We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Service and Management Going Downhill...”

Tomo Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #22 of 136 Restaurants in Goodyear
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in the summer of 2007. Tomo Japanese Cuisine is family owned and operated. We have serving high quality food that is always made a la menu. We added a full bar to the restaurant with an asian fusion cocktail menu along with a great variety of wine and cold sakes. We invite you and your family to come to our restaurant and see why we are #1 sushi restaurant in goodyear arizona. Thank You once again!
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
“The Service and Management Going Downhill...”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

So sad. Have been going to Tomo Sushi for YEARS. We go probably several times a month. Have "recruited" several families who also love it. It WAS great, now horrible.

The food is still great....unbelievable freshness for the middle of the desert. But the service, particularly the managers, his horrible. They just do not care about servicing the customers...especially in this horrible economy. They run out of beer? They wont let you order something you have ordered for years even though it is the same ingredients as other dishes? And then they talk to you like garbage when you try to explain the growing problems. So weird. This GEM of the West Valley is going downwards.

The wait staff is great. Management is horrible. Miss the old chefs. The new chefs look at you like you are the enemy. So weird.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious! Well worth it..great choice for sushi in the West Valley”
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Attentive service, nice atmosphere, and above all, tasty sushi! I had the Spicy Ninja Roll (awesome spicy and sweet flavors), spicy yellowtail (cool and flavorful), and salmon roll (full of salmon goodness...no skimping on the fish here).

Happy hour prices were very reasonable (as were the normal prices).

If you're looking for a good sushi restaurant in the West Valley, Tomo is a fine choice. Would visit again without hesitation.

Helpful?
1 Thank TomL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Japanese Cuisine done right”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The night we were there my wife and I took her mother (she lives in Japan) and our children. The 5 of us were seated promptly. The drink order was taken and the drinks were brought pretty quickly. There was a bit of lag time between getting refills, but they were busy also. We ordered several rolls and they just kept bringing them out.
The food was very good, very fresh and very appealing in presentation. The waitress didn't understand the one part of our order so she brought the wrong item out, but apologized and brought out the correct item soon after.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in the West Valley!”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We went here for dinner, and I'll say the atmosphere and sushi did not disappoint, We had a couple of different types of sushi, and sushi rolls, and all of them were fresh and quality cuts! They have definitely made an effort to be a place to go for drinks as well, even though we did not any on this visit. However, I was impressed with the freshness of the sushi, and even the wasabi was good.

The only drawback on this visit was the service. After being seated, it took five minutes for a server to come ask us if we wanted drinks, and then a bit more to order food. The food was brought out by a manager or one of the sushi chefs, so the food was delivered in a timely and good manner! Yet, after eating, we did have to wait on the check for an extended time as well. Perhaps there was some issue going on that we were not aware of, but it seems the manager or chef was the only one noticing us and not the server we initially had.

Yet in comparison to the other nearby sushi restaurants I still recommend this one! We've actually been there a couple of times and each time I'm impressed with the presentation and quality of the sushi! We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Tomo!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Consistently good. Consistently fresh.
Owner Brian is very nice and appreciative of his customers.
Sure, sometimes the service is a little slow, but isn't sushi to be a nice relaxing dining experience? I'm in no rush to get in and get it. I like to enjoy one or 2 rolls at a time.
I have tried the others and they can't compare to Tomo. Also, very resonably priced for the size of rolls you get.
Oh great.... now I'm craving a Goodyear roll!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyTwinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomo Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tomo Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing