We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Nice Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Nice Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to Cabela's, Tanger Outlet Mall, Westgate Mall, Jobbing Arena, and the University of Phoenix Stadium.

The rooms are average size, clean, and modern. They have flat screen TV's, clean bathrooms, and the hallways are bright and clean.

The continental breakfast is average but I will say that the staff keeps the area clean and well stocked. There is an average amount of seating and a TV and fireplace in the lobby. Parking is okay and free.

The pool is outdoors and there is a hot tub. Problem is that the pool and hot tub are shared with the hotel next door as well, so there are twice as many guests using the pool area.

This hotel raises it's rates drastically when there are events in Phoenix or Glendale. The price can double from night to night based on what is happening in town so be aware when looking at rates, but this is true of most hotels.

All in all, a nice hotel, staff is friendly, and location is great if staying in Glendale. Make sure to check that your hotel room door actually closes all the way and locks behind you. Many of the doors don't close all the way and you have to really pull them hard to get them to lock or you can just push them right open. Staff was quick to help fix any problems.

Room Tip: You can request a room that overlooks the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    57
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
35
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland,oregpn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The internet is a bit slow (but faster - and available - in their sister hotel next door) and they were having problems with the key cards.
But, the rooms were quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet was quite good.
And most of all the people. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, and while this Holiday Inn Express may have equals, it has no betters. The housekeepers were prompt and dilgent. Every single staff member was friendly and eager to help make our stay as close to perfect as possible. Questions? They'll get answers. Need something? They'll get right on it. They acted like owners, not employees.

Room Tip: The double queen rooms are spacious. Excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was very happy with my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Glendale. My brother and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early January. We were attending the 2013 Fiesta Bowl (played at Unversity of Phoenix Stadium) and I spotted this hotel early before prices went up.

The service was excellent. Housekeepers and maintenance personnel were extremely friendly and always willing to help out. We would usually leave our room for breakfast around 8AM and by the time we got back our room would be fixed up.

The amenities were great for the price. There was no refrigerator or microwave in our room (which is a bummer when you're trying to save money by eating at the hotel a bit), but the two queen beds were clean and comfy. The pillows were great and towels were always clean and well put up. My brother and I both loved the free WIFI during out downtime at night.

There's a continental breakfast available for free and I enjoyed the hard boiled eggs each morning. Most of the food put out is super sugary and sweet, which isn't my style, but there's enough for everyone (and there were a ton of people when we were eating breakfast).

The workout room was adequate for a quick bit of cardio but nothing else.

The best part of the hotel is the fact that it is super close to pretty much everything you would want it to be close to. We walked to dinner at a nearby shopping center every night and found a coffee shop about a mile and a half away that was pretty good. There is also a Target in that direction. Walking to the stadium for the game was a piece of cake. If you don't mind a good walk, there's almost no reason to have a car if you stay at this hotel unless you're going to be traveling to some other distant destination.

Overall, this was a great hotel for the price. My stay was awesome and I would recommend it. It obviously isn't a 5-star hotel, but I'd definitely go back again.

Room Tip: They pretty much all seem the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located about a mile from Cardinal Stadium, where we watched the Fiesta Bowl in Jan 2013. Within 2 blocks you have access to many restaurants and bars and shopping areas.The hotel has a great breafkast set up each morning and the staff diligently keeps the serving area well stocked and clean. Great service, Great stay! Go Ducks : )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalyRooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Call me weird, but I like to stay at hotels in my area, just so I know what they are like. Holiday Inn Express is behind Cabella's in a "cluster" of hotels like Residence Inn, Staybridge suites, etc. The room was nothing special, the hotel was clean and uncrowded, but WOW! They put out a solid breakfast! Me and my daughter throughly enjoyed the breakfast they served for FREE down in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel for a few nights stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor and it was okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebvixxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and efficient. I was pleasantly surprised at how fresh and delicious the breakfast was. I had a problem with my in room coffee maker and it was fixed immediately. The pool area and work out room were beautiful. The only downside was that we experienced the room rates raised due to the Fiesta Bowl, but we were within walking distance to the stadium, restaurants and shopping

Room Tip: There are really no rooms with a view, so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for the Fiesta Bowl. Rooms were nice and clean, great FREE Breakfast, FREE Wi-fi, and FREE parking. We initially had rooms reserved at the Renaissance in the same area. We stayed there one night. Great hotel also, but their Breakfast wasn't free and they charged 12.95 for Wi-fi and $10 a day for parking. We moved to the Holiday Inn Express because of all the "extra" charges. Would stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Glendale in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptaker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Address: 9310 W Cabela Dr, Glendale, AZ 85305-1365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#7 Family Hotel in Glendale
#7 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Phoenix-Glendale, Arizona Within walking distance of the Westgate City Center, Jobing.com Arena & the University of Phoenix/Cardinals Stadium, enjoy easy access to downtown Phoenix & Glendale attractions. Leisure travelers can enjoy staying at our Glendale, AZ hotel near Phoenix while they experience the area attractions. Sports lovers can watch the Arizona Cardinals, Arizona Diamondbacks, Phoenix Suns or Phoenix Coyotes, or they can watch a NASCAR race at the Phoenix International Raceway. Westgate City Center, across the street from our hotel, offers great shopping, dining and entertainment options. Families can enjoy exploring historic downtown Glendale, the Wildlife World Zoo. With convenient access to businesses such as Coca Cola, Kroger's, Honeywell, Charles Schwab & Merrill Lynch. Just a short drive from Luke Air Force Base, our hotel is perfect for travelers who plan to attend meetings in Glendale or Phoenix. Business amenities also include a Boardroom, Business Center & Complimentary Wired & Wireless High Speed Internet Access. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Phoenix-Glendale, Arizona, enjoy a swim in our Resort style Outdoor Pool & Whirlpool or work out in the Fitness Center. Enjoy a 'Smart Start' hot breakfast buffet daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Holiday Inn Glendale
Glendale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing