We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gourmet food, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olives Bistro

The Olives Bistro
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Green Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great gourmet food, pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Totally delicious food, with great attention to detail and presentation. Pricey, and small portions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cmhenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
219 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best greek salad in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Heard a lot about the restaurant and decided to try it along with some friends. The food was delicious, including the best greek salad. The wait staff was unfortunately not so good. One of my friends asked for a couple of things removed from his sandwich and was told, no. That is the way the sandwiches are prepared! When he asked for another sandwich he has told, no. There was a group (it was 11:45) and they had ordered all the french dip sandwiches in the restaurant.

We understand running out of things or being unable to customize a meal, however the first words out of the waiter were NO; an apology was not offered and his attitude was condescending. I will probably return to the restaurant because of the good food, but I honestly hope for a much better attitude.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute little place with tiny tapas.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good ambience,good service. However...we went for dinner on a Friday. Restaurant closes at 7 which is way too early even for Green Valley. Food was adequate, but not as good as we hoped since its owned by the.family who owned Solaris. Tapas were tiny for $10. Extremely limited menu. There were 6 of us. Probably will not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently found our new favorite place for lunch, Olives Bistro on the east side of I-19 off Continental. Tiny with 22 seats so a bit close seating, wonderful staff, Matthew and Kimberly took great care of us. The food is excellent. This restaurant has morphed from several other places in Green Valley, Az....one being Solaris by the movie theatre which they left for ....whatever reason...can't wait to go back for tapas and wine after 3 pm.. They are open for lunch and dinner til 7 pm. Yes, Green Valley folks dine early.
Open Tuesday through Saturday. Check out their website and see the menu and specials, theolivesbistro.com. You will be so happy you did!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nina19912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Read Diane H's Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

All of Diane's comments are all valid; infuriatingly so. The waitstaff and kitchen crew should both tone down their volume and, for the latter, stop being so aggressively "friendly". Just wait on me, professionally and warmly, but you are not my friend. Stop continuously coming to the table and interrupting our conversation. Is the owner aware of how sound travels in that little restaurant?

When we two couples, restaurant guests, realize we have been, at first, but not for long, humorously, counting the errors in service, something has got to be wrong, and it was not with us.

The various dishes were OK if paltry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Voyaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olives Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Olives Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing