We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the Mayan Mocha!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Shot of Java

A Shot of Java
Ranked #2 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Glendale
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Seating
Description: We are Glendale's most happening local coffee shop & cafe. We offer free Wi-Fi, many discounts, serve only organic and fair trade coffee & many other cafe beverages.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get the Mayan Mocha!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a cute little place! The atmosphere is chill and comfortable (not pretentious). The wifi is free (for paying customers). The service was very friendly. The coffee was DELICIOUS! We ordered a 16oz Triple Shot of Espresso Mayan Mocha and it was unique. Slight hint of cinnamon among chocolate and the best part, coffee! We appreciate any place that has some sort of unique coffee to try and my husband claims the coffee to be reminicent of the coffee he tried in Peru (compliment).

Side note: They have open mic nights on Thursdays so come out and support this little shop and flex your golden pipes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome and Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The best coffee shop I have visited. Very relaxing atmosphere and the ladies working are great and helpful. A frequent stop in my weekly routines.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Indie coffee Oasis in Downtown Glendale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A local sent me to this friendly coffee spot and I am grateful. I had a lovely espresso con panna and a biscotti but they also serve teas, smoothies, and lots of other drinks hot and cold. Open late, featuring regularly scheduled poetry readings and wifi, this little spot is filled with personality. Good coffee & indie spirit made me wish I lived nearby.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place for a hot drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

wonderful coffee house tucked away. Wide variety of fresh brewed coffee, tea, and incredible hot chocolate. I had the hazelnut hot chocolate, it was to die for. A wonderful find! Something for everyone and affordable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CancunVIP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We found this little place online, looking for coffee in the area, but never knew that it was there. It's tucked away in the alley behind a mexican restaurant on the main drag and you'll find it by the crowd outside. It's a small, small shop that holds maybe 6 people comfortably. The signs hanging up are very funny and there's plenty of stuff to look at and read while your'e there. When the orders get backed up, you're all basically standing on top of each other, grabbing your coffee when it's called and bobbing and weaving your way out.

The mexican hot chocolate is amazing. The coffee is great. The only issue was the temperature. It's a little cooler than hot, which makes it easy to drink right away, but it's not hot enough to warm you up. Even with that considered, we will be back. Now that we know it's there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Shot of Java also viewed

Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to A Shot of Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing