We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cousin Reunion - July 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cousin Reunion - July 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family had a reunion in June 2012. It was originally planned in June 2011 but due to a very large wildfire that threatened the Greer area it needed to be postponed for a year.

Molly Butler's worked with us to reschedule the reunion and even gave us a credit for the next year.

We had a picnic dinner on Friday night, a full course dinner in their dining room on Saturday and a brunch on the porch on Sunday. Everyone thought the food and service was fantastic. Everyone at Molly Butler's was very friendly and helpful and wanted to make sure we had a great time.

I would highly recommend Molly Butler's. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    2
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Loved the food in the restaurant/bar; wait staff/bartender/kitchen more than helpful. Extremely unimpressed with our room location and maid service--located at exit of bar/restaurant, which is the smoking area. With no A/C, closing the window (had no screen) problem for comfort in summer. Also gave us wrong room (#2 not #3)--other tenants accidentally walked into our room on arrival; no maid service early in afternoon, though told them we were leaving in 20 minutes; no in-room coffee; no phone; no one around for assistance in AM; 10AM checkout is way too early. Will never stay there again! but will definitely dine there again.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances rent rooms #2 or #3---they are right at the bar and restaurant exit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayjnel, General Manager at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi There,

Thanks to the review you have submitted we have made some changes at Molly's! Our rooms are right off the bar, so there really isn't a lot we can do about the busy nights noise but - we did install solid doors, coffee makers, hair dryers and an array of other amenities to hopefully quiet them down and make them more pleasant to stay in for our guests! We have also moved our smoking area to the other side of the bar so to prevent any smoke or noise making by our bar patrons near the rooms. Thank you for helping us to better our business and guest experience!

Sincerely,

Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Greer Cabin Keepers was the perfect get-a-way for our mini family vacation back in June. The weather was perfect, the scenery, breathtaking, and the actual cabin, the perfect spot along the side of one of the mountains on an acre of land...plenty of room to stretch out, play ball, cook in the kitchen and enjoy family time. The cabin was fully furnished, a full kitchen, plenty of towels and sheets, and of course it even came stocked with some games!

It was nice to feel like we were camping, but at the end of the day you could come home, shower, make a nice meal, and relax by the fireplace.

I'm excited to make Greer and cabin camping part of a yearly family trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagar, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

June 2oth my wife and i celebrated 50 awesome years of marrige......we decided to go with friends and family to molly butlers lodge for prime rib dinner which they are known for............we loved the view and the atmosphere but the food left much to be desired. i ordered prime rib rare and when it arrived it was grilled and unedible. i questioned the waitress and she said that was the way it had to be done..................please I am a cheif by trade and that by no means was how it is prepared. I again asked about the food and was told that there was nothing they could do. So 175$ later with no satisfaction I am letting everyone I know to avoid Molly Butlers at all costs. The food is crap and the customer service is crappier. In the economic times we have now I would think they would have at least offered a redo or incentive to come back. There was nothing of the sort. Greer has a rich history and I hope that it doesnt get a bad rap for the crap that was served last night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roger z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We are truly sorry to hear that you were upset about your recent dinner here, especially on your 50th anniversary. We always strive to give our guests an outstanding dining and service experience. In fact, as soon as we received your complaint we reviewed the issue internally and your server from that evening genuinely tried to make sure your meal was prepared to your satisfaction. However, we take your feedback seriously, and would like to offer you a sincere apology if we fell short in any way. If you'll give us the chance, we would like to make it right. We're saddened that you declined our manger's offers that evening to provide a free dessert for all three of you and a gift certificate, but the offer still stands.

If you would please provide us with your address, we would love to send you a gift certificate so that you will come back and give us another chance to win you over with our award-winning prime rib (we always get rave reviews) and our genuine White Mountain hospitality. We hope to hear from you soon!

Congratulations on fifty years!

-Allan Johnson, Owner, Molly Butler Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you are driving south on Highway 373, look for a fire station and immediately after you cross the fire station there is a very small dirt road on the right (CO 1014). The cabin is on the right side of the dirt road. Its all wood ! Very cozy. There are 3 bedrooms on the upper level and one makeshift bedroom on the lower level. A couple of flat screen TV's with Dish TV. Also, this cabin is loaded with magazines and books of varied interests and videos for kids. There is a grill outside and the views are awesome and weather is simply amazing. I recommeded not to switch on the tv and just enjoy the stay. The Cabin has huge decks on each floor/level and also a gas grill on the lower level. Please dont be under an assumption that there is a huge river near the cabin. i consider the so called river as a small creek. Also, Mollys butler lodge does not have any bike rentals or anything. So stay at the cabin with friends.. a lot of BBQ and chat !
I'll update the pics soon. Have fun.

Room Tip: Pershings is an absolutely fantastic cabin managed by Mollys Butler Lodge. Highly recommended for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HYKE_HYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We rented the Sargent's Hacienda in Greer, AZ. My husband and I wanted to spend some quality time with our son, his wife and their 4 kids. They live in Buckeye and we are from So. Calif. We all wanted to go to the mountains for some cool weather. The Hacienda fit our need perfect. It is a 5 bedroom, 3 bath with a game house. The kids love it and so did we. We brought our own food so one morning my husband walked into the kitchen and was so suprised. Our daughter-n-law was at the table cutting up potatoes for potato salad for that evening and I was at the table cutting up potatoes for breakfast. Yes, we had great family time. The two king beds were in different parts of the house where you couldn't hear much noise if any and with 4 kids that is a big plus. We would stay there again if we make the trip back up there. Oh, and deer were in the neighbors back yard one evening. A whole heard. We even saw an elk out in the meadow.

Room Tip: Great location with lots of room off the street and a view. You can take bikes too, the area is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Greer for New Year's a few weeks ago and had such an amazing time. We stayed at one of Molly Butler's cabins and made the lodge our main hang out. We were very impressed with how perfect everything was. Our cabin was absolutely gorgeous, the food was AMAZING (you HAVE to try the chef's specialty carrot cake...WOW) and the service was even better. Their New Year's party was sooo much fun. We were not expecting such a fun party in such a little town! I am surprised by the negative reviews below, we couldn't have asked for a better weekend. It was a great place to relax after snowboarding all day. Definitely coming back before the season is over, and according to locals the summer is even better! =)

Room Tip: They have tons of cabins to choose from, but since it was just the two of us we chose a smaller cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmawalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greer
0.9 mi away
The Greer Peaks Lodge
0.9 mi away
Little Colorado Cabins
0.7 mi away
The Aspens Cabins
The Aspens Cabins
#7 of 8 in Greer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lazy Trout Motel
Lazy Trout Motel
#1 of 2 in Greer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sunrise Inn
0.2 mi away
Greer Lodge Resort & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins

Property: Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins
Address: 109 Main Street, Greer, AZ 85297
Location: United States > Arizona > Greer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Greer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque mountain village of Greer, Arizona, The Historic Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins is the oldest continually operating lodge in the state of Arizona and has entertained many famous guests and U.S. presidents. It’s founder, Molly Butler, was truly the stuff of legends—hardy, self-reliant, and generous with a spunky enthusiasm for frontier life that was endearing and contagious. Today Molly’s is committed to carrying on the legacy of genuine hospitality engrained by its namesake, offering visitors award-winning dining, a wide variety of comfortable lodging and cabins (sleep 2 to 18), and a year round calendar of events that translates into lots of good old-fashioned fun for couples, friends and families! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Molly Butler Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Butler Hotel Greer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing