We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Grill - Gilbert

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill - Gilbert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 404 Restaurants in Gilbert
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Sushi, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: The 202
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I hadn't been to a Kona Grill in 5 years. I had forgotten how great their sandwiches are! Just great quality and service with such a nice staff. I had the club sandwich and it really was the best one I have ever had. I couldn't keep a good conversation with my friend because the quality was sooo great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    60
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent happy hour sushi specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Kona Grill's best attribute is that it is consistently good. If you're in the mood for sushi but your companions aren't, they've got you covered with chicken, steak or seafood entrees with Polynesian accents. The portions are normal-sized, too - no tiny "artfully prepared" slivers of food that do nothing to fill you up! As for the sushi, they offer the standard rolls plus a few creative ones - all are great quality.

The happy hour menu (available only in the bar) is simply fantastic. In addition to sushi rolls featured for half-off or significantly discounted prices, there are pizza and other selections. The Gilbert location has a large patio as well as indoor seating area so you don't have to sit directly at the bar to enjoy the happy hour. It's a great way to get a sushi or snack fix in a nice restaurant without breaking the bank!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Finally tried it and it was really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The service was great the atmosphere is like indoor outdoor and the food was really good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Themenace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My sister and I meet here on a regular basis, and without fail, order what we consider the best item on the menu:(We don't even look at the menu anymore!). Oriental Salad plus Macadamia crusted chicken. It is SOOO good! Servers tell us it is the favorite item ordered. Obviously others like what they offer, as it is always busy, particularly outside, with younger and happy crowd. Hamburger is a HUGE 2nd choice,all 12 oz. of it,( that's 3/4 of a lb.!) cooked to perfection, with thin, but tasty fries. Servers are very good, always pleasant. Silly me, I love the granite sink in the ladies' john. Cool! Be sure to sign up for Konavers. Generous offering!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cindy, the Manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of the manager of the Kona Grill at San Tan Village in Gilbert, AZ.
One day, due to a computer glitch orders were being stalled out of the kitchen. I barely got my food in time to rush back to work. (Tardy arrival of food and drink was NEVER something to worry about there.) On the simple phone survey, I noted the problem. Within hours, Cindy called me to find out more details. She was so appreciative of our patronage and made us feel so welcome to return. Her warmth and attention to customer service more than made up for one unusual experience there. I have always found the food and service to be great there--and now we know why--great management!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeliRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Grill - Gilbert also viewed

 

Been to Kona Grill - Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing