We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3-Star: Nothing more, nothing less” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“3-Star: Nothing more, nothing less”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you like average hotels, the 3-star variety, the Holiday Inn Express in Glendale, AZ is the place for you. That isn't meant to be condescending or pejorative -- it's just the hotel's fact of life. This property is clean, well run with friendly staff. There is a nice pool area and the complimentary breakfast is good, never great. The roms are comfortable, but basic, and the kind that are good for sleeping but start to make you feel claustrophobic if you spend too much time in them. The hotel is convenient to lots of shopping and restaurants and if you're there for Coyotes' hockey or Cardinals' football you can walk to the venues. We were there for Spring Training. If you follow the Dodgers or Brewers you're very close -- anything else is a half-hour away on the weekend and an hour in awful traffic during the week. If I had one negative it is how unfamiliar with the local area front desk staff is. One person had no idea how to get to the Dodgers' complex and another had no clue where Mesa, AZ is. They all offer to show you on a map or get Google maps directions for you but some local knowledge would have been nice. With all that said, if back in the area, we would consider this Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites and taking time out of your day to write a review about your experience! Your feedback is vital for improving the service and quality we offer. I will review your comments with my team so we can improve our knowledge of the local area.

Please come back and stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    60
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
37
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I went for work but the wife stayed at the hotel and had a great time. Walking distance to the West Gate with great resteraunts and shopping outlets. She also enjoyed the pool area as well. The staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites and writing a positive review about your experience! We're happy to hear your wife had a great time. Please come back and stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for a work seminar one week, was great.Two weeks later I stayed at this same hotel for business, not too bad.When I came home I had bed bug bites. The room was clean. Stay here at your own risk.

Room Tip: check your rooms for bed bugs with double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear David,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you encountered with us on your most recent stay. This situation is just as alarming to us as it is to you! We are appalled that this could happen at our hotel. Rest assured we do not take your comfort lightly and would like you to know that we are proactively taking steps to investigate this matter. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Glendale while in town to see a hockey game. Found the hotel to be extremely clean and staff to be very friendly and polite.

Great location for those looking to attend events at Jobing.com Arena or University of Phoenix Stadium.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Glendale, AZ! I'm very happy to hear you had a positive experience. Please come back and see us again when you're in town for a Hockey game.

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a great visit, no real problems. Only minor issue is the hotel shows a little age but not bad at all. Also breakfast was not great but it was adequate. For some reason, both the apple and orange juice was terrible, limited selection but was all right. Location can not be beat, walk to everything, both football and hockey. Tons of choices to eat and do a little shopping. Overall great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsabo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Glendale, Arizona! Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our guests. We will look into the orange and apple juice machine to make sure the equipment is working properly.
We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The facility is clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. The suites do not contain multiple rooms, but do feature a living area and wet bar. Conveniently located near the stadium, arena and outlet mall. Right across the street from Cabela's.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Glendale, Arizona! We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your experience. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very clean facility with new/modern furnishings. Free breakfast for hotel guests. Not top of the line cuisine but more than adequate. Courteous and helpful front desk staff. All in all, a comfortable and nice place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSK_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Glendale, Arizona! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Management and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
7.3 mi away
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Address: 9310 W Cabela Drive, Glendale, AZ 85305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#7 Family Hotel in Glendale
#7 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Phoenix-Glendale, Arizona Within walking distance of the Westgate City Center, Jobing.com Arena & the University of Phoenix/Cardinals Stadium, enjoy easy access to downtown Phoenix & Glendale attractions. Leisure travelers can enjoy staying at our Glendale, AZ hotel near Phoenix while they experience the area attractions. Sports lovers can watch the Arizona Cardinals, Arizona Diamondbacks, Phoenix Suns or Phoenix Coyotes, or they can watch a NASCAR race at the Phoenix International Raceway. Westgate City Center, across the street from our hotel, offers great shopping, dining and entertainment options. Families can enjoy exploring historic downtown Glendale, the Wildlife World Zoo. With convenient access to businesses such as Coca Cola, Kroger's, Honeywell, Charles Schwab & Merrill Lynch. Just a short drive from Luke Air Force Base, our hotel is perfect for travelers who plan to attend meetings in Glendale or Phoenix. Business amenities also include a Boardroom, Business Center & Complimentary Wired & Wireless High Speed Internet Access. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Phoenix-Glendale, Arizona, enjoy a swim in our Resort style Outdoor Pool & Whirlpool or work out in the Fitness Center. Enjoy a 'Smart Start' hot breakfast buffet daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Holiday Inn Glendale
Glendale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing