We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Grand Canyon West

Grand Canyon West
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim and Hoover Dam Day Tour from Las Vegas with Optional...
More Info
$107.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim Coach Tour from Las Vegas
More Info
$262.99*
and up
Grand Canyon in a Day: Hummer Tour from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grand Canyon Resort Corporation is owned by the Hualapai Indian Tribe and is located in Peach Springs, Arizona. In 1988, the Hualapai Indian Tribe, which has occupied the land since 1883, established GCRC, welcoming millions of visitors each year to tour the area, including the nearby lodge, ranch, River Runners and Grand Canyon West. To further increase tourism in the area, the Grand Canyon Skywalk was built in 2007. The Skywalk is a glass, horseshoe-shaped bridge that enables visitors to walk beyond the canyon walls at Grand Canyon West, suspending them 4,000 feet above the riverbed and providing an unparalleled view of this natural wonder.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great fun, Breathtaking every turn is an amazing view. take your camera. The walk is worth it. Its a once in a life time thing so just do it and enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AFLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    340
    135
    90
    164
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery, just amazing- hard to get to but don't miss it!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We drove from the vegas strip with my husband, mid 20's son and his buddy (they were on leave from the navy). The first hour and a half or so of the drive was great- huge smooth highway, beautiful scenery, plenty of places to stop and take beautiful pics. Then you have to turn onto Pierce to get to the canyon itself. Make sure to stop if you need a bathroom break because you won't find one on the next road. LOOK Carefully!! There is only 1 sign by where you have to turn. Then you go on a small paved road by broken down trailers and vehicles and you think you must be in the wrong place- you're not! This is the only way into the park! It gets much worse. The road turns to dirt, watch out for cows, etc., then it gets even worse as the windy road turns to gravel that is rough and slippery after about 45 minutes the road will be paved again and after miles of nothing there is a huge parking lot and several airstrips. This is where you have to park. The tribe offers several different packages. We went ahead and got the one for about $80 each that included the skywalk and lunch. From here you have to take shuttle buses everywhere. So first stop is the skywalk which is awesome. The glass skywalk lets you look straight down into the canyon. YOu can't take pics or anything with you on the skywalk- there are free lockers to put your things into- they will wand you and you look like a jerk if you forget to take your phone out of your pocket, etc. They don't want people dropping things and scratching the glass. Also they want to make money taking pics for you. But don't worry there are plenty of other places to take pics. The next stop, Guano point, was for me the best part of the whole visit! you walk down to the end of a large natural peninsula that extends out into the canyone. Climb to the top of the hill at the end and get the most amazing views of the canyon. The canyon is magnificent. Lunch was good and we also visited the "ranch" which is a little mock-wild west town that seemed really fun for kids. My "big kids" thought it was fun but a little cheesy. They went on a helicoptor ride but I was tired and took a rest while they were gone. They loved it but for $175/each they should! It's a wonderful place and you will have the memories, and pictures, for the rest of your life! Now you just have to take that awful road out again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon West Rim Worth the trip”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stopped here on our way from las Vegas to Phoenix wanting to see the canyon. Our first impression was it was expensive but it proved to be worth it. The drive through the Joshua Tree forest was cool and the attraction was well organized, clean and efficiently planned.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Horrible roads & over priced”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Skywalk was on my bucket list but if I'd known how terrible the trip there was going to be I would have passed on it. It took 2 hours to get there from the time we left the main highway and 3/4 of the way into it, part of the trip was on a dirt/rock road that you could only drive 5 - 10 miles an hour and it still bounced our car around. It is horrible. To top it off, it cost us $110 for two of us (no senior discounts here) to enter the park and one admission to the skywalk. It was not worth it. You can't even take your camera with you on the skywalk but they have photographers taking your picture which you can buy for $20 each.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoomaMesa_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon west "Skywalk"”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very good, the drive from Laughlin was very hot and long but a great drive a lot to see, but once you turn of the road to go to the skywalk be in for a rough ride no more road, but a dirt road, stop at the only stop on the road and have some food, the working ranch is a great stop, you get horse rides wagon rides and told all about the history of the mormans that moved into the land.
As for the skywalk take a lot off money with you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IToddF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon West also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing