We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Visited the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert in February and stayed at the Globetrotter. A charmingly restored old fashioned motel on historic Route 66. Simple but a super clean and comfortable room. Delicious breakfast. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
309
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked this on the recommendations in trip advisor, and was not disappointed. This is an older motel which is kept up very nicely. The room was clean and up to date. With the breakfast included, this felt very much like a B & B. For those looking for a little bit of old time flavor, I highly recommend this motel. Be patient, however, when talking to the owners, their German accents take some getting used to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56tbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked online for a one night stay as part of a roadtrip. This place absolutely exceeded our expectations. The lodge is family owned and is lovingly cared for. Whilst not a new building it is immaculately clean and carefully maintained. There are some quirky appointments which add to the fun. The beds were fine, and breakfast great.
We thought it great value and would certainly revisit shuld we ever be in the location again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

During our recent trip across Northern Arizona, my wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the Globetrotter Lodge in Holbrook. The Lodge is rated as the #1 hotel/motel/lodge in the city and also highly recommended by several of my "Route 66 Guidebooks." For travelers seeking an "Updated Route 66 Experience," similar to ones travelers had in the 1950s and 1960s, the Globetrotter Lodge is a "must stop." Travelers seeking an upscale room with all the amenities of a first-class hotel probably will find their stay at this Lodge less satisfying.

Our room was very similar to ones experienced by travelers on Route 66 in previous decades, but with lots of nice updates. The room included two double beds with comfortable mattresses, a television set, and a refrigerator. Interesting, the sink and vanity were in an open area and separated from the toilet and shower. The room also included a number of Southwest art pieces, bed coverings, and other decorations. We were impressed by and surprised to find a new, brightly colored sink in the bathroom and restored tile from the 1950s(?) in the shower. Obviously, the Hoeller family, owners of the Lodge, have put lots of work into lovingly restoring each of the eleven rooms currently available for travelers.

In the morning we enjoyed a "Continental Breakfast" in an attractively appointed "breakfast eating area." Our breakfast included a variety of hot and cold beverages, freshly made bagels, mini-loaves of raisin bread, and other breakfast items.

For about $65.00, we received a clean room that was very much a "1950s Room," had a delicious "Continental Breakfast," and enjoyed what I describe as an "Updated Route 66 Experience." It was a "Special Stay" for us. For travelers seeking this type experience and a comfortable stay at a reasonable rate in Holbrook, I recommend the Globetrotter Lodge and see why it is rated by TripAdvisor Reviewers as the #1 Hotel/Motel/Lodge in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPGTheATeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
753 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Room was very nice, but heating unit, which was combined with a/c unit never stopped cycling off and on...it would go off for 30 seconds or so, then come back on. Very noisy. Also had to unplug refrigerator since it was loud, as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was a little apprehensive when I made the reservation but that all disappeared on arrival. The proprietors have spent a lot of time and money polishing this jewel and it shows. The room was very clean with much attention to detail. The old feel remained with modern touches. The continental breakfast was excellent and we had a wonderful time chatting with the owner. Sad to see the old highway and surrounding buildings go into ruin. Thank goodness entrepreneurs such as these are trying to preserve the history and feel of a by-gone age.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TechyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The motel from the outside looks like the old motels along rte 66. Holbrook is a town out of the era with much unchanged S of the freeway. The motel was built in the 50's and so far 10 rooms have been updated. Although the bathroom is unique and quite modern, and the room itself was updated, compared to nicer motels, this still does not compare. No closet, few amenities, and a noisy heater/air conditioner unit that did not allow my wife to get any sleep cause me to rate this no better than average. The breakfast area was nice and the host were pleasant, but we would probably travel either to Flagstaff or to Gallup (depending on which direction you were going) to get more modern, new lodgings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing