We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced average food”
Review of Mac's Pub and Patio - CLOSED

Mac's Pub and Patio
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced average food”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

One of a few local restaurants serving dinner in the area. The food is alright, nothing special, except the prices. There a better values in Green Valley. Make sure you get there early, before the karaoke starts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    25
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have eaten here a few times with friends the food has always been good, great atmosphere. During lunch time we could easily hear everyone at the table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“INCONSISTENT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Mac's is a pub so obviously the food is pub food. At times it is good but unfortunately service and food can be very inconsistent. We've been there when things have gone well and we've also had visits that were less than stellar. For example, their onion soup can be very good but twice it has come out with very burnt cheese on top. No one noticed that before serving? We've also had times when service was very slow at lunch even if there were only a few tables filled. At first, we thought the inconsistent service and food were because they were new but the issues are still happening. It's unfortunate because it is so convenient but we're going there less and less since we just don't know what to expect any more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanb1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very good food. Great service. Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a delightful surprise to find such friendly service combined with very good food in a pleasant pub atmosphere. From the owner to the staff opening the door for us as we left, we enjoyed great service! I was surprised to find such a nice spinach salad on the menu at a Pub. It was a large size garnished with a hard boiled egg and bits of bacon, etc. Others in our party ordered the liver and onions and said it was among the best liver they had had, tender with lots of onions and a bit of bacon garnish.
The description of the deserts tempted us, so we ordered a slice of bourbon pecan pie. Yum! It tasted freshly made with a flaky pastry and a delicate bourbon accent to the pecan filled filling. As a former foods judge at fairs, this was an A for sure.
We look forward to a return visit to Mac's Pub and Patio. Such a nice addition to the choices of restaurants in Green Valley.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“They try”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Heard good things about the place. Went there once to check it out and came back another time to try the fish and chips. Outdoor patio is nice, escapes the TVs. They try ryi to be a bit upscale but don't make it. Fish and chips were good - not great. A bit pricey

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mntransplant2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Pub and Patio also viewed

Green Valley, AZ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing