We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Holbrook
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed here several times while traveling between Arizona and New Mexico. I usually get a great deal on this hotel using Priceline Express Deals.

Pros: Good internet service. The rooms are nicely updated with a comfortable decor, good sized and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great value through Priceline. Definitely a solid 2 star property.

Cons: Strangely enough, the ice machine and vending machines are located out inside the fenced pool area which is basically in the parking lot. If you don't ask, you'd probably never find it.

Other: The AC worked okay and was not too noisy, for a window-type unit. I felt comfortable and fairly safe staying here, despite rooms that open to the exterior, which I am normally not fond of. There is a free breakfast but it's just the basics, yogurt, cerial, juice, fruit, small pastries, hard boiled eggs, toast, english muffins, and make-your-own waffles.

Holbrook itself is about half ghost town, like many of the smaller towns in the Southwest that are past their "Route 66" heyday, but I like the quiet nature of this little town. It's very convenient to I40 and there are a few interesting shops in town.

Room Tip: Near the end of the building would help minimize foot traffic past your window. All rooms open to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW26102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this property while on personal business. Booked the room through hotels.com and got a great price considering all the other properties in the area. The room was very spacious, clean and well maintained. The bed was most comfortable, the A/C worked exceptionally well. We had a train track near the motel, but didn't get disturbed by them at all during the night. Exercise facility was good considering the age of the property.

Breakfast was good as well with a pretty good variety of items.

Would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Bottom floor near the lobby seems to be quieter than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Arriving at the hotel we thought it was closed down as the outside looked derelict. When we went to check in the guy on the desk really didn't want to be there. He never once looked up, greeted me or smiled. He just slid the key over the counter. The rooms themselves are ok I suppose ( we were only staying one night thank heavens ) the bathroom had a bit of a smell and loads of little flies in the bath. When we came back from having tea there was a cement mixer, a wagon and a horse box with 3 horses in parked in the car park ( pretty strange I know ). The next morning after a sleepless night with the trains we went to try the breakfast , walking across the car park the guy with the horse box was mucking the horses out, this was just swept out onto the car park. The breakfast was ok except the lady cleared everything away around us and put out the lights ( it was only 9.15 ). Going bak to our room the whole place smelt of horse manure. Time to go thank god. We had stayed in 14 different hotels whilst doing Route 66 and this was the only bad one we had. CUSTOMER SERVICE SHOULD BE YOUR PRIORITY, EVEN JUST A SMILE MAKES A BAD HOTEL A BETTER ONE.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived at this hotel expecting the worst having read previous reviews. My husband and I stayed for one night whilst travelling route 66. The hotel is right on route and next to the Wig Wam Motel. The male receptionist managed to check us in without so much as glancing up at us. The female receptionist who we met upon check out was much more friendly. The room did have a strange smell and was a little tired however it was clean enough and we slept well. They offered free wifi and parking outside the door. There was a decent size pool and vending machines in the middle of the lot. Breakfast was also included; boiled eggs, waffles, muffins, biscuits and gravy etc. We did not have any issues with train or people noise and we did not at anytime feel unsafe. I can see how the first page of the welcome book may concern guests. (don't answer doors, dead bolts, never leave valuables etc) We ate at a local Chinese and overall had a great night in Holbrook at the Empty Pockets Saloon playing pool. The Hotel was fine for a one night stop over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We didn't plan to stay nowhere we was going to drive thru the night but got so sleepy we had to find a room.We are so happy we found this motel I couldn't have found one online any better.They have coffee,frig,microwave and a flat screen tv with HBO and they also have free wifi and it was right on Route 66.I would plan to stay if I went back thru.

Gadsden,Al

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiglencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived in Holbrook on our journey along Route 66, tired+ dusty, to find an almost derelict looking building. The pool was almost on the Main Street, the bath had little flies in it and every time a train went by the whole room shook. The staff at reception were surly and appeared as if they'd rather be anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ki11eshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were booked into this 'motel' for part of our journey across Route 66. First of all we could not understand why we were stopping in Holbrook at all but went along with the plans anyway, on arrival the motel looks ok, basic but clean appearance. We went into the reception to check in and were faced with one of the most vile, rude and unhelpful women we have ever met, we were given the room keys as she mumbled the door number, no information about the area, no information about breakfast, no information on checking out time, in fact no information at all!! The room itself was very basic, the telephone did not work, fridge was not at all cold, the room door did not open or close without some force, the air conditioning was the loudest I have ever heard, possibly to compete with the sound of trains rushing past constantly. We were only staying here for 1 night so did not bother asking to switch rooms (didn't think the unhelpful lady on the desk would have done much about it anyway). We decided to go to the pool as it was an extremely hot day and there was nothing else around here to do, my husband collected the towels from the reception, on laying them out they were covered in yellow stains and holes. The pool was also filthy, pool side tables and loungers were filthy and the vending machine did not work. We planned to leave as early as possible the next morning, believing there was no breakfast included as it had not been mentioned (probably would not have eaten here anyway as it is so dirty) so got everything ready to go and went to get in the shower, the bathroom wasn't the best to begin with but as I went to turn the shower on I noticed lots of tiny fly/flea looking creatures sitting in the bath, then more all nestled on the towels and more all over the basin and surrounding areas. Most disgusting hotel I have ever seen. Should also mention the dodgy location, lots of druggy looking guys around, we were quite concerned about parking our car here. This hotel should be shut down. Do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJoR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#6 of 18 in Holbrook
1,435 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#2 of 18 in Holbrook
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
3 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 18 in Holbrook
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 18 in Holbrook
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Address: 615 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2849
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range: $62 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the pet friendly Magnuson Hotel Adobe of Holbrook can enjoy a free breakfast, outdoor pool, on site exercise room, and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adobe Hotel Holbrook
Best Western Holbrook
Holbrook Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing