We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Canyon: eat at the ranch: beware or the dirt road:”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canyon West

Grand Canyon West
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim and Hoover Dam Day Tour from Las Vegas with Optional...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grand Canyon Resort Corporation is owned by the Hualapai Indian Tribe and is located in Peach Springs, Arizona. In 1988, the Hualapai Indian Tribe, which has occupied the land since 1883, established GCRC, welcoming millions of visitors each year to tour the area, including the nearby lodge, ranch, River Runners and Grand Canyon West. To further increase tourism in the area, the Grand Canyon Skywalk was built in 2007. The Skywalk is a glass, horseshoe-shaped bridge that enables visitors to walk beyond the canyon walls at Grand Canyon West, suspending them 4,000 feet above the riverbed and providing an unparalleled view of this natural wonder.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Mooloolah, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon: eat at the ranch: beware or the dirt road:”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

well it was rather different after they told us to be outside our hotel at 6.15am to be picked up and dont be late they finally arrive at 7.10am..The driver gets outs and starts yelling instructions to about 25-30 of us which we can hardly hear over the bus noise, when he is asked a question he is VERY rude and said i am not repeating myself all day just listen. We are then taken to the office to be checked in...long process...given coffee and a biscuit for brekky. We get to another destination and told to get off the good bus and get on the old bus, well my god what a horrific experience..people should be warned about this ride, if you have breathing problems or back or neck problems dont go as you cant breath cos of the dust that comes in the bus and the dirt and bumps in the road is horrific,the whole bus just shakes you around you can hardly sit in your seat and this goes on for about 40mins...once you are out there it ok day the canyon is beautiful the food is discusting, eat at the Ranch i wish we had of known that it was much better food than the slopp the other places served up..thomas the driver has attitude and i didnt like the way he spoke down to people, then sucked up at tip time...13.5hr day way too long for a tour as they we always running late..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    312
    126
    80
    147
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We - you and I have seen the Grand Canyon in the travel brochures, movies and listened to friends and relatives rave about the sights to be seen. Let me assure you that they are not going over the top with their praise. We traveled by bus from Vegas on an air conditioned coach with a very competent driver. The trip although long was interspersed with comfort stops along the way. On arrival at the Canyon we were weighed for our helicopter ride to the canyon base (required for distribution in the choppers). I have had many chopper rides but this was my partners first ride in a helicopter and she loved it. Our pilot and crew were/are very safety conscious and we felt secure. On arrival at the base we walked to the Colorado river to alight a boat for a trip up the river to see the canyon from a different perspective. We were astounded at the sights we saw as we drifted back to our mooring. A chopper ride back to the top with magnificent views along the way. We had lunch served by a local Indian tribe and had time to take in the walk along the rim. Our coach parked quite near the Canyon Walk but we didn't feel the need to join the extended queue to participate, May I respectfully urge you to book a trip to the Canyon, you will not come away disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smudge452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
288 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Discover the Wild Grand Canyon of the West”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ever since watching the National Geographic Program on the building of the Skywalk, it has been our plan to go someday and this past September we finally made it....After reading the bad reviews of previous visitors from the long unpaved road to get to the area, the long lines, the lack of services etc.....and the expense to experience this part of the Grand Canyon...We did talk about all the negatives but decided we wanted to experience it for ourselves. What an awesome experience a once in a lifetime HIGH for us....We did not meet lots of large crowds which meant the unpaved road was not shared with loads of large tour buses kicking up stone at our rental car. We also had ideal weather....and the sunrise and sunset experience up there was absolutely worth the trip. We had pre-booked everything and received a discount on entry and stays. We stayed at the Ranch which is a bit "stagie" however fun. Our cabin was large, clean and looked east toward the canyon and sunrise was enjoyed from our front porch with our hot tea and coffee....Our booking give us a dinner which was a choice of ribs or chicken and sides - all prepared offsite and kept warm in their kitchen. The food was alright and eating was in the large bunkhouse dining area. Unfortunately there was no music as promised but we had a chance to meet others and learn about what they had seen. They advertise the late night campfire with singing, story telling and history while roasting marshmallows over a large open fire. The fire was large and there was plenty of roasting going on. Sadly, there was no story telling as the cowboy tending the fire had only been on the job for one week and had not prepared to talk about the history etc. That was disappointing as well but since all the other guests at the campfire were from out of the USA....roasting marshmallows and eating them on graham crackers with chocolate seemed to be just right...The Skywalk the next morning was an experience which is hard to described....one has to do it to understand. There were tour buses and groups but not at all holding us hostage. We had only a very short wait at the skywalk and no one asked us to leave the platform sooner than we wanted. We did not have our picture taken as there are plenty of places off the skywalk to get great shots and lots of folks willing to take your photo in trade for taking theirs. The finished photos were nice but more than we wanted to spend. The buses taking folks from one site along the canyon to the next were plentiful and the drivers informative and we did not have one ask us for a tip. A couple had tip boxes but did not ask out loud for a tip. We found the working staff friendly and ready to help and answer questions. The views are amazing and we went to the site the evening we arrived so saw the canyon at the evening light and back the next morning for the morning sun experience. The most fascinating facts we learned were that after five years of being open, there is still no running water at the site - all is trucked into the area for all of us tourists to be comfortable - Also, there is no sewage system.... the area has to be pumped out so toilets can exist on the site. So, we were grateful for the creature comforts they provided and would return in a heart beat even with the cost. We felt we were paying for those comforts and were glad they were there. Thank you to the Native Americans who consider tourists their priority....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank creekertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I discovered the Grand Canyon outstanding colors!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We wake up early in the morning and more than two hours we drive throw wild mountains. We saw a lot of animals, from little chipmunks till big wild cow. There are a lot of wild goats!
The dessert spread around, dominating horizon join us Jhoshua tree. After a stop where we boarded a special bus, we arrived at the place of departure to Grand Canyon West.
The trip itself has two stops:
- Eagle Point, where there was a massive eagle carved by the wind in a red cliffs of the canyon;
Here it is a place for Lunch (chines Lunch only) and a Hualapai Ranch (Houses, tents, wooden boards Hualapai brief history.).
Here is also the Skywalk (think deep if you really wanna spend 45 minute for security check and your short walk without any camera. They will propose their 'porfesional' photograph for 30$ each!!)
Do not spent to more than two hours there, to have enough time for next stop.
- Guano Point, where is a mountain peak that can climb (think at least half an hour) and a gold mine closed but extraordinarily brave located. The view is impressive from Guano Point.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aurel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing views, school canteen food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I visited here as part of an organised day tour from Vegas. Buses ship you from the visitors centre to the two main viewing areas, Eagle and Guano View, which take no more than 5 minutes each way. Buses are every 10 minutes or so but during busy times fill quickly so you can be left waiting 20 minutes. Views from Eagle and Guano are breathtaking, you can't comprehend what you are seeing. You can go right to the edge of the cliff, many do but that's too close for me. The only let down for me was the food that was part of the tour. Many day tours include a meal at Guano point which is slopped into a polystyrene plate and I had to ask what most of it was, my advice with that is close your eyes as the food tastes better when you aren't looking at it. My tips for visiting are don't wear sandals, the ground is uneven and dusty so sandals or flip flops aren't suitable. Take sunscreen, there are places to shelter but they are limited if a full bus comes along. Take plenty of water, I got through 2 litres whilst walking around in 90 degree heat.

Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon West also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing