We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful and historic hike

A great two hour outing for our family. Up close and personal with history of early native... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Eric M
Great value and interesting alternative to typical tourist spots

My wife spied this attraction in a local visitors guide. What a pleasant surprise! This smaller... read more

Reviewed July 10, 2018
TheWandererYeah
,
Concord, New Hampshire
Read all 99 reviews
  
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
55
28
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
28
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy walk short trail interesting place school groups short video interesting information worth the effort visitor center unexpected gem guided tour bring water phoenix area well worth the visit all ages art rocks binoculars
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

A great two hour outing for our family. Up close and personal with history of early native Americans. Very cool waterfall at the end of the hike, worth seeing even if it hasn't rained in a while.

Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

My wife spied this attraction in a local visitors guide. What a pleasant surprise!
This smaller, out of the mainstream site was fascinating. It’s affiliated with a local university, so it’s a legit attraction.
It’s loaded with thousands of rock drawings that you can view from a short distance. It’s fascinating to consider the people who left them as they passed through for trade, migration, etc.
The cost was minimal and well worth the visit. Do bring or rent the binoculars they offer for an even better view of the glyphs.
It’s a short, one hourish visit but we’ll worth the effort to see something entirely different from the usual.
And pay no undue attention to the posted rattlesnake warning - this is Arizona and a little alertness to your surroundings and you’ll be fine.

1  Thank TheWandererYeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Deer Valley is an amazing little gem, far from the heart of the city and operated in conjunction with the University of Arizona. The park protects a quarry that has been visited and mined for basalt by many Native American peoples over a period of thousands of years, including the Hohokam and Patayan peoples.

The site boasts over 1500 different petroglyphs (which are defined as images created by carving or picking a rock surface to create an image, as opposed to pictographs which are images painted on rock surfaces).

The museum and petroglyph trail provide a useful history of the site and give visitors access to view the spectacular stone carvings – some close up, but most etched on the piles of huge basaltic boulders that have been excavated by years of ancient miners. Some simple and some complex, each evocative and representational, creative, expressive and varied, the stone carvings give a glimpse into the lives of previous desert dwelling communities to current denizens of and visitors to the desert valley.

Please also consider hiking the “Hieroglyphic trail” (just east of Phoenix) where hundreds of Yavapai carved petroglyphs surround a natural spring. The locale of the spring is lush, delicate, beautiful and inspiring, and obviously was considered to be a sacred space by early inhabitants. Viewing the petroglyphs at this special sight is an unforgettable experience.

1  Thank theSwurleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Interesting petroglyphs, but not such an impressive display to make it worth a long trip. If you are here anyway, it certainly merits a couple hours for the easy walk, the limited but good museum displays, and the glyphs themselves. However, most are small, set back quite a wa from the trail, and difficult to see easily. Good destination for an open morning or afternoon. I dont have anything negative to say, just dont go expecting to see huge desert rock art. A nice afternoon outdoors with friends to see something neat is certainly one of life's small pleasures.

Thank ET_Bville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

I searched for least visited/hidden gems in Phoenix area and this place popped up. I was hesitant but glad we went. We were the only people there. It was nice outside. The museum is great and then head outdoors to view the petroglyphs. They have a scavenger hunt for kids which was fun for an adult too. It was warm outside so bring water. Worth the stop and then headed for ice cream after!

Thank haduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Our visit to the Petroglyph Preserve was a last minute addition to our Phoenix/Flagstaff trip. Thank goodness we went. The museum part was interesting (and bathrooms were available). The preserve area was beautifully taken care of with covered areas along the way to sit and rest in the shade. There are viewing tubes along the way that help you focus on the petroglyphs, which can be a little hard to find at certain times of the day. The glyphs are absolutely amazing! I made myself dizzy by looking up at the rocks for such long periods of time! Mesmerizing! Go, you won't be sorry!

Thank Bettie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

Such an easy place to visit, almost in some people's backyards. The petroglyphs are easily seen from the path, thanks to the markers provided. It's just amazing to see such historical artifacts so close to the city. I only wish I had known they gave guided tours. We visited on our last day in the Phoenix Area and missed any chance of a tour. I highly recommend making an effort to see this. The people in the museum are very helpful in giving tips on finding the petroglyphs on your own.

Thank Lorrie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018

What I liked here is that there were pointers along the short trail to help you find the petroglyphs. Great for families and school groups! Stop at the visitor center desk first to avail yourself with some maps and instructions on where to find the bulk of the carvings. There is little shade, so on hot days prepare for the intense sun. Note that some petroglyphs will show up differently in shading depending on the sun's rays. Binoculars might help for the ones higher up the slope. But even without, you should be able to find most of them. If you live nearby, try to coordinate your visit with a special event; that way you might score a guided tour.

Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

While the museum has some neat artifacts and interesting descriptions of the early people who lived in the area the real treat is the short 1/4 mile walk to discover the Petroglyphs.some are very faint and it does require a very careful examination. Sit awhile and they begin to emerge. Use your imagination to figure out what the meanings were.

Thank GerriS63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

If we hadn't taken the tour we would have missed a lot of the petroglyphs-we wouldn't know what to look for. There are a lot of them and the guides have interesting information. We wanted to get out for an afternoon and the weather was nice so it was interesting. We were there about 1 1/2 hours. Check the calendar, sometimes they have special events there.

Thank SJTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews