We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“route 66 "teepee" experience”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

this was a fun place to stay. a leftover hotel from the 50's and 60's on historic 66. also designated as a national landmark. it has 16 wigwam shaped individual hotel rooms. Scattered throughout the parking lot were old classic cars from the 50's, 60's and 70's. the rooms obviously are older but are exceptionally clean, freshly painted, and the beds are very comfortable. the bathroom is small but that did not take away from the whole experience.
check in was easy and the girl was very friendly.
the train runs behind the hotel but did not bother us at all and our room was along the back of the lot.
if you get the chance and are in the area, stay for the fun and the experience. it was a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liznurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 963 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a really cute establishment right on a main drag of Holbrook. It was fun staying in a wigwam and checking out all of the old cars and the history in the main lodge. These digs are BASIC, but were clean and comfortable. I would definately recommend staying here at least once . . . for history's sake. Reservations are recommended, as it appeared that all of the wigwams were occupied when we were there.

There is no internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTK_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was a pre booked must do for us as part of our trip. There are only 2 Wigwam Motels on route so quite a unique experience and you should book in advance to save being dissapointed. We booked online and were given a password to say to the receptionist when we got there, which just added to the fun as it was an old indian chief's name. The rooms were very clean, the lady in reception was warm and friendly. The room had a TV, ensuite with shower and all the usual furnishings. There were no coffee making facilities and no breakfast which is in keeping with most Motels of this price but plenty of eat in and take away places nearby. We had a meal in town and take away coffee back at the Wigwam. We had travelled from Chicago so were aware that the railway ran through every town along the way and bought ear plugs (defenders) to cut out the noise, so the proximity of the rail track and the road were not a problem for us but it is something to be aware of. All in all an experience not to be missed and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WORUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of our Route 66 Honeymoon trip. Resevations are recommended. This place is a route 66 icon and lives up to the hype. The old cars parked outside each wigwan hepls give the place a unique atnosphere. The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny but that does not alter the fact that this is an amazing place that everyone should stay at some point. The owner is friendly and was happy to chat about the history of the Motel and there is a great small museum too. However some of the Wigwams look like they could do with a lick of paint. I did see one getting painted while we were there in early September. There is a railway that runs along the back of the motel, but dont let that put you off. Excellent must stop on a Route 66 trip. Dont expect WI-Fi or a telephone in your room

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a great place to say you've stayed!
This is not the Ritz, If thats what you want dont stay here pay a lot more somewhere else.
The Wigwams are great and nicely kept as much as possible to how they were meant to be in the 50's.
The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean. Reception was really friendly and helpful.
We felt safe in the area and theres a big supermarket just across the road to get any provisions you may need, Eateries and bars not much further. The Pitch for the wigwams is made even better by the cadillacs and vintage vehicles parked outside the wigwams which just add a bit to the quirkiness of the place. The museum in the reception is interesting and the souveniers great.
We all loved it hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: We saw 2 and they were both fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Unique experience staying at the Wigwam motel. Quite comfortable and very clean and a fun thing to do as part of our Route 66 trip. Would recommend.

Room Tip: All near the train tracks so a bit noisy but still a nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I agree completely with what everyone else has said about this atmospheric stop-over - (smallish but clean rooms, slightly faded at the edges etc.). It was our second night on a road-trip around northern AZ (from the UK) and was one of the highlights. The reception was very friendly and welcoming.
Waking up at dawn and taking photos of the vintage cars around the car-park on a cool, bright Arizona morning while the adjacent section of Route 66 slowly came alive and the super-long freight trains rattled by in the background was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbrook hotels
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Holbrook
Travelodge Holbrook
#6 of 17 in Holbrook
1,429 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Holbrook
Days Inn Holbrook
#2 of 17 in Holbrook
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Holbrook
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Holbrook
Howard Johnson Holbrook
#10 of 17 in Holbrook
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Holbrook
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn - Holbrook, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 811 W Hopi Dr, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2853
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range: $48 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing