We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Desert”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a fairy new property, and it shows. It still has the new feel, and it is located in an area that not long ago was probably farmland. Once the NFL stadium and hockey arena were built, this area gradually began to grow, and this hotel is in the middle of it all. It is across the street from an entertainment complex with restaurants, bars, and movie theater complex. An outlet center is going up next door. So while still a bit "out there" there isn't a lack of things to do.

The staff was great, friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice, large, with a fair amount of lounge chairs. There are some cabanas behind the pool bar. The fitness center was also good, with a nice variety of machines and equipment available. There is a spa on site, but I didn't use it.

Things weren't perfect, however. The wifi seemed spotty, as in my room signal strength was very poor/nonexistent. Self parking is $10/day, which seems high when there are no events going on. And given the number of bars next door, closing time may result in some noise.

The room itself was typical Renaissance: great bed, nice amenities, and they even had turn-down service. It's a good, solid property, and while I don't get to the west valley often I would absolutely stay here again, especially if I was going to a football or hockey game.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    147
    54
    18
    19
See reviews for
91
91
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
289 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed Friday night of NFL game (Cardinals / Raiders). 7th floor room with King bed and view to the east of Westgate and jobing.com arena. With all the events of the night, our room seems nicely sheltered from the outside and the hallways seemed rather peaceful too. Located quck walks to both sproting facilities, a great reason to stay here. Check in and pay $10 per day for parking garage when event is on and you have a nice deal there too. AAA rate was nice savings. Ask for a room at end of the hall (away from elevators and ice/vending room). They have balcony rooms though we did not - if interested ask for metal railed one, not concrete. Busy lobby bar (we did not use) big TV in area too. Nice looking gym and 2 pools - (1 indoor/1 outdoor). We'd return for convenient place to stay or crash out following an event. Westgate entertainment is right downstairs with many bar/food options.

Room Tip: End or hallways. Higher Floors. This maxes your quiet quotient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family spent 1 night here while traveling from California to Texas. The hotel was nice, beds were comfortable and the location was fantastic. We were pleased that the hotel has parking garage because we were moving my daughter from California to Texas and we we had a lot of her belongings in car. There is an nice selection of restaurants in walking distance of hotel. Overall, very nice stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were disappointed after staying for 5 nights. Every single night we had to call down and ask for towels or shampoo or coffee or all of the above. When we first got there, there were 3sets of towels. I was thrilled. Second night 1. Third night 1. Fourth night, we got back to the room at 6:30 pm and our room haden't even been cleaned yet. I called down and was told that the housekeeping staff had til 6pm to clean the "stay over" rooms....I said it was 6:30 ( LOL ) she said oh, I'll call them to come right up. So I ended up leaving the room so the lady could clean the room..not exactly what I wanted to do but....anyway, when I got back, there was no coffee,no creamer, no stir sticks and no Wash cloths or bath mat. It was just frustrating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient Phoenix area location. The room was spacious, well appointed, and clean. For example, counter tops and the window ledge are marble. Front desk staff are attentive and professional. Perhaps our only complaint was the morning buffet and this is highly personal. As a vegetarian the $16 charge was a bit much as most of the choices were non-vegetarian (omelets, bacon, sausage) and the meager amount of fruit (escept for small apples) was not very fresh (straberries and pineapply were brown and soft). I should have checked the buffet before ordering it.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and our friends were on the fifth. Both floors were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InKleined2Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked on Priceline for very reasonable price - super location - next to Westgate with many restaurants and bars - beautiful bright lobby - nice pool (two pools) and patio area. However, what made this go from a four to five is the staff - everyone was so nice and ready to help. They all had great smiles and really seem to enjoy their job - and have pride in the hotel and the area they live in. Thanks for your courtesy and respect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in early June. The resort has a nice summer special for phoenix residents. The location is great in Westgate close to many restaurants and bars. The hotel has a good pool, but not comparable to some of the higher end resorts in Phoenix. We also had a very nice buffet in the restaurant and enjoyed a drink watching the NBA finals in the bar.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottyFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Glendale - Westgate
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Univ. of Phoenix Stadium Area
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Phoenix/Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix-Glendale
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Glendale Westgate
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Glendale Sports & Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa
Address: 9495 W. Coyotes Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a luxury hotel in Glendale, Arizona offering 320 guest rooms including 46 suites. Our hotel, spa and conference center provides 'Everything Under the Sun' for guests visiting Glendale for play, work or mind and body rejuvenation. Our accommodations are contemporary with splashes of desert decor, offering spacious areas for sleeping and living as well as amazing opportunities for on-site dining. We give guests an ideal location from which to do business in or explore the Glendale-Phoenix area. Located near Westgate City Center, the University of Phoenix and sports arenas, Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa is a perfectly located hotel that offers easy access to the best Arizona destinations including restaurants, entertainment and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Phoenix Glendale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Glendale Hotel And Spa
Renaissance Glendale Hotel Glendale
Glendale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing