We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Expensive but close to Vegas”
Review of Grand Canyon West

Grand Canyon West
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim and Hoover Dam Day Tour from Las Vegas with Optional...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grand Canyon Resort Corporation is owned by the Hualapai Indian Tribe and is located in Peach Springs, Arizona. In 1988, the Hualapai Indian Tribe, which has occupied the land since 1883, established GCRC, welcoming millions of visitors each year to tour the area, including the nearby lodge, ranch, River Runners and Grand Canyon West. To further increase tourism in the area, the Grand Canyon Skywalk was built in 2007. The Skywalk is a glass, horseshoe-shaped bridge that enables visitors to walk beyond the canyon walls at Grand Canyon West, suspending them 4,000 feet above the riverbed and providing an unparalleled view of this natural wonder.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Expensive but close to Vegas”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As others have said, it's a long ride on a gravel road. We took a convertible so had to put the top up. Went to the car wash afterwards. Awesome views from the glass "patio" but the Indians are getting back at us ($$$) for taking their land! Be wary of the photo opportunity on the glass observation deck. Your camera is prohibited but theirs are ok and the pictures cost $80. for a usb stick. Make sure the photographer takes plenty of pictures, you can pick the ones you want in the gift shop. Bring your own food, the restaurants are marginal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    318
    128
    82
    153
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“What an experience!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a fantastic day at the reservation with stunning views of the Grand Canyon all round! It was very busy although it didn't feel busy! Everyone was friendly and helpful. We purchased the Gold package which gave us entry everyone and I felt this was reasonably priced and included a meal at one of the stops. The only disappointement for us was that we couldn't take our cameras onto the skywalk!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YvonneFrench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Closest rim to Vegas”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes this is the closest rim to Vegas, but it's still a good 3 hour car trip one way, including a solid 30-40 minutes on a private gravel road. There's no gas stations for most of the trip, so fill up before you head out there and catch the gas station just off the highway. If you make it to the canyon and need gas, be prepared to pay at least double the average cost.
Since this part of the canyon is on private land, you have to pay just to get up to it, but the price for the bus ride isn't horrible (considering it is a major attraction). The skywalk is fun and a good experience, but a little over priced even considering you can't take cameras onto the bridge itself. If you're ever in the Vegas area and really want to experience the grand canyon this is definetely the place to hit... If you road tripping across the nation, I'd recommend stopping at a national park instead.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tourist trap.....yes, woth a visit......yes”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Yes it's a tourist trap and yes it's expensive but you don't go on holiday to save money and just to put it in perspective, you pay £19 for a half hour ride on the London eye (dont get me wrong I think the London eye is excellent) and £20-£25 for as long as you like on the basic legacy package (transport between all 3 sites included but no skywalk). My wife and I paid for the Legacy Silver package(which includes a meal at one of the 3 points) and I payed for the skywalk after deciding to give it a try when I got there. If you are not too bothered about food (we ate at the ranch and had some nice ribs, although the cornbread was not up to much) and unsure about if you want to do the skywalk then opt for the basic package and just pay for the Skywalk when you get there if you feel brave enough. I would have rated this attraction as average but that would do a disservice to the awesome natural beauty and splendor of the Canyon. West Rim is a major tourist pull and in quite a small area, and yes it is a well oiled money making venture so If you want a spontaneous, natural and individual experience then do not visit here, go hiking and camping at the South Rim or in Death Valley. Whilst personally I prefer peace and individual and unique experiences I don't mind occasionally immersing myself in the melee of humanity that is a tourist trap. One suggestion I would give to the Hualapai is to use some of the profits from their attraction to pave the dirt track that serves as the only access to West Rim

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank surfingjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My friends and I visited Grand Canyon West and were pleasantly surprised not only by the overall awesomeness of the Skywalk and Grand Canyon, we were very pleased with how friendly and helpful all of the staff were. And when we got a flat tire in our brand new rental car, which didn't have a spare tire just a compressor that didn't work very well, we were happy to be aided by one of the staff who just happened to drive by on his way home and stopped to help us. He not only helped with the tire, he followed us to the Hualapai Ranch to make sure we made it all the way and had called ahead to make sure we could still have some dinner and possibly a cabin for the evening. When we arrived safely at the ranch, with our tire almost flat again, we were greeted by Michelle, who made sure we had everything we needed for a great barbecue meal and who got Patrick, who entertained us around the campfire and set us up with rooms for the night! We woke up in the morning to a great breakfast and one of the maintenance men came and patched our tire so we could leave! Needless to say, these folks were all our heroes! It was a real adventure for us. Our only complaint was the BLM road leading up to the Hualapai Reservation. Thanks for the memories!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon West also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing