We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute!”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just as advertised. Cute and fun! The rooms are small, simple, and clean. We were simply using it to sleep, so it was perfect for us. The kids had fun looking at the old cars and taking pictures in front of the wigwams before leaving in the morning. It's a great hotel for the price. Be aware that the office is only open from 3 to 10.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    336
    124
    48
    37
See reviews for
280
375
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

For kids this is a must, esp, boys. My son enjoyed looking at the old cars. During the summer, a pow wow is held every evening. It is just down the street. The teepee doesn't offer you anything but a bed, bathroom, and tv. However, that is what makes it charming and different.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you are taking a road trip down Route 66, this is a must. It is old, somewhat worn, and in a town that offers little, but what a trip in the past. They have cars of the era sitting in the parking lot to add to the atmosphere. The rooms are tiny, but much more spacious than you would have expected and clean. The shower is a trip all by itself, the walls angle like the teepee, of course. The air conditioner was loud, and the TV was tiny, and there is no wifi. The owner could do some appropriate upgrades and charge more and staying there would even be better. But, what can you expect for less than $100.00. The whole deal of Route 66 is to experience the past, and this is what it does. If you want luxury keep on driving, if you want to "get your kicks on route 66", stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

So I figure you've GOT to sleep in a Wigwam if you have the chance. This is a funky little place that is just adorable. People who are looking for the Ritz Carlton need to keep on driving. People who like adventure and don't mind a little bit of change are welcome. The price is less than $100 for the night - are you really expecting so many amenities?

The room is small, but clean. There was a big crack between the door and the frame so we worried about bugs, but had none. The train comes nearby, but the air conditioner is so loud that you couldn't hear the apocalypse, much less a silly freight train that comes by every 30 minutes (no, I'm not exaggerating!) Our children loved the shower because the head was so low (because of the shape of the wigwam) that it is the only shower they've ever had where the water wasn't pointing in their eyes.

My only complaint is that there needs to be a place in the bathroom to place your stuff - there is only one teeny tiny shelf that won't hold more than my toothbrush and toothpaste.

I believe everyone should stay here at least once if they have the opportunity. If you are a Disney's Cars fan you should MAKE the opportunity - we spent our whole trip quoting lines from Cars. Too much fun!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank pitterpat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If your itinerary is to drive Route 66, you must stay at the Wigwam Motel in Holbrook. Such a Kick! The room was larger than we expected and perfectly comfortable. Loved the funky bathroom with its red and white tile. The old cars added extra atmosphere and it was a perfect photo op around sunset with wigwam shadows, great lighting, old cars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosalieBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is obviously one of the most well known features of Route 66...it features in all the reviews and has to be the most photographed Motel in the World. Unfortunately, as accommodation, it falls quite a bit short of what it should be. The owners should be applauded for keeping such an icon open, but with its’ high occupancy rate (people were being turned away while we were there) it would be so much better if they spent money improving it, and then charged a little more for the accommodation. The only people using the Wigwams are people doing Route 66, and they will always want to stay at this historic venue...but there should be no need to “rough it”. Our Wigwam had a melted area of carpet from the spiral element of a dropped hot plate; it had two air conditioning and one heating unit cluttering the compact room, and everything felt grubby / tacky. The bottom sheet on the bed had a small discolored area on it which we covered with a towel before getting into bed. The tiny shower room needs stripping out as the old tiled shower is hardly inviting. Sorry, this is just not good enough! This is not suggesting spoiling the traditional appeal of “sleeping in a wigwam” in this icon...just a recognition that things need keeping up to date and smart. Carpets wear out, designs for air conditioning units become more compact, bathroom plumbing improves...keeping the spirit of the Wigwams does not mean letting them fall further and further behind current expected standards. Something which they cannot do anything about are the goods trains which run throughout the night just behind the motel. They seem to run every 15 minutes or so, and are so long they take 5 minutes to pass each time...and they have to sound their horn as they approach the crossing! There are many historic and photogenic motels along Route 66 that have been closed down and abandoned...and we would not want to stay in any of those either, so don’t let this go the same way. This goes down as one of those experiences that we will always remember...but sadly not for the right reasons!

Room Tip: Try staying somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodore, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

this was an amazing experience. the room was very clean. it was quiet and lots of families. did not hear any train noise. i felt like lightening mcqueen from the movie cars!!!!!!! lots of old cars to take pics of in the parking lot.

Room Tip: we stayed in lodge number 6. the sign out front says that it is listed on some roster as one of ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ande3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#4 of 17 in Holbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
Lexington Inn - Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#6 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing