We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Las Vegas Day Trip With Incredible Views of Grand Canyon”

Grand Canyon Skywalk
Book In Advance
More Info
$499.99*
and up
Skip the Line: Grand Canyon Skywalk Express Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk among the clouds at the Grand Canyon Skywalk. See breath taking sights and experience the Grand Canyon like never before. Located at Eagle Point where the natural rock formation of an Eagle is prominently in view for all to see. This glass, horseshoe-shaped bridge enables visitors to walk beyond the canyon walls at Grand Canyon West, suspending them 4,000 feet above the riverbed and providing an unparalleled view of this natural wonder. Guests can purchase hot lunches, cold drinks, and snacks while visiting. Located on the Hualapai Reservation, the Skywalk is located at Eagle Point at Grand Canyon West. Visitors can enjoy the Native American Village, Traditional Bird Dancers every day and breath taking views.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Las Vegas Day Trip With Incredible Views of Grand Canyon”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The actual Skywalk is an OK thing to do, but the whole Hualapai park is the real reason to come to this location. When we were there in March it was uncrowded, it offers phenomenal views of the canyon, and it is a feasible to do this as a day trip from Las Vegas. In contrast, I think that day trips would be difficult to do from Las Vegas for the North or South rim national parks. On the downside, the area is not very developed, and there are not a lot of amenities there. Unlike the South Rim National Park, there are no railings to keep people from falling over the edge, there are no hotels, there is no hiking from here into the canyon, the dining options are limited, and you need to drive about 20 minutes on a well maintained dirt road to get there. At the park there is a fake Old West town, an airport, several restaurants, and several stores which sell Indian jewelry, art, and t-shirts. The Skywalk itself was worthwhile more for the view of the canyon that you get than the intended thrill you are supposed to get by walking out on a glass floor several thousand feet above the canyon floor. Near the Skywalk you can walk out to a promontory that juts out into the canyon, on a trail that is about 30 feet wide with 1000 foot drop-offs on either side, again with awesome views in different directions. Another feature that I liked is that there were Native American hosts, in native dress, that talked to us about their tribe and how their ancestors lived.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    827
    509
    393
    721
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rosetown, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“JUST AWSOME”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I read revies about this place and people complaing about price and dirt road to get there . Dont listen to them we rented a car i vegas and drove out this is one of the most spectacular places i have ever been 89 dollars to get in includes shuttle and meal and the skywalk i suggest for people to take the full package at 89 dollars . The views are spectacular and we loved it would highly recommend this to anyone dont listen to bad revives of this place as you might miss one of the nices places in the us to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank golferfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Grand canyon Thumbs UP ...Skywalk thumbs DOWN”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

While photos and description of it was impressive, in reality the Skywalk was a rather underwhelming experience. The only thing i was overwhelmed by was the hordes tourists from bus tours. This is a tourist trap. It is expensive. It is crowded. You get limited time to stay on the Skywalk - they couldn't wait to shoo you off for the next load of tourists. If you think you get the sensation of floating above the canyon or walking on air - well it doesn't quite work out that way. The tranparent part of the walkway is confined to only a modest centre section of it. Flanked on both sides buy covered areas. Coupled with everyone around you and all trying to stand on the same path - you hardly enjoy the feel of levitation or the sense of drama. over the canyon.

My suggestion - go to the side of the skywalk some distance away. Take a dramatic picture of it against the backdrop of the Grand Canyon. That way you get a great picture and leave with pleasant memories of such. Go there, pay and walk on it - your memory get sullied.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar Cleveland England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Skywalk!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Skywalk wasn't as big as I was expecting - not sure why but I thought it would be bigger - but still brilliant - a professional photographer takes all the photos as you have to leave your own bags, cameras and phones in (free) lockers - they charge $30 per photo however as we were a party of 4 we decided to get as many photo's as we could and asked for a USB memory stick instead of printed photo's for $80 - its much better value and the photo's are of much better quality.
You are standing on a man made engineering marvel looking at one of the natural wonders of the world - just enjoy, pay or you may regret it!
We have just viewed our photos at home and they have also included a dozen or so beautiful views of the Skywalk through various seasons!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Casfigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Let me start off by saying that the " GRAND CANYON" is one of the seven wonders of the world. The views ARE breath taking however....The skywalk was a disappointment. It is a small glass walk over the West part of the canyon. The entrance fees are outrages and photography, phones, sunglasses, hats, are not allowed on the skywalk. They say that the reason that you can't bring anything on the skywalk is to keep it from """getting""" scratched. To Late!!!! The only way to get a CLEAR view is to look over the side of the rail. The people who run this place will take your pictures for a price $$$. But don't ask them any questions about the rest of this "park" because they don't know. I couldn't help but think at every spot we visited are they going to finish that??? The main building at the skywalk is still just frame work on the inside. This place opened in 2007 why are there no walls inside the building. Banners with info on the skywalk had the wrong info, instead of replacing them with new ones with the correct info they just taped paper over the wrong info and wrote over it with a marker. (with what they charge they could afford to replace the banners and FINISH the buildings. The drive to the place through the desert was very long. (but scenic ) It was not worth the money in my opinion. IF you choose to go don't worry about the extra cost of the skywalk/meal deal. Opt for the basic package your views will be just as good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGnome05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Skywalk also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Skywalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing