We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned KOA, very friendly and helpful staff, Petrified Forest nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Site was spacefull, nice pool. Would come again. There was a cookout location on the premises with dinner and breakfeast. We tried the all you can eat pancakes (2,99 USD incl. coffee). Eggs or sausages were reasonable. Restrooms were clean in good old KOA standard. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

A few cabins, but mostly RV hookups. Not exactly in a scenic area, but there's a pool and playground and basketball court! Clean bathrooms and showers. AC in the cabins. Beds were comfortable. Picnic tables and a nice porch swing to sit on, but no other chairs. Grill to cook, but no campfire.

Room Tip: Wouldn't try camping in a tent here! It's all gravel! Get the cabin.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Close to (but not too close) the I40, this is a large cinder / gravel KOA which provides what it is supposed to do at a reasonable price. Washing / drying costs $3.50, wifi is free and the signal is strong but sometimes it is so slow as to be unusable, toilets / showers are clean, cable has more channels than is sensible, there is a cinder based play area for children and pitches are not too close together. Check-in was welcoming with useful travel information provided (and generally the staff were very helpful whilst we here here)and we were left to find our pitch (which was not hard). No pitches seem to have any useful shade. The only substantial grass is the area for tents. For the price we paid, we were very content with what we received and in fact we came back for a second night even though there are a number of other RV camps in the area, some of which being slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had reservations at another campground in Holbrook and were horrified at the condition when we arrived so left and looked for a better place. We found it at the Petrified Forest KOA. It is very clean, nice laundry and shower rooms. They serve dinner and breakfast on the premises if you do not want to cook. This campground is convenient to the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. If you are camping in this area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I rated this KOA as average. It is nice and what you expect from a basic KOA but nothing special. The staff is friendly, the bathrooms are clean, but the landscape could use a bit more green. It is very barren in the RV and cabin area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is the perfect location to visit the Petrified Forest. It has been the only one with grass tent sites and we appreciate it a lot. Really clean bathrooms, hookup also for the tents has been appreciated and wifi free. Arriving in the morning you can use it as base to visit the Petrified Forest that will took more o less from 3 to 4 hours, depend how much do you stop along the view points. Also if it close to the highway it is not so noise during the night

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a level site. It is sort of close to the hwy but the noise is very low especially when the wind kicks up in the afternoon. There aren't too many campsites in the area so we used this as our base for petrified forest & painted desert, meteor crater, and old route 66 spots. The manager was very helpful and informative. The wifi worked pretty well but you do need different codes to access it since local neighbors were using it and slowing it down

Room Tip: There is a playground and nice pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katebrymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Address: 102 Hermosa Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2030
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Holbrook
Price Range: $56 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing