We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tip of the Hat to a by-gone era on Route 66!”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Central Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Tip of the Hat to a by-gone era on Route 66!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked a rooom for our family of four here, as it was very close to the end of our day at the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert National Park that we toured that afternoon. This is a motel that probably dates back to the 1950's, located on historic Route 66. The owners have taken great care in renovating the rooms, and each room has a different decorative "theme". We had Room Number 2 which is the "Mexico" theme room. There are several older restaurants located nearby - however, we stayed on July 4th, so many were closed for our stay. The complimentary breakfast was nice and we had our own reserved table for our breakfast stay. The owners also have several vintage 1970's automobiles on the property that are for sale. I would defintiely stay here again - a great value!

Room Tip: One of the owners asked me to share that guests book their rooms directly through them and not other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
156
318
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the 2 Time at the Globetrotter Lodge and it was again just Perfect! Very clean, Nice clean fridge(New), coffee machine(New) and the wifi in the room is Working Perfect! The owners were really friendly again, Same as 1 Time! The Pool is the cleanest One, what i saw until now in the hole States!! It was again just awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was a travel agent for over 22 years and can honestly say in all of my travels I never booked a "motel" on vacation. However, when searching for accommodations for our trip to the Painted Desert/Petrified Forest I came across the Globetrotter Lodge. After reading the reviews, we decided to take a chance. We were very surprised at the lovely tasteful accommodations, the excellent service and the extra surprise of a delightful breakfast. Kudos to this family for putting some extra memories to our vacation. PS...If you are far from home and missing your dog ask to pet "Sam" the beautiful Bernese Mountain dog on the property!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived late. Office was already closed, but they left a note on the door to show us how to get into our room and let us check-in the next morning. Our room and bathroom were very nicely decorated and clean. We got our own table for breakfast (If you stayed in room#10, you get table #10). Table was already set for us. Owner was friendly. He chatted with us for a little bit.
I would stay here again if we pass by here again.

Room Tip: Not sure about other rooms. Our room #10 was pretty comfortable with a walk-in closet. Bathroom size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtli1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great 1950's style hotel. Perfect for Route 66. Rooms were very clean with attention to detail. Cute breakfast area set up for each room in the morning. Pool area was well maintained. Owners were very friendly and helpful.
Charlene & Dave. NH

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene8847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We started our honeymoon on May 28th driving a truck while pulling a motorcycle on a trailer. We have been to NM, CO, NE, SD, MN, IA, WI, back to IA, AR, MS, TN, NC, SC, GA, FL, back to GA, MS, TN, and AR, then on to TX, NM and tonight (the last night of our trip) we are in Holbrook, AZ. Even though we are only about 168 miles from home (Dewey, AZ), after reading all the great reviews, we decided to stop early for the night and check out The Globetrotter Lodge.

Making the reservation over the phone was a breeze and when we arrived we were greeted by the owners where we had a nice conversation about being on our honeymoon. When we were shown to our room (#1 with a King bed) we found it to be clean and nicely furnished with a refrigerator, a comfortable bed and a flat-screen TV (they also have free Wi-Fi). We asked for a recommendation for a place to eat dinner and were referred to the steakhouse down the street (which gives you a 10% discount when you mention you are staying at The Globetrotter Lodge). There is a nice pool however we did not use it. There is ample parking and we were able to unhook our trailer/bike along the side of the fenced pool area while we drove around and had dinner.

Upon returning from dinner, we were pleasantly surprised to find waiting for us in our room a bottle of champagne on ice, two glasses and a card congratulating us on our wedding! Peter, Mona and Larissa go the extra mile to make their guests feel welcome. We look forward to tomorrow when we go for breakfast so that we can thank them and hopefully get to visit a little more. The extra personal touches such as our surprise truly make this a delightful and memorable stay amongst the many hotels we have stayed at across the US over the past six weeks and we will definitely recommend The Globetrotter Lodge to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an excellent motor hotel in the great tradition of Route 66. The proprietors - who are very warm and welcoming - have a real feeling for the place and have renovated it in the classical style. There is a great pool, and the rooms have all the necessity's of a modern hotel yet you really really feel as if you have stepped back in time and are travelling America before the Interstates were built.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
94 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing