We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more from HJ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Reviewed May 3, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Theodore D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 412 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had stayed here before when it was a Ramada Inn. I had no idea that it had changed names but we were not disappointed. Although it is not a remarkable place to stay, it was very good and met our needs. I really like the indoor pool and spa. It is small but nice. Upon entering the lobby I was again turned off by the cooking smells coming from behind the reception desk. I can only assume it is the owners or management cooking their evening meal but it is not a pleasant arrival. The front desk clerk, however, was very pleasant and since this does not make a difference in the stay, it can be easily overlooked. As we were entering our room, a staff/housekeeping person came by and asked if everything was ok. I asked her about the temperature of the fridge which seemed to be running warm. She said the lower the number the cooler the temp. I explained there were no numbers so I could not tell which way to turn the dial to turn down the temp. No help from her! She just would not bend down to look or help me with this and just kept repeating herself. I became very frustrated (my husband embarrassed) and finally suggested we could get a different room! Are you kidding me??? I finally just told her I would ask for another room if it did not work and it actually turned out to work just fine. I think they had turned it up before our arrival (which was no big deal) and while the room was unoccupied. Once I calmed down about that, our stay was nice. There are few exciting choices in Holbrook to either eat or stay so this met our needs just fine. It is right by the on/off-ramp to I 40 so that is a big plus.The breakfast was just average. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to park in a well lighted area and do not leave valuables in the car. I understand this town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking time out of your day in giving a review and do apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank xanderin05
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank jst1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank cool_guy2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bVicci, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Holbrook, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Holbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Holbrook

Address: 2608 East Navajo Boulevard / I-40, Holbrook, AZ 86025 (Formerly Ramada Limited Holbrook)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Holbrook 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Holbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Holbrook
Holbrook Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing