We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to stadium & outdoor nightlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to stadium & outdoor nightlife”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for the 1st Cardinals game of the season & couldn't have picked a better location to do so. The stadium is right behind the hotel, so me & my mom walked. Right across the hotel parking lot is West Gate, which has a variety of outdoor bars/restaurants, shops and a gigantic AMC movie theatre. At night there is a live band that plays from 6:30pm-9:30pm. It was soo great & the weather was even better. You won't find many people outside during the day, being as it gets really hot, but loads of people came out at night. As for the room, it was clean, big bathroom and had a flat screen tv. Being a renaissance though, I would had expected more. There's a big balcony which is fun to sit out, especially when the crowds are coming in for the game, you can oversee the whole West Gate crowd. There's a Botanica spa downstairs & the lady at the front desk is suppperrr nice! Nicer than the front desk staff at the hotel! I got my hair done there & a pedicure, not too spendy either :) The hotel has a nice bar downstairs and their buffet breakfast at the Soleil restaurant is to DIE FOR!! OMG sooo yummy! I also got to sit out by the pool which was nice in the 9am 100degree weather. At the pool you can also order poolside food & drinks, but I unfortunately didn't take advantage of this. Overall, I do plan on staying here again, because from what I saw there's not too much else around. Go Cardinals!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    146
    54
    18
    19
See reviews for
91
91
25
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Sorry Dms1977! I was there for the anime convention with my daughter.This was a more rowdy crowd than usual. Not usually too bad, don't let them scare you away next time!
I was highly impressed with the check in service, 3 lines of 20+ people, and front desk handled it quickly efficiently and with a smile! Upgraded to king suite which was an incredible room. Huge, two workstations, and a generous number of electric outlets. Comfy bed of course! Room at the end of the corridor, but still could hear the exit door to stairs slam, but I think can disregard that because it was only due to the heavy stair usage because of the jammed elevators because of the convention. Also a fair amount of noise from the pool, I could hear it through the bedroom window, but pool closed at decent time, so not a problem. Kristina at the bar was awesome and fun! Look for her! One odd thing was that the outside bar was closed early, around 3 pm, when no one was outside due to the heat. But later, people there, but bar closed and you have to go inside to the cafe for towels. Then, return them later, passing dirty towels across the same counter they serve food. I did talk to someone about this, and the food and beverage manager was going to address it. I understand then need to have some kind of a checkout system to prevent theft, but this one is not too appetizing!
Even with the huge crowds, I felt everyone on staff was happy and helpful. Housekeeping quick and efficient, valet guys smiling and happy, bar staff great, front desk awesome. The pool is huge, nice mix of sun and shade, spa area is the biggest I've ever seen. Very enjoyable. Also has indoor lap pool. Did not use the fitness center, but it looked very well equipped.

Room Tip: The parking garage is quite a trek, so you may want to use valet parking if you have a mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We meant to have a quiet getaway over Labor Day weekend. Instead, we show up and there was a animation conference with 3,000 people dressed in consumes crawling all over the hotel. The hotel was unapologetic and gave terrible service while we were checking in when we asked what was going on (I mean you see thousands of people in costume and you want to know what's up!). Their website never mentioned this event was occurring or we would never of booked this hotel. The elevators were so full with costumed folks you couldn't get on. They also left trash and pizza boxes in all the halls. They occupied all the lobby, bar, hallway spaces... And they were having loud parties in the room all night. It was a loud, dirty, not relaxing, awful trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dms1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenGlenAZ, Manager at Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dms1977

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay over Labor Day. I have meet with our team at the hotel and we are currently working on an events calendar to put on our website so that our guests can see what is happening in the area. Whether it be a specific type of conference, sporting event, or concert next door, our guests will have an understanding on what is happening around them.

We hope that we have another opportunity to serve you and hope to see you soon. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a fairy new property, and it shows. It still has the new feel, and it is located in an area that not long ago was probably farmland. Once the NFL stadium and hockey arena were built, this area gradually began to grow, and this hotel is in the middle of it all. It is across the street from an entertainment complex with restaurants, bars, and movie theater complex. An outlet center is going up next door. So while still a bit "out there" there isn't a lack of things to do.

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice, large, with a fair amount of lounge chairs. There are some cabanas behind the pool bar. The fitness center was also good, with a nice variety of machines and equipment available. There is a spa on site, but I didn't use it.

Things weren't perfect, however. The wifi seemed spotty, as in my room signal strength was very poor/nonexistent. Self parking is $10/day, which seems high when there are no events going on. And given the number of bars next door, closing time may result in some noise.

The room itself was typical Renaissance: great bed, nice amenities, and they even had turn-down service. It's a good, solid property, and while I don't get to the west valley often I would absolutely stay here again, especially if I was going to a football or hockey game.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed Friday night of NFL game (Cardinals / Raiders). 7th floor room with King bed and view to the east of Westgate and jobing.com arena. With all the events of the night, our room seems nicely sheltered from the outside and the hallways seemed rather peaceful too. Located quck walks to both sproting facilities, a great reason to stay here. Check in and pay $10 per day for parking garage when event is on and you have a nice deal there too. AAA rate was nice savings. Ask for a room at end of the hall (away from elevators and ice/vending room). They have balcony rooms though we did not - if interested ask for metal railed one, not concrete. Busy lobby bar (we did not use) big TV in area too. Nice looking gym and 2 pools - (1 indoor/1 outdoor). We'd return for convenient place to stay or crash out following an event. Westgate entertainment is right downstairs with many bar/food options.

Room Tip: End or hallways. Higher Floors. This maxes your quiet quotient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family spent 1 night here while traveling from California to Texas. The hotel was nice, beds were comfortable and the location was fantastic. We were pleased that the hotel has parking garage because we were moving my daughter from California to Texas and we we had a lot of her belongings in car. There is an nice selection of restaurants in walking distance of hotel. Overall, very nice stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were disappointed after staying for 5 nights. Every single night we had to call down and ask for towels or shampoo or coffee or all of the above. When we first got there, there were 3sets of towels. I was thrilled. Second night 1. Third night 1. Fourth night, we got back to the room at 6:30 pm and our room haden't even been cleaned yet. I called down and was told that the housekeeping staff had til 6pm to clean the "stay over" rooms....I said it was 6:30 ( LOL ) she said oh, I'll call them to come right up. So I ended up leaving the room so the lady could clean the room..not exactly what I wanted to do but....anyway, when I got back, there was no coffee,no creamer, no stir sticks and no Wash cloths or bath mat. It was just frustrating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
7.9 mi away
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Address: 9495 W. Coyotes Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a luxury hotel in Glendale, Arizona offering 320 guest rooms including 46 suites. Our hotel, spa and conference center provides 'Everything Under the Sun' for guests visiting Glendale for play, work or mind and body rejuvenation. Our accommodations are contemporary with splashes of desert decor, offering spacious areas for sleeping and living as well as amazing opportunities for on-site dining. We give guests an ideal location from which to do business in or explore the Glendale-Phoenix area. Located near Westgate City Center, the University of Phoenix and sports arenas, Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a perfectly located hotel that offers easy access to the best Arizona destinations including restaurants, entertainment and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glendale Hotel And Spa
Renaissance Glendale Hotel Glendale
Glendale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing