaging, friendly. They went above and beyond to help me find a stupid sew on patch that I collect. Just amazing... well worth the visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iTravelFar2Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good day!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We took a day tour through Grayline tours. They picked us up at our hotel and brought us to the office where we got sorted into groups and put on buses after they did a sales pitch. We ended up adding the helicopter and boat ride, which was definitely worth it if you've never done it before!

We were late leaving in the morning because they seemed quite unorganized but once we were off it was ok. Our driver was entertaining and gave us information as we drove. We stopped to take pictures of Hoover Dam - that we weren't on just looked at from the new highway (a little disappointing). Then we continued to the canyon. We end up switching buses about 30 mins out because the last bit is on a dirt road - but it was an old coach bus so still comfortable. Because we did the helicopter and boat ride first, we were running a bit tight on time. We ended up getting our lunch at the 3rd lookout point (didn't stop at the first stop) and had to eat pretty quick. But it was a good day, bring snacks and water and the skywalk was neat to do once!! Good way to see the Canyon!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have visited the Grand Canyon in the past, and this has by far been the best experience in terms of views.

You first must travel to the reservation parking lot via a partially unpaved road. This road however was under construction when I visited, so I would imagine that it would be completed sometime soon. Once at the reservation, you enter the facility/gift shop where you either purchase your tickets or pickup your pre-purchased tickets/packages. From there you are shuttled to the three different attraction areas that they have, the skywalk being one of them. You can get on/off the shuttle at any of the attractions as many times as you would like.

At the skywalk, you go into the building/gift shop where they have the attraction and proceed out to the skywalk itself. Once you are outside, you must put on these felt booties over your shoes before you can walk on the glass. This is done to protect the clarity of the glass. You also get a locker that you must put all of your items in as you are not allowed to bring cameras, cell phones, or basically anything that you would carry, as they do not want anything on the skywalk.

Once out on the skywalk, the floor and walls are all glass, and you can see perfectly through them. There is a professional photographer there to take photos of you and your group if you would like, and you get a ticket to bring inside where you can view and purchase the pictures if you want to. We just bought the thumb drive with all of the pictures on them, which cost about $80 if I remember correctly.

All in all, it was great and definitely worth it as the views were amazing and by far the best of all the grand canyon rims that I have visited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank astroblacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Skywalk also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Skywalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing