We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveler rating
406
382
144
55
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
382
144
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old cars classic cars unique experience take pictures one night tee pee cozy cone wig wam route experience cool place route history bucket list fun place to stay movie cars small museum rooms are small classic route
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stopped here on my way to Petrified Forest NP. A little run down but maintained. Smallest bathrooms I ever saw but that is because of the shape of the room, like a traffic cone. Old cars in the parking lot added a bit of interest, too. This isn't for someone that needs to eat in the same places when they travel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The WigWam Motel built in the late 40's to early 50's have been kept up nicely but does not have the most spacious room on the route, but one must remember they were not built for comfort but necessity back in the day. Obviously they were built in the shape of a Tee Pee to help draw attention and are very unique. Yes, if you are tall you will have to bend down some to shower as the shower head is set more for someone 5ft 7" someone over 6" like myself to see in the mirror as the mirror is attached to the wall at the angle of the Tee Pee you will have to bend down a little. Other then that, the Tee Pee's are a neat, clean, quiet and cool place to stay. Kids will for sure love to stay here. I have reserved 3 Tee Pee's at one time for my family during our trip out West. Anytime I get into Holbrook, AZ. I stay at the WigWam Motel. For you movie folks and fans of Lou Diamond Phillips, Tee Pee #12 was used in the movie "Dark Wind" with Lou Diamond Phillips. The office was also used and can be seen in the movie.
It is true they have no cafe on the grounds, but there are a few in town that are worth the visit. They also do not have Internet or phones in the Tee Pee's which is not a problem unless you are the spoiled one that needs these ammenities. I for one can get by one or two days without having to get email or talking on a phone. They do have TV's and AC basic accomodations and very inviting on the hot summer days in AZ. Your kids will be talking about this stay for a very long time. A stay here makes nice memory's for years to come and I recommend you experence a night in a WigWam
Bill from Michigan

Room Tip: Any room is good. They all look the same so it really don't matter what one you stay in, unless you want to stay in the room that was used in "Dark Wind" and visited by Lou Diamond Phillips. Yes, Lou was sitting inside #12 WigWam.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Yes, it is kitschy. But it is irresistible and it is fun (and cleaner and bigger than you would think, too). Loved the old cars and trucks strewn around the parking lot. If you have half a sense of humor, or you have kids, stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank On-the-road79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is a hoot! There were lots of Europeans staying here to catch a flavor of old Route 66, which it has in spades. It is clean, cheap and had reasonably comfortable beds - no room service, holistic spas or restaurants at this place. I did wake during the night when freight cars went by on the railroad tracks nearby, but no one else in my family heard them. It was a small price to pay for all the fun we had staying here. Talk about kitchy!

We loved the old cars and as for staying in a Wigwam, that speaks for itself. There's a great place for breakfast just down the road called Joe and Aggies Cafe, even the waitresses were characters. www.joeandaggiescafe.com

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank sunnyflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Have been here many times and love it's character. Each person/family has their own wigwam and inside it's not fany. Decorated in southwest decor, log beds. bathroom is teeny with stand up shower but it is to be expected due to shape. There is an old refurbished car in front of each wigwam so its like you have gone back in time. Kids LOVE it. It's just so different. It's price is very affordable and perfect for a night before or after Grand Canyon if that's where your heading. It has been in the same family since built so lets keep them in business!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews