We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room & property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park

Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Happy Jack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“room & property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stated Happyjack Lodge many many times. The park is always immaculate. The staff is friendly and helpful. I've enjoyed the food, especially their new beer. Most recently my wife and I stayed two nights in one of the suites, it was awesome.

Sincerely Jack and Maureen Sprague.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Jack and Maureen, thanks so much for sharing your experience at Happy Jack Lodge & RV. Most of our guests come back over and over again, and we're grateful that you enjoy it here. Thanks, too, for mentioning our house beer, Happy Jack Logger. We think its fruity taste provides a refreshing option for our Arizona summers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
29
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willits, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

When we made our reservations we were not told there would be NO Air Conditioning. I had my 93 year old, WWII, pearl Harbor surviving father with me. There was a gas operated fireplace that had a LARGE pilot light in it and it was producing heat just like the fireplace was turned on. When asked if they would turn it off the answer was no and if we do it we would be asked to leave! So there we were in 100+ degree heat with a heater on in ALL of our rooms. Make note there is NO DIFFERENCE between a suite and a cabin. The prices were different but the layout was the same. The cabins had small beds in them where the suites had only 1 bed .... big difference huh? The staff was the most unfriendly staff we had EVER come across. Never mind the no refund policy when we had friends and family who thought there would be A/C falling out like flies. The refusal was adamant and rude! I wouldn't recommend this place if it were under water and the entire rest of the world was on fire! The basketball court was run down and in need of repair which I did myself because we couldn't get the inept staff to repair it. We rented the RAMADA .... it is a freakin pavilion and that is all. We rented tables for the occasion which was filthy when delivered. When we asked them to clean them they sent an inept person with a wet white towel that had grease and oil on it ..... yes grease and oil like from a car ..... When I explained we didn't want to move the dirt around and add grease he got upset and rude. He later returns with a nasty attitude and shows me the orange cleaner and after a wipe or two he says ..... See it didn't do any good to get a clean towel because this one is dirty now. WHAT??? EVERY facet of this facility and inept staff was substandard and felt like it was also underhanded! The only thing that saved this family reunion was FAMILY! Please, please if you want to have a nice time while in Happy Jack Arizona then stay away from The Happy Jack Lodge! We nick named it the sad sack concentration camp. We used the towels in our room the night we arrived. The next day we figured those towels would be replaced with clean ones. They were not. We asked this inept staff to replace our towels on the second full day there. They did but they ONLY replaced half of them and did not bring the correct number of towels for the number of guests in each room. This happened for all rooms rented by our 80ish member family.

Room Tip: If you want a good room ..... Go somewhere they have good rooms ..... That is NOT at Happy Jack Lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1961WilliamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
While we appreciate all comments and constructive criticism regarding our property, in this instance, we feel strongly that we need to set the record straight. This family member's comments are in direct contradiction to the comments we received from their other family members and the reunion's organizer. The reunion organizer assured us that next year's reunion will, once again, be at Happy Jack Lodge & RV and will not be available to these distant relatives who caused much conflict during their stay.

There is no doubt that we were in the midst of the hottest weekend ever recorded in Northern Arizona during this family's stay . Their family, as well as all others, were notified that we do not have air conditioning in any of our cabins or suites. Happy Jack Lodge & RV is at 7,224 elevation. The nighttime lows were in the high 40s and low 50s. Air conditioning is usually not warranted in Happy Jack because of our consistently pleasant temperatures.

Our suites are approximately twice the square footage of our cabins. William rented a room for four people and went through 16 towels a day. He was allowing family members who were not staying at the lodge to shower, cook, and abuse our services.

William and his immediate family tried to scam Happy Jack Lodge & RV out of services they didn't pay for. In an effort to get services, they went as far as to have a woman claim she was pregnant and needed medical attention. The paramedics called confirmed that she was not pregnant.

The staff at Happy Jack Lodge & RV is troubled any time one of our customers is unhappy. We have a following of devoted customers and an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. The reality is that we can’t make everyone happy. But we sure try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stored my trailer up there , my debit card was charged without my permission , had a friend did not get any of his deposit back after he cancelled his reservations, stay away from this place at all cost , I will never set foot on this property again nor will any of my friends and I will let every one I meet know a out it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colgar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We believe we know who wrote this review, and we will call him Chris. He has written negative reviews about our business on several websites without grounds. Chris came to us over two years ago to store his RV and signed a contract, agreeing to our terms for storage. When his account become delinquent, we tried to work with him several times but were unsuccessful. We're sorry to report that we have had to take legal action because of his lack of payment for services performed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at Happy Jack Lodge for a number of years. We have a 40' motor home and plenty of space fore motor home, tow car and camp fire. Its a great place to bring folks to stay in one of the cabins. Beautiful country and lots to do around there. The employees at Happy Jack have always gone out of there way to take care of you and make your stay a great memory.

Mick

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Mick, thanks so much for taking the time to tell others about your experience over the years at Happy Jack Lodge & RV. It's folks like you that make our park what it is. We will miss seeing you this year, but we look forward to your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a property that has a lot to say in its favor. It's well located in northeastern Arizona, has a decent restaurant (although with a limited menu), and is generally well maintained and attractive. The staff are polite and helpful. However, my cabin had a significant issue - while relaxing and watching some TV before bedtime, a bedbug crawled up onto the pillow. Given the lack of a 24-hour staff, I ended up sleeping across a couple of dining chairs, using the towels as bedclothes. When I reported the problem the next morning, the response was (at least) underwhelming - no sympathy, no apology, and barely an acknowledgement of my concern. Not one word that made me feel I was a valued customer.

Any property can have this problem (or others) - how they respond is their real measure. In this, the Lodge did NOT measure up to my expectations, and I can't recommend them.

Room Tip: Bring an RV or tent - the cabins are pricey and potentially a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SleipnirsRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
SleipnirsRider, thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities and our staff. We are so sorry that you felt your cabin had a bug issue. Please know that we had all cabins serviced and inspected in March by a professional exterminator and "bug doctor." At that time, no bed bugs were found. After receiving your complaint, we scheduled an additional inspection of our cabins, and the exterminator found nothing of concern.

We intermittently have "hatches" of various insects on the property because of our location in the deep forest. At the time you were here, there was a cedar gnat hatch that was blown in from the south.

Thank you so much for calling this situation to our attention. Because of the concerns you expressed, we scheduled the additional inspection and can feel confident that our guests will not have the same concern you did. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Regards,
Jan James
Happy Jack Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We rented a RV space for one month last summer. We loved the park, the caretakers, and our neighbors. We are now renting a RV space for 4 months this summer. There is so much to do in this area that can be done through day trips. In addition, it is 20 degrees cooler than the Phoenix area!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Vicki S, we’re so glad that your stay last summer was such a great one that you’ve become a part of our Happy Jack Lodge “family” this summer! Thank you for your appreciation of our park , our people, and the surrounding area. We hope that your stay with us this year exceeds all your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the RV Park and we've had zero issues with them. Love the area and we didn't have any issues with the site where we stayed. It's nice, too, to be able to connect right to the sewer vs having a dump station.

We stayed this past time for our son's elk hunt and the front desk guy (owner) was very helpful in giving us tips for where to go and also info on motorcycle routes. Daughter and I used the loft area to access the wireless, as well. It's a very nice, quiet space up there to get studying done.

Considering where this RV park is located, we found the store prices to be very reasonable.

We'll go back, for sure.

Room Tip: There are some pull through RV spots, such as spots 1-7, at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcbsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyJackLodge-Jan, Public Relations Manager at Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
kcbsmommy, thank you so much for your terrific comments about Happy Jack Lodge & RV! We hope that you make us a regular stop in your vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Happy Jack
21.7 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park

Property: Happy Jack Lodge & RV Park
Address: MP 292.5, Lake Mary Road (FH3), Happy Jack, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Happy Jack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Happy Jack
Number of rooms: 177

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing