We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveler rating
407
385
145
55
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
385
145
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old cars classic cars unique experience take pictures one night tee pee cozy cone wig wam route experience cool place bucket list fun place to stay route history movie cars small museum rooms are small classic route
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a really cute establishment right on a main drag of Holbrook. It was fun staying in a wigwam and checking out all of the old cars and the history in the main lodge. These digs are BASIC, but were clean and comfortable. I would definately recommend staying here at least once . . . for history's sake. Reservations are recommended, as it appeared that all of the wigwams were occupied when we were there.

There is no internet access.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTK_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was a pre booked must do for us as part of our trip. There are only 2 Wigwam Motels on route so quite a unique experience and you should book in advance to save being dissapointed. We booked online and were given a password to say to the receptionist when we got there, which just added to the fun as it was an old indian chief's name. The rooms were very clean, the lady in reception was warm and friendly. The room had a TV, ensuite with shower and all the usual furnishings. There were no coffee making facilities and no breakfast which is in keeping with most Motels of this price but plenty of eat in and take away places nearby. We had a meal in town and take away coffee back at the Wigwam. We had travelled from Chicago so were aware that the railway ran through every town along the way and bought ear plugs (defenders) to cut out the noise, so the proximity of the rail track and the road were not a problem for us but it is something to be aware of. All in all an experience not to be missed and a lot of fun.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WORUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of our Route 66 Honeymoon trip. Resevations are recommended. This place is a route 66 icon and lives up to the hype. The old cars parked outside each wigwan hepls give the place a unique atnosphere. The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny but that does not alter the fact that this is an amazing place that everyone should stay at some point. The owner is friendly and was happy to chat about the history of the Motel and there is a great small museum too. However some of the Wigwams look like they could do with a lick of paint. I did see one getting painted while we were there in early September. There is a railway that runs along the back of the motel, but dont let that put you off. Excellent must stop on a Route 66 trip. Dont expect WI-Fi or a telephone in your room

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardT216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a great place to say you've stayed!
This is not the Ritz, If thats what you want dont stay here pay a lot more somewhere else.
The Wigwams are great and nicely kept as much as possible to how they were meant to be in the 50's.
The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. Reception was really friendly and helpful.
We felt safe in the area and theres a big supermarket just across the road to get any provisions you may need, Eateries and bars not much further. The Pitch for the wigwams is made even better by the cadillacs and vintage vehicles parked outside the wigwams which just add a bit to the quirkiness of the place. The museum in the reception is interesting and the souveniers great.
We all loved it hope to go back one day.

Room tip: We saw 2 and they were both fine
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Unique experience staying at the Wigwam motel. Quite comfortable and very clean and a fun thing to do as part of our Route 66 trip. Would recommend.

Room tip: All near the train tracks so a bit noisy but still a nice experience.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews