We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit the bill exactly!”
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fit the bill exactly!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were looking for a nice, clean, relatively inexpensive place to spend the night while seeing the sites - Petrified Forest, Canyon de Chelly - and we couldn't have been happier. The family that runs this place is very nice and accommodating. We got there a bit early but they happily checked us in. The room was large and very clean. No smells or stains of any kind. The king size bed was comfortable. It's not a luxury place but it has a lot of charm. It is located on Route 66 among other historic hotels and buildings. Loved the velvet paintings and decorative sinks. The breakfast was good addition- bagels, donuts, cereal, coffee, tea - and meant we didn't have to waste time getting on the road. Although I didn't use it, the pool looked inviting also. Best of all, the owner tracked us down to return a forgotten phone charger which was exceedingly kind. Fit the bill exactly! P.S. We were tempted by the kitsch appeal of the Wigwam Motel across the street but we were happy that we picked this place instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    154
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
156
318
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
883 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Globetrotter last night after seeing many favorable reviews. This 1950s property was bought 3 years ago by an Austrian family who have already renovated 10 of the units. Despite one review from Oct. 25 that was unfavorable, I found just the opposite to be true. Our king room was clean and neat. Our bathroom had a full tub and shower and a neat deco sink in the bathroom. The bed was clean and comfortable. The circa 1950s tv that served as a table added to the uniques ambiance. There was no room phone, but it was not needed. I always use my cell when I travel anyway. Breakfast was in an intimate setting with a table set and designated for our room. The owner was tending breakfast and we enjoyed our visit with him. Being next to Historic Route 66 there was a bit of traffic but not annoying. My husband enjoyed the glimpses of Austria in pictures and paintings throughout the office area. The Globetrotter really was a treat from the usual hotels and seemed more like a B&B. We plan to stop here again in March when we go to California.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Badgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were traveling and booked a room at this hotel. Though we'd seen several poor reviews, we decided to give it a try, anyway. The breakfast room though small was pretty nice and the furnishings in the lobby pretty impressive, clearly with an Austrian theme. The young girl at check in was also very nice. However when we got to our room, we were shocked to find it poorly maintained. The bathroom so small that two people could not fit in it with the smallest shower we've ever seen. The sink, though artistically crafted was no where near the bathroom, but across the room completely. The double beds were lumpy and old. When I laid down on the beds, there was a very strong odor of urine, or something else extremely unpleasant. Upon asking for another room we were told that none were available. As I refused to stay in the dirty room, we went to the office for a refund. Upon our request a very unpleasant older woman came out who gave us a difficult time. She eventually refunded our credit card, but was quite rude about the entire situation. I'm giving this 'hotel' a poor rating, and that is a high and only for the pleasant young girl at check in and a rather nice breakfast room, though quite small. We were able to find another hotel down the street that had the same AAA rating, which is a double star. Though not ritzy, it was a BIG improvement. Be warned: don't book a room until you see the room you are being assigned.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jehodgkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globetrotterlodge, Owner at Globetrotter Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
I feel very sorry for you. How sad and poor must your life be, when the only joy for you is, to talk bad and Lie about others.
Our rooms are VERY CLEAN,everything is new the beds included and i never NEVER give guests a hard time.

My Life is filled with Love,Joy and many many VERY NICE and SATISFIED guests.

My deepest symphathie

Mona-Globetrotter Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our room was comfortable & colourful, a change from the depressing beige of the bigger hotels. It was a bit DIY but nice not to be giving your money to one of the chains. Not luxury accommodation but the price is modest.
A simple continental breakfast was included.
I didn't notice the trains which are soothing anyway compared to a busy road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Every room has been updated recently and the owners did a great job. Not at all what you would expect from a motel but almost worthy of a romantic bed& breakfast somewhere on the ocean. Free breakfast and free Internet seal the deal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on Tripadviser on our way from Sedona to Santa Fe. It's wonderful! So much better than the chain hotels. Our room was spotless and it had the cutest 50's tv (as decor) and kitsch furniture. The king bed was super comfortable. It looks like a low end strip hotel from the road but this place is a gem inside! The bonus is that you can support small business not the huge chains.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a long, hot drive, we arrived at the well-recommended Globetrotter Lodge. At first glance, we were underwhelmed...............but it turned out to be an oasis! Our room was absolutely immaculate, and the owners' daughter, Larissa, couldn't have been nicer. The room was spacious, with comfortable beds and a great shower. Breakfast was included and we enjoyed fresh bagels (I can't imagine where they got them!) and many different kinds of jams and jellies with fresh coffee in a carafe. The owner is very pleasant and earnest, and they are slowly but surely renovating and bringing this little gem in the desert back to life. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone on the way East toward Albuquerque.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebolbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
94 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Property: Globetrotter Lodge
Address: 902 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Holbrook
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing