We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad seat in the house...”
Review of Gila River Arena

Gila River Arena
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Glendale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Renton, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat in the house...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Visited the Jobing.com Arena for a Hockey game to see my beloved Chicago Blackhawks play.

This Arena is in a great location and seems to have good parking option and places to eat & drink in the area before a game if you want to.

We sat in the 200 level and could see everything. Alice Cooper also played during the 2nd period and we could hear every word so the acoustics seem to really good as well.

The only downside was the signage to the escalators to the second level in the area, it took us a few laps around the bottom to find them.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    152
    37
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Arena for a hockey game”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Four of us went to a hockey game here. It is a great stadium, easy to access, easy to park, and seats with great site lines. Others have complained about expensive beer, and that is true - we didn't drink any having gone to a German restaurant before the game. My only complaint is the width of the seats. I am not a big person - 5'7" and slim - but my shoulders are wider than the seats. You can't sit back in your seat, there simply isn't room. We were leaning forward to watch the game anyway, but after two hours I was pretty stiff. Parking even in the cheapest lot is $10 which seems like a gouge to me, but the game was great, the energy level high, and the howling lots of fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Watched a hockey game. Was within walking distance to our hotel. Loved that they had security before entering the arena and that you could take a backpack & sealed water bottles.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamakoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“CanadaFest Rocks Jobing With Clasic 70s and 80s Rock”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This past weekend we had the chance to catch Canadafest at Jobing Arena in Glendale, AZ. The venue is the home of the Phoenix Coyotes of the NHL and with the team in D.C. it seemed like an odd day to do an event. Upon closer examination, it was revealed that both Vancouver and Montreal will be playing in the Valley of the Sun this week, and as such a large number of Canadians, many Snow Birds will be in the area to take in some hockey action.

In a clever promotion, the Coyotes organized an event which brought legendary Canadian bands Trooper, Loverboy, and Bachman Turner Overdrive into town for a rocking evening that was preceded by watching the Coyotes on the venues numerous screens.

The cozy but very polite crowd was thrilled to find the Canadian donut and coffee haven Tim Horton’s on hand as they have opened a stand at the arena which is open to the general public daily until 3:00 PM.

The show started off with Trooper who are not widely known in the states but have been a well-established and popular band in Canada for decades. Despite the years, the band clearly knows how to deliver and while at first it was a bit odd to see the long haired band of old now balding and pudgy but the men well into their 60s were rocking out and pulled it off and then some despite some faltering movements that had my wife worried that lead singer Ra McGuire had hurt himself while doing stage crouches and such.

Not only did the band play a song they had written over the weekend, but classics such as We’re Here For a Good Time, Raise a Little Hell, and The Boys In The Bright White Sports Car had never sounded better.

After a short break, Loverboy took the stage and delivered hit after hit. Hits ranging from Notorious, Queen of the Broken Hearts, Turn Me Loose, Lucky Ones, Hot Girls in Love, The Kid is Hot Tonight, and the timeless Working For The Weekend were just a few of the all hit single set the band unleashed to a crowd who was clearly amped to here the timeless classics again. My wife said to me after the show that she ended up knowing far more of their songs that she thought she would as prior to the show she could only remember a few of their hits.

70’s rockers Bachman Turner Overdrive completed the evening with their power rock set which built to the classics Let it Ride, You Aint Seen Nothing Yet, and the closer, Taking Care of Business.

The bands were in top form and the amazing venue and friendly staff provided an enjoyable evening that had great acoustics, plenty of easy access parking and numerous restaurants and shopping and entertainment options for pre and post event entertainment.

For concerts, sporting events, and more this is a great venue and the Phoenix Coyotes buoyed by their permanent status in the Phoenix area continue to provide fun and creative promotions and events on and off the ice

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garethmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An icehockey heaven”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Returning again from Sweden after two years to see two games with the Coyotes was fantastic. Maybe a bit unexpected with such a nice, welcoming, functional icehockey temple and top level hockey in the middle of the desert. I just love it and the howlin Coyotes and can´t wait for long to go back again. The only small drawback is the location out in Glendale which is a bit too far from downtown Phoenix but don´t let that stop you from going.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gila River Arena also viewed

 
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Gila River Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing