We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was served Spoiled meat!!!”
Review of Ajo Al's

Ajo Al's
Ranked #68 of 564 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I was served Spoiled meat!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Service was slow waited 15 min for margaritas and the restaurant only had 5 tables of people. My steak fajitas the meat tasted like meat that sat in it own blood for weeks!!!! Horrible not coming back. Must have changed owners. Fish fajitas had no flavor needed to be seasoned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valcazares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Average tex-mex but great service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We found the menu selections to be pretty typical for your average tex-mex restaurant. The service was prompt and friendly as our food arrived piping hot. Our choices ranged from shrimp fajitas to pretty standard burritos and mushroom enchiladas. The shrimp fajitas were excellent although the accompaniments lacked cheese or sour cream and the guacamole was very bland. The other dishes were also quite bland. The chips were quite good but the salsas lacked excitement.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good service, below average food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Standard fare - we had enchiladas, chiles rellenos, burritos. All below standard quality. Refried beans were overly salty, quite heavy and gummy, like they had been whipped around in a food processor. Service was good: too bad the food didn't match.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Before I recently moved to TX we frequented this restaurant at least once every couple weeks. We love their tortilla chips and special salsa. My 7 yr olf son orders a quesadilla and devours it himself. We get their nachos because I haven't found a restaurant that makes nachos with melted cheese and beans and meat if you want it. We have them put jalapeños on the side. My family has eaten enchiladas, tacos, burritos and loved it all. Their beans and rice aren't bad either. Always on the list of restaurants to visit when we come to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stixx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Formula Mexican”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Very, very ordinary mex-tex food in a pleasant if unremarkable setting. Don't expect spicy. Even the "hot" salsa wasn't. Prompt service is the nicest thing I can say about it.

Helpful?
Thank Blackirish100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajo Al's also viewed

Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ajo Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing