We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”

Palm Valley Golf Club
Destin FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very nice for an early evening wedding. Well organized and excellent food,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoastalJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    28
    9
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
446 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
“Play all day!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

One of our traditional outings during the annual Phoenix golf trip is the an all-day, 36-hole outing at Palm Valley Golf Club. We figure that we have been going to Palm Valley for about 8 years, ever since a local who we met while playing Vistal suggested the course. One of the best tips we ever received!

There are two courses at PV, the Lakes which is a par 62 executive type layout and the Palms which is a regulation par 72 track. We play the Lakes in the morning, have lunch at the clubhouse, and then have a nice round on then Palms in the afternoon. Great way to spend the day without getting too exhausted.

We usually tee-off at 8:00, but opted to move back 30 minutes so that we did not have as much dead time between rounds. This worked well. We did have a group in front of us who were a little slow, but the pace ended up being such that we were back at the clubhouse about noon, so that we could have a leisurely lunch and still make our 1:30 tee-time on the Palms course.

We found both courses to be in great shape. Tees, fairways, and greens were green and well maintained. There was one year a few years back that the course was a little ragged, but the past several years it has been in great shape. And it is a great value as well. I think we paid $86 total for both rounds. I did book on-line so there are a $6 booking fee for each round…but the guys bought the drinks today, so that worked out even.

The staff at PV is extremely friendly and helpful, from the guys in the pro shop, to the fellows in the cart barn and starting area, the rangers, the servers in the clubhouse and of course the young ladies operating the beverage cart. I’m told by the other guys in my group that the cart girls mix a mean Bloody Mary (I’ll stick to beer…they carry Fat Tire in the carts, so that works for a beer snob like me).

There are no real pinch points on the Palms course as far as the layout causing backups, but the course does get a lot of play, so the pace generally is not too fast and there are delays at the par threes. That said, we still were done in less than 4.5 hours (we teed-off at 1:30 and were walking to the parking lot after the round at 6:00 and that includes the time it took for the cart guys to clean the clubs). A great way to spend a day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant Afternoon”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Good condition and pace. Good value for adult beverages

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank chubmasterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, MT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food ok”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had lunch here several times. Food is good and about average. Service and atmosphere very good. Prices were above average but it's a golf course so what can I say. We spend more on golf balls than lunch anyway you look at it.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank PatrickKalispell_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Golf for all levels of players”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Palm Valley has two courses. One course is an executive course with very well placed par 3's and 4's. The longer course is challenging for low handicappers, but still fun for those of us with high handicaps. The restaurant has good food and the outside patio has beautiful views.

Helpful?
2 Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Valley Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Palm Valley Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing