We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stay in hotels 9 months out of the year. This was my worst experience to date.
Just to sum things up:
The owner was wasted. Not just drunk, three sheets. There were 3 of us checking in at about 8 pm and he couldn't find our reservation. When we finally got checked in, the first room we got was horrific. Dirty, with hair on the beds. It also smelled like something dead. We went back and asked the owner for a different room. He came in and looked at our room and argued with us for awhile. He made some rasict comments and finally gave us a different room. The cops were there on and off all night, and it seemed to involve the owner. At one point he was in the back of the squad car, no clue why. We slept on sleeping bags on top the covers with a chair propped against the door knob since Holbrook in general is a super shady. The next morning when we checked out at around 9 am, the lobby was locked and no one was around. It was weird.
Also there was a large German Shepad wandering around the property. I am not picky, and stay in mom and pop hotels frequently. I am even okay with eccentricities and quirks, but bottom line... Run away!!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank GypsyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've stayed here for a few days, it was the cleanest hotel in the area for a great price. I shopped around and found that Americas best inn was the best choice. If you are in the area, stop here first you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenizdontlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

americas best inn is amazing! i am actually writing this reveiw at the inn! i came 1,520 miles from carthage missouri and the owner wojciech puzio is the coolest guy ive met in a long time. the rooms are clean and comfortable. the tv was playing all my favorite shows and just the service here is completely amazing. i would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's ok clean on the surface. Good thing we took our showers last night. Big glob of hair in the tub drain. My mother found a bug in the bed...not a bed bug but bug nonetheless. Internet is great! lol The night is just getting started.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stopped for a night's rest. Clean, good value for the room. Comfortable Bed. Would stay there again on my way to Scottsdale, AZ. Friendly desk greeting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnySedaliaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is an older 2 story motel with the rooms facing the outdoor parking lot. The breakfast is somewhat small, but it was fine. The service was good. The room was wonderful ( second floor double). The room had all the amenities of a very good room.
If you must stay over in Holbrook AZ ...stay here.

Room Tip: The room was wonderful ( second floor double).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Was not sure what to expect when we drove up we had just come from a horrible hotel in Carlsbad. We were in for a wonderful treat. From the start the owner was amazing and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and had everything our last hotel did not a refrigerator and ironing board. The room was great and I slept like a baby no noise just peace and comfort. The breakfast was great we had donuts. For dinner we went to an ITALIAN dinner down the street. Very good. I would come back to this place over and over and so would my kids and they are hotel snobs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveforlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2211 Navajo Blvd, Holbrook, AZ 86025-1824 (Formerly Gateway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range: $65 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Holbrook
Holbrook Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing