We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greer Mountain Resort Brown Cabin 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greer Mountain Resort Brown Cabin 6”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Rented through Molly Butler Lodge and Cabins over recent New Years holiday.
- Cabin is a double wide trailer.
- No linens for hide-a- bed.
- Old and uncomfortable furniture.
- Gas fireplace stopped working on first night.
- Needs a good cleaning to remove spider webs.
- Bedroom was too warm while living area was cold due to poor air flow.
- Unacceptable response to complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    2
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We rented a cabin in the beginning of January from the Molly Butler Lodge, we received our receipts from Molly Butler lodge and Greer cabin keepers, so I assume they are one and the same. The cabin was a four bedroom "hillside hideway." The Pros: The cabin had WIFI and the kitchen was clean and well stocked with cooking supplies. The TV in the main room was nice and had good reception. We enjoyed the fireplace and the picture windows in the living room. The view and location were nice. It is tucked in the pines on a hill. The couch in the main room was clean and looked relatively new. The downstairs bathroom was clean looked like it had been recently updated. The Cons: The bedding and beds were awful, the bedspreads looked and felt like the were the originals from the 60's, Thin, faded, and crunchy. The foam pillows were terribly uncomfortable. The website did not show pictures of all the bedrooms, so that should have been a red flag. When we got there, there was a note from the housekeeping that there were extra towels in the dryer. There were 27 towels in the dryer! They were still wet because so many were jam packed in the dryer. We were skiing during the day so, in the evenings I had to pull out the towels to dry our own items, then do two more loads of drying to get them all dry and folded, it was a pain and It scared me if this is how the housekeeping did the rest of the laundry.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank braynpayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Where to start? My family and I were scheduled to check in on the 26th. We arrived at 1 pm, check in time being 2 pm. I check in not really concerned or worried if we had to wait til the 2pm check in time and was told that the cabin (Whispering Pines) had not been cleaned yet and it would probably be another 30-60 min. No worries. So My family and i just decided to drive around and see what the cabin looked like. It was a good thing the cabin wasnt ready because it took us at least and hour and 15 min to get up to it because of snow and ice. So finally its around 230 and we assume its been enough time and someone was nice enough to plow the drive way for us, we headed up to the cabin to find it locked. We were told it was supposed to be open. However we found out it had never be cleaned. So a cleaning crew scrambles to get to the cabin to clean and invite us in while they clean. Mind you we had two very small children with us. They cleaned for maybe an hour and not very thorough. It looked as though they hadn't changed the linens just remade the beds. After they left we immediately was all our bed linens so we can actually use them(whole day lost). However, no laundry detergent.(oh and no propane for the grill either.) Day no problems worth mentioning. Became frustrated with the whole ordeal and left a day early. Front desk girl said the manager could do nothing to help us and give no refund. (never asked for one, an apology would have been nice since in their own contract it states check in time is 2pm). Basically said it was our fault that we "insisted that we go up to the cabin at check in time" Dont stay here. Cant in good conscious recommend this to anyone. The cabin and area itself our nice, but the customer service ruined it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AzFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayjnel, General Manager at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi AzFoodSnob,

We do whole-heartedly apologize that you arrived to find that your cabin was not adequately clean. Your trip coincided with one of the biggest snow storms of the season. While this weather is great for folks looking to play in the snow, unfortunately it did set our cleaning crew behind schedule that day. That said, we can assure you that the linens were absolutely changed. Our cleaning crew stripped the old ones, put on new ones, and took the dirty ones back to our on-site laundry facility.

Our staff truly did their very best to accommodate you—even plowing the cabin driveway again to accommodate your vehicle. I am sure you can see why we encourage all of our guests staying at this cabin to travel in a 4-wheel-drive vehicle.

You see, all of our cabins are truly unique, and in different locations throughout Greer and the surrounding woodlands. When guests select a cabin in a location that requires 4-wheel drive, it’s strongly recommended in our contract for this cabin and emailed to you with your confirmation (it’s also posted on our website home page). We’re sorry if you did not have access to this type of vehicle for your trip, but we truly did our best to help make the cabin safer and easier for you to access. In addition, we assure you that if you had informed us that you did not have propane, we would have quickly remedied the situation! A phone number for our office is posted in the Welcome Letter inside each and every cabin.

So while we empathize with you, it is our policy that we cannot issue refunds for early departures or weather-related issues, which is also stated in our contract and online on our website. We do hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate to you our warm and responsive hospitality in the near future. We have so many families that return year after year to enjoy all that Greer and the White Mountains have to offer!

Sincerely,

Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Johnson River Retreat which is an amazing place in Greer. The owner of the place is such a nice person as well as all the people we met from Molly Butler. We would certainly recommend to go there. The cabin is spacious and beautiful and the property with the river full of trout in the back is a really relaxing place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed at the river edge cabin and cottage enjoyed both alot.will go back again and again.I think it is MUCH better for the price than greer lodge resort. greer.We go to greer every year from now on i am using greer cabin keepers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniew4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Johnson River Retreat and it was the most beautiful place on earth. The cabin itself was remarkable and words can't even describe how must room there was. The river behind was so calming and relaxing. This is a must place to stay and I would definitely recommend it and hopefully can return sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan J, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the review, Barb! We hope to see you back soon! And make sure you stop by Molly Butler Lodge’s Restaurant next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Creepy old Bates Motel. Expected Janet Leigh in shower but only found insects. Has not been updated since early 1950s and this is NOT a good thing. One good thing: nice towels. Second good thing: uhhhh, nothing.
Website description is a fairy tale

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddybauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greer
0.9 mi away
The Greer Peaks Lodge
0.9 mi away
Little Colorado Cabins
0.7 mi away
The Aspens Cabins
The Aspens Cabins
#7 of 9 in Greer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lazy Trout Motel
Lazy Trout Motel
#1 of 2 in Greer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunrise Inn
0.2 mi away
Greer Lodge Resort & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins

Property: Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins
Address: 109 Main Street, Greer, AZ 85297
Location: United States > Arizona > Greer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Greer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque mountain village of Greer, Arizona, The Historic Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins is the oldest continually operating lodge in the state of Arizona and has entertained many famous guests and U.S. presidents. It’s founder, Molly Butler, was truly the stuff of legends—hardy, self-reliant, and generous with a spunky enthusiasm for frontier life that was endearing and contagious. Today Molly’s is committed to carrying on the legacy of genuine hospitality engrained by its namesake, offering visitors award-winning dining, a wide variety of comfortable lodging and cabins (sleep 2 to 18), and a year round calendar of events that translates into lots of good old-fashioned fun for couples, friends and families! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Butler Hotel Greer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing