We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are CLOSED!!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rico's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They are CLOSED!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

They have closed. There is a sign in the window saying they haven't paid rent and on their web site they also say they are closed. I am surprised because when I spoke with the owner a couple of months ago he said that they were running at a profit only 8 months after opening.

We loved this place. Hope they open nearby and soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tacos are great, everything else less than average.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Let me start with saying the shredded beef tacos are very good. We decide to try a little of everything getting tacos, burros, and enchiladas. The burros and enchiladas were disappointing, even the beans and rice was less than averaged. The service was average to less than average our waiter seemed like he would rather be doing something else. Would we go back, not for dinner maybe for tacos and a beer that's it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spacewrangler_uw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very nice quaint Mexican Food restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came here on an early Saturday evening. Before we got here we were looking at their website and were not sure what to expect before arriving. The webpage seemed to be a bit out dated. As it turned out the pictures of the menu did not accurately reflect when we had. The salsa was very good, with warm chips a must). The Happy Hour prices for all beers, domestic and import are $2. Nice! Margaritas are $4 and served in mason jars. We had a burrito and Chimi. Both tasty and not too large where you felt uncomfortable afterwards. The server was Veronica (I think was her name) long time employee and very pleasant. This place is close to home and will be back next time we need a Mexican food fix.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefTIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, getting better - but still no fried ice cream”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We are excited to have a good Mexican restaurant in a location that had a good one years ago, but nothing has stayed for a few years. We waited a while to make sure it looked like it was going to stay before we tried it and the first couple of times we went for lunch.

We liked the food, the service was spotty but we allowed that since we went after the lunch rush and there was a lot of cleaning in the lull between lunch and dinner. The lunch specials were very tasty and good portion sized. We liked the option of sitting inside or out on the patio. The salsa is excellent and the chips are fresh and warm every time we go.

We have gone for a couple of dinners since them and have totally enjoyed our food and experience. The food was terrific and the service was more efficient. We like that many of the staff are actual family members and the others have been with the restaurant for a long time when the were at their old location.

As for deficiencies there are a couple areas they can improve on. 1) We have been very disappointed that they have fried ice cream on their menu but haven't had it any time we have been there. We asked the last time and they said they don't have a freezer, which is not a bad thing meaning their food isn't frozen, BUT if they say they have fried ice cream they should invest in a smaller freezer just for that. 2) Due to the ordering & seating method it can overload a server and they get in the weeds. We needed to flag down our server on our last visit a couple of times for water and even to get our order in. She was a great waitress and the food was excellent, just a bit harried.

As an aside - I need to say that I am not sure how lI like the trend of ordering at a counter, taking a number and getting a seat then being served (I guess it really is not a trend but a way of doing business). I think I like it, but I worked in both fast food and full service restaurants while in college. It works, just an observation.

I think they could do a little bit of work on the interior decor, but this isn't the type of place where you are going to sit for an extended meal like a steak house, nor is it a fast food place.

Overall, very good place trending towards really very good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Tacos in Arizona”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is my all round favorite Mexican food in the valley. The shredded beef taco's are probably the best around, period. All the items are unique family recipes made fresh daily (no chain food here) Its a smaller restaurant maybe like 15 tables inside and 6 or so outside. The staff is as friendly as can be and its clean as can be. Warm chips and yummy salsa ,ask for the hot stuff :-). Family friendly and very reasonably priced.
http://www.elricos.com/

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubba_7_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rico's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Gilbert, Central Arizona
Gilbert, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing