We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chinese Cuisine”
Review of Abacus Inn Chinese

Abacus Inn Chinese
Ranked #68 of 561 Restaurants in Glendale
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Cuisine”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have had many different entree's at Abacus Inn and each and everyone was excellent. I love their Egg drop soup and Ragoons. Their Poopoo platter is just the right mix of tasty treats to start your dinner off with. Their Kung Pow Chicken is awesome as is their Chrispy Chicken you just cannot go wrong with this restaurant. Its busy most often but you can order out and you can even get it delivered if need be. Also they do put coupons in the weekly fliers once a month to get buy one get one half off entree's. Anyway you look at it is great and the atmosphere is warm and inviting too as well. There is also one in Phoenix and it is excellent too its just a little larger and would be excellent for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch, consistent flavor and quality”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We typically hit up Abacus Inn for lunch on the weekends. The lunch menu has your standard Chinese entrees. My favorites are the Abacus Special Chicken (fried chicken breast in a garlic sauce) and Sun Devil Chicken (chicken in a garlic jalapeno sauce). Lunch comes with soup, fried won tons, a huge egg roll, and fried rice/white rice, and hot tea. Big portions all around. Also, the ice water at Abacus Inn is super cold and fresh tasting. They must have an awesome RO system in the back! The service is always speedy and friendly, and they've had the same staff for years (which to me says a lot about the restaurant and owners).

We'll occasionally eat dinner at Abacus Inn. If you have a group of more than a few people, try one of the dinner specials that comes with appetizers, soup, and several entrees.

For something different off the dinner menu try the Ma Po Tofu (tofu with ground pork in a spicy sauce) or the spicy eggplant dish. My only complaint about Abacus Inn is that after all these years they really haven't added anything new to the menu, or traditionally Chinese. But we keep going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
545 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Large portions and some dishes really are spicy”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are from California or the East Coast you might be disappointed but for this area this is about as good as it gets. I had the Yui Shan Chicken and the chicken was dry and the sauce lacked spiciness but really was OK and not bad. We also had the Spicy Beef and it was cooked nice and really was spicy but the sauce was very smokey and sweet. Portions are large and they give you hot tea and fried noodles.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSaltyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Specials”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Went here for lunch recently and have to say this place is GREAT!! There were five in our party and we all had the lunch specials. Two ordered the shrimp with lobster sauce, another ordered sweet and sour pork, one beef with broccoli, one chicken with broccoli. Each lunch special comes with an egg roll, won tons, fried rice and a choice of hot and sour soup or egg drop soup. Everything was served hot and fresh. It is in the Albertson's plaza on the Northeast side of 59th Ave and the 101 freeway. I will be going back here many times

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch Every Week”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love eating here for lunch every week. The Sundevil Chicken is one of my favorite dishes. Portions are good price is great service is good as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abacus Inn Chinese also viewed

Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abacus Inn Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing