We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Easy In/Easy Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Basic KOA. I noticed on their website some company awards but I'm not sure what that's about as this location is pretty basic. There is little shade and standard gravel sites that are narrow. Our trailer site was far from level. The restrooms and showers are well maintained and appear clean although small. The Wi-Fi worked very well although there is a data limit here. They have propane on site for re-fills and the small store is OK. Cable TV is available and work just fine. The full hook-ups presented no problems. The water was and power were fine. This location is easy to find and easy to get in and out of with plenty of room to maneuver. We found the are the park is in to be quiet. While we were there they still had a full breakfast and dinner menu available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdsaundrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this campsite so as to see the Petrified Forest.
Firstly, we didn't realise that the campsite is 22 miles from the Petrified Forest so it would be around a 70 mile trip in the RV to the Forest.
Secondly, the campsite is all gravel with very few trees. We had just come from a beautiful campsite with lots of trees and beautiful hiking just behind it so when we drove into this gravel, flat, tree-less park, we were not that impressed.
After checking in, we decided to drive back 100 miles to Flagstaff and drive down to Sedona as we found the park so depressing.So my review is based on the look of the campsite alone and maybe if we had stayed we may have found some redeeming features.
The service was very friendly during check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently stayed a night at this KOA on our way to the Grand Canyon. We called ahead to see if we needed a reservation for a primitive tent site as the other KOA we stayed at recommended one, however the owner didn't require a reservation and we were able to choose our own site upon arrival. One plus about their tent sites is their convienent picnic table with an overhead pergola roof for some much needed shade. The previous KOA that we camped at had air conditioned bathrooms and I was expecting the same, however they were not and unfortunately there wasn't a fan either, so in the middle of summer it was quite toasty to say the least. We did camp on grass and they did have shade for our tent on a more positive note. The pool was clean and large and helped us cool down after seething up camp in the heat. The campsite was not very busy with a handful of trailers and only one other tent camper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We found the owners at this KOA to be some of the friendliest owners we've met. Not only were they very knowledgeable about the area, they could easily recommend places to see, things to do and places to eat. The cabins were comfortable, air conditioned and a great value. We'd definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imatravelin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent a night at the Holbrook KOA, and found it to be a perfect place to stay. They have all the amenities, Laura (one of the owners) was very friendly and extremely helpful when it came to deciding what to see in the area, and there was an evening barbecue, if you aren't up to cooking dinner. The place was spotless; it's not a National Forest campground, but I don't think it's reasonable to expect that in the middle of the desert! ;-)

We only spent a night here, and wandered down through the Petrified Forest (fantastic - a must see!) and the Painted Desert (beautiful!), then came back to our home on wheels. Considering the fact that we really only spent the night there, it worked great for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We looked at a couple campgrounds in this area but chose this one. We did not feel comfortable staying at a campground that was also a trailer park as the other one we looked at was.

This location was nice and level for our RV and close(about 20 minutes) to the petrified forest. The gentleman that runs this campground was very helpful and nice. We had full hookups and were able to purchase propane here. Close to a few resteraunts and a couple places offer delivery here. I would recommend this campground over the local alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegAndTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We drove in after a long day of driving and were greeted by the friendly staff. We made good use of the clean facilities (showers, laundry). The kids had a great time on the playground. And the food was quite nice -- great to have a break from cooking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBKGwyneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Address: 102 Hermosa Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2030
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Holbrook
Price Range: $56 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing