We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Glendale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night so we could catch some spring training baseball games. The room was fabulous (we were given a free upgrade to a suite since we had been promised a king bed and that was the only room available with a king). The concierge level was included, and the breakfast was free and excellent (complete hot and cold selections). The location was very convenient to many of the stadiums.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

DavSt,

Thank you for your comments during your stay with us for Spring Training. We are very glad you had a chance to enjoy your upgraded suite and the concierge level during your stay. We hope that you will come back soon and see us again.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were there for a three-day conference. We are lifetime, Platinum-Elite with Marriott and understand that there may not be upgrades available, so I asked if there were other "perks" such as waiving the fee to use the spa amenities (not services) and was emphatically informed that the Renaissance was "not a Marriott property, but a franchise" and the only amenity offered was access to the concierge lounge. What a shame they do not take advantage of the Marriott employee training, with the only exception being the bar tenders and the valet parking staff - including the great "lady valets" every employee we came in contact with could have benefited from customer service training. The concierge personnel were woefully under-trained and management does not support them: for instance, the coffee pot has been broken for several weeks and hot coffee is brought from the kitchen in large aluminum pitchers, only margarine is served and if you want real butter "go to the real buffet downstairs." The place needs a thorough cleaning, dusting, polishing - and if you are going to serve candies, make sure the dispensers are filled every once in a while. The interiors of the elevators have not been cleaned since they were installed and one, in particular, had squirts of sticky liquid on the doors from ceiling to floor. Our room could be "spring cleaned" glass on the wall pictures had either "sneeze" blots or drink spots and the glass on the sliding glass doors - both sides - were dirty. Just like the front desk clerk - and the Supervisor - said "This is NOT a Marriott property."

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Jeannemacl,

Thank you for taking the time to post on your most recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay here and that you had to experience some challenges with our staff. Your comments from your stay have already been distributed to all our department heads so we can address all your feedback right away, as this will make us a better hotel. Again my apologies we did not meet your expectations, but hope that you will return to try us again.

Thanks again, and Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here two nights in late February on business with a large group using the convention center attached to the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and well appointed. It has a strange feel to it in that one suspects it goes from very busy (football and hockey game nights) to not so busy like turning off a faucet. As a result, some of the rooms aren't used as often as others. I had a nice room with a balcony (wheelchair access) but some of the dust suggest it hadn't had a customer since football season ended. If you enjoy views of parking lots as far as the eye can see then this place is for you! There are desert/mountains in distance and everything is spotlessly clean. Lots of restaurants, retail and sports entertainment nearby so go for it if that is your thing.

Room Tip: Higher views mean better views of more distant parking lots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

CCLTraveller,

Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your stay at the hotel. I will definitely pass your information on to our Department Head's so we can research some of the areas of cleanliness that you had mentioned in your email and make sure that we are living up to our standards and expectations for each guest that walks in the door. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending Brewers spring training at Maryvale. It was a convenient location next to Westgate entertainment area, with lots of fun restaurants in walking distance. They had a very nice pool area with comfortable chairs both in the shade and the sun, and floaties for in the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

vbrey,

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay during Spring Training! We hope that you will come back and see us again soon whenever you have the chance.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a beautiful, very clean hotel situated right at Westgate, literally next door to Jobing.com arena. There are lots of restaurants nearby and outlet stores. The room we stayed in with one king bed and a large sitting area (with a couch long enough for my teenager to sleep on) was more than adequate. The bathroom was also very large and there's lots of room in the entry way for luggage and things. The bed/bedding were extremely comfortable. My only complaint was that there was literally no sound privacy between the bathroom and the rest of the room. There was a sliding door of some sort between the room and the large garden tub - and the door to the toilet room was slatted. What's with that??? You could literally hear everything in the bathroom anywhere in the room. So, if you are a light sleeper at all or prefer that others not hear your bathroom business, be prepared. Otherwise, the room was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2HikeAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Love2HikeAZ

Thank you so much in regards to your comments to your stay with us. I will definitely pass this on to all our departments in the hotel. I apologize about the inconvenience with the doors in the bathroom, I don't know what is up with that, but I will definitely make it known to our Engineering department.

We hope that you will come and visit us again soon! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

First impression of this hotel was great. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The property was well taken care of and overall very clean. However the breakfast staff was not very attentive or friendly. I was with a group of 4 others for breakfast one morning and it took 25+ minutes for our breakfast to arrive, and when it did arrive it was at the very best warm in temperature. The server apologized but acted very busy and irritated with us. Later, I joined some colleagues at the bar and ordered a club soda and literally got an eye roll for ordering that. I am not sure why that was such a shock but was quite offended. The conference I was attending was in the hotel so it was easier for me to stay here but I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51whitneyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Whitney H,

Thank you for your feedback I regards to your stay at the hotel. I will definitely bring this up to our food and beverage department to investigate this as this is not how we conduct ourselves here at the hotel. We hope that you will come back to our hotel and give us another chance to meet and exceed your expectations!

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent four nights and had 2 rooms as we had another couple with us. We were in room 823, a nice corner room suite with a whirlpool tub. Very nice. Our friends were in room 333 and it was nice. With two swimming pools and a hot tub along with a spa, it is a great place for relaxation. Next to West Gate entertainment area makes it a great location. There was a safe in our room.
From check in to check out, the service was outstanding. The Valet was very efficient as we were in and out with the car numerous times. Starbucks in the hotel was nice and the person working was outstanding! We needed AA batteries and they did not have any at the store. He took his out of his phone and gave them to us!!! That was way above and beyond! The concierge lounge had a nice breakfast and the service there was wonderful. The hotel was clean and obviously the staff takes pride in their work! Great location near 10 and 101 made it easy to navigate around Phoenix. Great stay all the way around!

Room Tip: 823 was great. Upgrade to a corner suite if possible for great quality and lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Piseu,

Thank you very much for the kind words in regards to your stay. I'm glad that you got to try a little bit of everything while you were staying with us and that you felt the staff was very helpful! I will definitely pass on all your comments to everyone at the hotel and hope that you will come back and stay with us soon!

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Glendale Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa

Address: 9495 W. Coyotes Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range: $171 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a luxury hotel in Glendale, Arizona offering 320 guest rooms including 46 suites. Our hotel, spa and conference center provides 'Everything Under the Sun' for guests visiting Glendale for play, work or mind and body rejuvenation. Our accommodations are contemporary with splashes of desert decor, offering spacious areas for sleeping and living as well as amazing opportunities for on-site dining. We give guests an ideal location from which to do business in or explore the Glendale-Phoenix area. Located near Westgate City Center, the University of Phoenix and sports arenas, Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a perfectly located hotel that offers easy access to the best Arizona destinations including restaurants, entertainment and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glendale Hotel And Spa
Renaissance Glendale Hotel Glendale
Glendale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing