We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take a walk”

Riparian Preserve at Water Ranch
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Gilbert
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to take a walk”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lots of trails and small wildlife. You can walk, run, or ride a bike around the preserve. Fishing from the pond is popular. Many kinds of birds. Turtles and fish can be spotted from the bridge.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jarucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    91
    18
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I volunteer there!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

For a nature preserve in the middle of the desert it is great. Nice trails, plenty of benches. Restrooms and ramadas are well-maintained. There are hiking maps available and bird list available in the winter. Check out their website for additional activities! Go on a Fri. or Sat. night and visit the observatory, staffed by astronomy club members!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for a walk”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great place to take walks with the family. Also catch it on a night when the observatory is open. Friendly volunteers will give you children a short talk about the stars and help them look through the telescope.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great for a family walk!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

this place is really nice, it has a couple of artificial lakes and you can find all sort off birds all over the place,it is a great experience for my children, they really love it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birding”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was a first-time visitor to Phoenix and brought here by a colleague. As a fanatical English birder I could not have been happier with my experience. The area is in the middle of a city but manages to provide a haven of tranquility teeming with wildlife and birds. The facilities are great and I'm sure it would be a fantastic place to take children as well as oldies like me. I cannot wait to take my family back there. Fantastic :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank casualtyofchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riparian Preserve at Water Ranch also viewed

Gilbert, Central Arizona
Gilbert, Central Arizona
 

Been to Riparian Preserve at Water Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing