We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Stop”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Stop”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'm into retro Route 66 motels, like the Blue Swallow and Wagon Wheel. I'm adding the Globetrotter to my list. Clean, comfortable, and fun. Young lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Room was large, and Wi-Fi strong. I've read a few complaints about the furnishings and couldn't disagree more. Retro, and added a little fun to the stay. I didn't use the pool but it looked very well kept. I had to leave too early to enjoy the breakfast, but a nice touch.

A breath of fresh air vs. the chain motel I stayed in the night before. I wish the owners continued success, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06MellowYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
309
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having had a four hour drive route 66 and all that, we arrived at 11am. Very tired and very hot we were greeted by the owner. He was not at all pleasant (I will take that back later) and told us we could not book in for another 4 hours.As you may or may not know there is not 4 hours worth of things to do in Holbrook on a very hot Sunday (already having done the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest) If only he had said, you cant have your room yet but please feel free to use the pool, all would have been different. When we returned he was still very off hand but we booked in. The room was decorated beautifully. The pool area was very pleasant but by now to be honest we were not in very good moods and thought about how different the day could have been. The next morning at breakfast the owner was a completely different person. Very chatty and sociable. What a difference a day makes lol

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank search4sun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Yes, ditto on a lot of fellow traveler reviews. Retro for sure and with a lot of places closed down around it, it brings life back to route 66. The couple that own it also have future plans to open a restaurant and to create bigger rooms, suites. My only complaint would be the AC was quite loud in our room...oh, and the frig buzzed, but ear plugs took care of that. Besides that, very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

As the other reviews state, this property is clean, interesting and the owners take obvious pride in their hotel. One owner showed us to our room, and the other chatted with guests at breakfast. This hotel was a welcome break from chain motels and a nice place to stay. It has a retro 60's vibe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZRockhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This review summarizes my two stays in two years at the Globetrotter Inn. The owners continue to provide a clean, comfortable, and friendly home for I-40 and Route 66 travellers in Holbrook. Their artfully appointed rooms greet you with every amenity: firm beds, a walk-in shower with pristine modern fixtures, separate room with a vanity and closet, wifi Internet, cable TV, a refrigerator and coffee service, and a high-tech heating-cooling unit. You will enjoy conversation and a continental breakfast with cereal, eggs, and fresh fruit in their main building. Yearly, I review restaurants and motels in New Mexico and Arizona for a national Route 66 organization, guiding international explorers of the Mother Road to the best places to dine and to stay. In Holbrook, I stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruzin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I booked this hotel based completely on Trip Advisor reviews. But considering the low cost of the room and that it included free breakfast and wifi, I could not bring my self to believe it would be that it would live up to the good reviews.
This little gem has blown me away. The rooms are spacious, include a fridge, newly remodeled and very clean. It has old school charm for sure. If you are passing this way, you MUST stay at least one night at Globetrotter Lodge.

Room Tip: If you do not like the decorations of your room, just request a different room. Each is decorated di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have to say I was a little worried the real thing would not be as good as the pictures. It was better! The owners were gracious and the attention to detail was amazing. I kept looking for something they missed and never found anything. The breakfast was nice and tables were set for guests according to room numbers. It was a short drive from the Painted Desert and Petrified Forrest and a great stop over on our road trip to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing