We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun experience!”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A fun experience!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We drove 3 hours JUST to see and stay at this motel, so obviously we have a soft spot for places like these, and knew what to expect. The Wigwam motel was just as much fun as we thought it would be - the classic cars, the tipis, the little museum in the motel building and Holbrook! Holbrook is a fascinating place. Like travelling back in time! There's the rock shop with the dinosaurs right down the road and most importantly: Joe & Aggies! If you stay at the Wigwam motel, you MUST eat at Joe & Aggies, made famous in the Disney movie Cars. The family running the place were so charming and eager to tell us all about the history of the café! Joe & Aggies grandson showed us tons of pictures and told us the whole story. We thought it was fascinating and found Holbrook to be a little piece of American history. Now, of course the tipis were not luxury rooms. It was dirty, cold and small - but if you appreciate authentic places and love the whole route 66 story, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nilledk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    345
    129
    49
    39
See reviews for
285
389
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a blast! It's not a five-star hotel, it's a wigwam. The bathroom is tight, but other than that comfortable--how much room can you spare in a wigwam?!? Keep an open mind and you will have a great family memory. By the way, parking next to old cars in the lot made us feel like we were stepping back in time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksugrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved the fun of staying in a wigwam, even if it was a concrete one. The classic cars parked outside make it all very photogenic too. I'd expected it to just be a gimmick, but the rooms were perfectly comfy and fairly well sound-proofed. ...and how many people can say they've stayed in a concrete wigwam anyway?!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fdevalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff with clean teepees. Classic cars parked in front of each wigwam was a nice touch. Price was perfect. You could stay in a chain hotel but I highly suggest the Wigwams. One of the best stays on Route 66.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joesjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gila River, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed the Wigwam Motel. Different from the regular ole chain motels/hotels. Small and quaint, it's an a must experience if traveling Route 66. The front office doesn't open til 3:00 p.m. and check out is pretty easy, just leave your key hanging on the key hook on the door. The water pressure is excellent and the hot water is hot!! The beds are comfy and I loved the heavy pendelton blanket on the bed. I loved the tiled floors throughout the teepee. Be careful though, you can't tell the time of day as the curtains block out pretty much all the outside light. All in all it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PimaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here a while back, last night of a 2 week trip through Arizona before heading out for flight out of Phoenix the next day. Room is very small, so we left luggage in the rental van. Big mistake. Someone broke into the van, rummaged through every suitcase, bag, container and took what they wanted. I've never had any problems travelling, never bothered, nothing ever stolen. Except in Holbrook. Be warned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, shower was hot. The room had everything you would need really. The only downside was been very close to the main railway and this did wake me a couple of times throughout the night. Other than that, i enjoyed my stay. It is what it is, a wigwam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelle_Lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
1,394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#3 of 17 in Holbrook
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#6 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing