We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66 Holbrook across from Teepee's”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Poway, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Route 66 Holbrook across from Teepee's”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We found this place on the internet when we were looking for a overnight stay and liked the reviews. The Austrian Owner/Host was very accomodating and professional. We called to alert them of our planned late arrival and they had our room ready for us. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our fears of loud train noises were unfounded and I actually enjoyed hearing the faint train whistles early in the morning. So restful and quiet after a long drive! The breakfast room has tables reserved for each room and we had plenty to eat and we chatted with other guests and the host before we headed out. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: This was reminiscent of overnight stays with my family in the '60's. The room we had was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConductorSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
155
313
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed one night at the globetrotter lodge. Checked in at 3pm by the owner's daughter. She is a little brusque but no offence meant and does not have the charm of her parents.
Excellent room, very clean and lovely wooden furniture. Nice touch having a fridge as well. Bed very comfortable and the shower was perfect. A great shower unit so no steeping into bathtubs.
Breakfast excellent with cereals, fruit, bagels, toast and cold cuts.
The owner is very friendly and genuinely interested in your travels.
He is converting 4 rooms into a suite and another 2 rooms into a family room. He does the work himself Nd it is a real labour of love.
Opening a restaurant next year which will be a blessing for Holbrook as the food is not the reason you stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is one of those motels you will remember - in a GOOD way! As other reviewers have mentioned, it's an older motel which is being lovingly restored by its owners. The rooms have lots of special touches - mine had a bookshelf stocked with books (at least half were in German, the owners' language). I found the bed very comfortable. But the best part was breakfast! I was escorted to my own "reserved" table (with my room number) with real plates and silverware instead of styrofoam and plastic. A fresh pot of coffee on my table and pleasant conversation with my host made my breakfast a great experience. Thanks, and if I'm ever in Holbrook again, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our overnight stay. The Austrian owner made us feel at home. The room was very clean with special details. Excellent breakfast
Do not be fooled with the older looking motel, it worth your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and based on the reviews decided to book here. The room was very spacious and the décor was great. The bed was comfortable but the pillows need to be changed as they were very hard and uncomfortable. Also, no shampoo/conditioner was supplied so if you stay here, make sure you bring your own. The internet connectivity was good. The breakfast provided was great with fresh bakery items and a touch of European with the deli meats and hard boiled egg. The proprietor is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The breakfast area is small and guests tend to talk and get to know a bit about each other which was really nice. It was almost like a bed and breakfast. This is definitely a great place to stay at in Holbrook

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenVOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed one night at the Globetrotter Lodge after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor and had a great stay. The motel is right across the street from the Wigwam Motel, which was the model for the Cozy Cone Motel in the Cars movie. This stretch of Route 66 has several restored motels and restaurants, giving it a retro feel. It is also very convenient to the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. The family room (3 beds) was well restored and updated. The breakfast had a distinctly European feel, with plenty of choices for the continental selection as well as good coffee. The owner was very attentive and loved sharing about our travels and his Austrian homeland. We would definitely stay here if we travel to this part of Arizona again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just returned from a 30 day cross country trip in my car and the Globetrotter Lodge was one of the most pleasant surprises of my trip. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was an added bonus, and the owners were very kind and courteous. I slept with my door open to take in the refreshing Arizona air. I spent the following morning at the Petrified National Park which was also a great stop on my trip. The Globetrotter is a real gem and I'd highly recommend if you are traveling through the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing